We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$398
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$398
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Trip.com
US$379
View deal
Hotels.comUS$398
PricelineUS$398
travelup.comUS$461
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,141)
Filter reviews
3,141 results
Traveller rating
2,301
665
123
36
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,301
665
123
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel palomar wine hour sable restaurant complimentary wine rooftop terrace front desk staff floor to ceiling windows river north corner room living room state street mini bar the magnificent mile long weekend michigan avenue hotel is in a great location navy pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 3,141 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

Great location. Easy access to Red Line on L. Close to great restaurants. Friendly staff. Seems to be a bit light on amenities that one would expect at a hotel of this class (likely due to new acquisition of hotel and Covid). Be sure to ask for a coffee maker and extra towels. Bed and sheets very comfortable. Room temperature easily adjustable and comfortable.

Nice to have a mini fridge to save deep dish pizza for the morning!

On site restaurant and bar was closed as of mid July 2021.

Room was great for a family of 3.

As with any downtown area of a major city, lots of homeless nearby. We never felt unsafe or uncomfortable.

We will definitely stay again the next time we stay in downtown Chicago!

Room tip: I wouldn’t recommend having a car at the property. Uber or take L train. No on site garage that I could see.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jonathan_W_Adv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2021

The hotel was in a perfect location - about 5-7 min to river front and close to all the local restaurants on north side of the river. Couple of blocks form magnificent mile.

Staff was absolutely great - very professional and efficient and every little thing we needed (which wasn't much), they were able to accommodate very quickly. They were also a good source of information about nearby attraction and gave us few very good suggestions on where to go based on our interests.

Very modern and welcoming lobby and private sitting area outside with nice outdoor furniture. Very nice observation deck on the top floor with comfortable furniture.

Room was on the smaller side, but very adequate for two people. Very clean and nicely arranged. Nice and comfortable bed.

One thing that we didn't like about the room was A/C - we were not there during the hottest days, yet, i couldn't get the room to cool off more than 71F (it was 72F most of the time) and A/C was working non-stop. This was not a major turn off, but I prefer to be able to cool the room off more than that.

Additionally, the hotel didn't have own bar or restaurant, though it looked like they were planning on putting something together in the future. With the number of places to eat and hang out around it wasn't a big deal, but considering the nice lounges and deck, a bar would have been nice.

The pool was strange - 3.5ft deep. Not sure what the point of even bothering.

Another drawback, though that wasn't their fault - every evening, through the late hours of the night, there were several people hanging out in front of their doors, acting "weird" and smoking weed. They were harmless, but coming back at night was not a very pleasant experience going through them.

Last, it was a challenge to find them - there are no signs aside form some stenciling on the column next to the entrance and on the entrance itself. They share the address with the condominium development, so it is not obvious how to get inside.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Boris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2021

We found amenities sadly lacking, despite the high quality of the room. Staff had to hunt down a coffee maker for us after we asked for one, and we have been waiting for bottled water for days. We've had to ask for more coffee k cups each day, cups to drink water out of (since we have no bottled water), and are making do with a tiny ice bucket we have to keep refilling since there's no refrigerator. Adding basic amenities (in room refrigerator and cups and water, for starters) might bring us back. The room decor is modern and pleasing, but isn't enough for the price to make up for the missing basics like coffee, water, refrigerator, snacks, and microwave. Front desk staff service is sadly lacking, as well. There's currently no room service and the restaurant is still closed (even though everything else in Chicago is now open). We were told by the front desk that we could go to Starbucks if we wanted coffee when we first asked for a coffee maker. We were told we could go around the corner to 7 Eleven if we wanted water. The nicest and most helpful staff members here are the doormen who work at the front door and are terrific. Also, you should know that there is a large number of homeless people, drug dealers, panhandlers, and prostitutes right here around the hotel. Just here, for some reason. We have walked miles and miles in Chicago each day and seen very few until we get back to the block of the hotel here, no matter what time of day or night. We'll stay somewhere else next time.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HeatherRose44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2021

Pluses: Quality facility, location, nice rooms, fitness center and pool.
Minuses: Hotel management and services are far below what they should be.
My wife and I stayed 4 nights in a suite in June 2021. The hotel had been acquired by Royal Sonesta early in 2021 from Kimpton. The new management appears to be stretched, and still has a long way to go.
- Most of the hotel amenities and services (restaurant, bar/lounge) were closed. We were not told that information beforehand. However there are plenty of others in the neighborhood.
- The room, while clean, was only partly ready for occupancy. There is no information about the hotel anywhere in the room (no brochures, phone numbers, guides). The phones in the room are broken and have had all their labels removed.
- There were no water glasses, and a minimal supply of soap and towels.
- There was no regular housekeeping! After two nights, I called the desk to inquire. They said they only provide “a one-time housekeeping visit, just for guests staying 5 nights or more”. Again, no prior disclosure.
- The fitness center didn’t appear to have towels and the disinfectant wipes dispenser was empty.
- The fitness center also had a Peloton bike, but the hotel had not activated it.
All in all, the facility has strong potential, and is in a great location, but the hotel's management is not on top of their game yet.

Date of stay: June 2021
1  Thank Footer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

This is by far one or the worst experiences ive ever had. I I was traveling with my family for a week we stay in this hotel for five days since day one somebody in the room next to ours decided that it was OK to smoke weed inside the room 24 seven during three days. I understand that weed is legal and in Illinois And this is not my issue my issue is that the hotel did absolutely nothing to find out who it was that was smoking weed in a non smoking hotel. Was traveling there with my family two kids under six years old and I don’t think that this is the appropriate age for a kid to be exposed to something like this Hotel did absolutely nothing to find out who it was or to take care of it in any sort of way. I rarely write reviews But the fact that the hotel did less than nothing to find out who it was they were smoking and to be able to control it or ask the guest to leave or ask the gues that’s at least stop smoking was beyond me and it’s not the kind of attitude at a hotel of this caliber should have.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews