We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,973)
Filter reviews
2,974 results
Traveller rating
2,189
636
108
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,189
636
108
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour sable restaurant wine reception animal print robes complimentary wine yoga mat rooftop terrace floor to ceiling windows front desk staff north area one bedroom suite indoor pool top floor the river corner room state street mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 2,974 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2017

There are lovely hotels, comfortable ones, well appointed, or desirable views; truly a rare gem to find all in one location! Centrally located in River North, steps from top rated restaurants, patisseries, groceries, shopping, and many other activities (IE: escape houses). The lobby has a great lounge space and fireplace, and hosts morning coffee&tea hour and evening wine happy hour (ask for the Chia Tea w/ Whiskey!).

Stroll to the end of a corridor where a wall of windows provide north views of the city, and leads to room 1201. Walk in to richly decorated and well appointed room. Crisp linens contrast the patterned carpet and rich ceiling to floor length curtains (blackout). Wall-to-wall windows wrap around a corner, providing peak-a-boo view of Lake Michigan from a comfortable club chair.

Dark wood built-in holds the flat screen above a platform for your suitcase, nestled between the hidden mini fridge (lockable) and desk to the right. The desk hosts USB and extra power outlets right on top for convenience of charging all electronics (a family all plugged in without issue). The minibar contains numerous quality products including organic and boutique.

Ceiling height, rich dark barn door allows you access to the small, clean, and nicely decorated lavatory. Delightful scents waft from the bath and body products adding to the relaxation of the rest of the room. Use the hand soap to strengthen the beautiful mandarin&citrus scent. Complaint: No soft close toilet lid.

The great disappointment., the closet sticks out like an industrial electrical closet eyesore. It is large, contains the complimentary for use umbrella, yoga mat, and animal print robes. They could repaint, sticker murals, or wall paper it. Anything would be an improvement.

Heated pool is inviting on the window lined enclosed rooftop. Blue up-lighting creates a nice effect at night with the cityscape. Large furnished patio was closed, but in summer must be a great spot with the views. Attention all gym and fitness lovers, this is the hotel for you! BEST appointed hotel fitness room I have visited. Typical stair machine, elliptical, and treadmill. Holds more in the lengthy room: water, towels, rowing machines, free weights, tension band machine, every yoga tool, medicine balls, Bosu, and even hula hoops! Did I mention it is wrap around floor to ceiling windows with city and pool views!

A+ for business, couples looking for romance, a posh girls weekend, or a solo retreat!

Room Tip: If you can, get rooms at the end of the corridors for corner wrap around windows. Higher up, better views as well! SPLURGE for a SPA room with the DEEP soaker Fuji tubs!
Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Hello J L,

Thank you so much for the wonderful five star review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post such an in depth review for the rest of the TripAdvisor community to see how great we are. It looks like the staff blew away your expectations and that you enjoyed some of the many amenities we have to offer.

It is great to see that you enjoyed our fitness center so much. The views with the new machines that we put in there truly make for a perfect start to any day. And yes, the rooftop terrace is definitely a sight to see when it is opened so hopefully we will see you again soon so you could enjoy it.

James Ancona
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

I have stayed in Kimpton hotels in Cambridge and San Francisco, and they're always a treat. As a travel writer, I've come across all kinds of customer service, and the Palomar Chicago will forever remain one of my most beloved hotels.

For this trip, I had a reservation at the Palomar but my husband canceled it to change the dates, and we were unable to book the new reservation dates through the conference website, so we ended up booking a hotel room elsewhere.

However, I'd already emailed the Palomar, asking whether they could receive a package for me, and Chantal emailed back right away, saying no problem at all. So, I ordered a new stroller with three accessories for it, but by the time it was due to arrive, it was going to the Palomar, and we weren't! Oops! So, I emailed her again and explained that my reservation wasn't booked properly, and now, we were staying at a different hotel, but she said it was fine, no problem.

When we arrived at the Palomar, Colin at the front desk couldn't have been nicer. He brought out our huge box, helped us open it, and he even helped us get everything out. I can't thank everyone at the Palomar enough for being so nice, especially considering we were not only not staying with them, we were even staying with a "competing" hotel in town.

Thank you again for being so gracious! The Palomar exemplifies the kind of customer service that comes from innate kindness rather than a calculated courtesy based on earnings. We will recommend the Palomar to everyone, and we will be sure to stay with you next time we're in Chicago, too.

Thanks again for being so kind and helpful just because. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Chiyojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Greetings Chiyojoy,

Wow! Thank you so much for the wonderful five star review! I am so happy to see that our staff went above and beyond to help you while in Chicago. Colin is amazing at what he does and I am so happy to be able to share this review with him. It looks like he and the rest of the team has made a Palomar Chicago fan for life. We hope to see you again soon!

James Ancona
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Wonderful service at check-in, catered well to our children who were celebrating birthdays. Clean room and clean pool area. Very nice experience and good location as well. Wine hour was fun and my children enjoyed the hot chocolate bar in the morning!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zantka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Hello zantka,

Thank you so much for the wonderful five star review! I am so happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us while celebrating Birthdays. It means a lot to us to be able to help celebrate special occasions with our guests so I am happy to see that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again soon!

James Ancona
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We had a weekend getaway and went to the theatre and also second city. Great weekend. Hotel got us second city tickets. Room was great. Comfortable. Great lounge area. Have stayed before and will stay again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Hello Dee F,

Thank you so much for the wonderful five star review! It is so great to see that you enjoy your stay with us time and time again, and I want to thank you for allowing us to be your hotel of choice when traveling to Chicago. Sometimes just a simple weekend getaway is just what the body and mind need to reset. We hope to see you again soon!

James Ancona
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Perfect location for food, fun, shopping and night life! Evr.ything is within 4 blocks of the hotel. Wouldnt stay any place else. Staff was great, had a wonderful after hours time from our business meeting

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vorickkazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Hello vorickkazoo,

Thank you so much for the wonderful five star review! It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was exactly what you were looking for. I do agree, we are just in a perfect spot of town regardless of what you are in for. Hopefully you will be back with us again when the weather starts to warm up to fully take advantage of everything we have to offer!

James Ancona
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews