We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“a night to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruxbin Kitchen

Ruxbin Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruxbin Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #653 of 9,438 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a night to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I went to Ruxbin last fall for my birthday. We got there around 5:30 and had no wait for a table (though the restaurant was getting crowded already).
Appetizers, main dish, dessert. All was amazing! Its worth every penny.
The atmosphere was fun and we shared food/wine (its BYOB) with the tables next to us. (we were sitting rather close to them).

Also must check out the cool bathroom!
If you're a Chicago native or a visitor this place is a must!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    12
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Spectacular Cooking on Chicago's West Side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Ruxbin is simply the best new (not so new anymore) restaurant in Chicago. Every course for each in my party was outstanding, and some of it, the best of that particular food that I've ever had. The chef is a master of flavors -- every bite is sensational. And for such gourmet cuisine, the pricing is moderate. Only downside is that they don't take reservations so it can be hard to get in. But if you go on a weeknight or at an off-hour, and don't mind a short wait, you will not be disappointed. (It is BYOB.)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLover23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,085 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,452 helpful votes
“Wedding dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We went to Ruxbin to celebrate a special occasion and we don't regret it!
I loved every single detail, the food is delicious!
We tried the

- Mushroom Toast *****
- Calamari *****

For main dish we had

- Bucatini & Clams **** (I'm not a huge fan of spaghetti, but it was very well cooked)
- Pork Shoulder *****
- Lamb *****
- Hanger Steak*****

We had three deserts and they were all terrific!
panna cotta, pie with gorgonzolla ice cream and pie with gouda ice cream, all DELICIOUS!

The staff is very nice and helpful!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I am hesitant to give too good of a review since Ruxbin does not take reservations and I want to keep going back without long waits. Fantastic food, friendly and unpretentious service, and a quaint interior. Oh, and BYOB. Go.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank WindycityMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Ate at Ruxbin for my first time last night. It was fantastic!

The food:
I had the calamari and mushroom etouffee. Both were incredible - definitely a strong Asian influence. The calamari came with three thin slices of potato that might have been my favorite thing all night. The texture was out of this world - almost cheese-like. The bread with the mushroom etouffee was excellent as was the sauce. We finished with the panna cotta, and it too was great. Had heard more about the short cake, but I highly recommend the panna cotta. Again, Asian influenced with lime and coconut.

The decor:
Absolutely deserves Eater's "Best Bathroom" award. The entrance to the bathroom is mysterious and worth a trip to Ruxbin in and of itself. The dining room decor is reclaimed industrial, but warm.

Service:
Spot on and always appreciate it when the chef comes out to greet all of the tables, which he did without anyone asking as far as I could tell. At least I know he came to our table to check in without us having asked.

I will be back!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruxbin Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Ruxbin Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing