We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty hotel, but not as nice as competitors (Trump Chicago or Peninsula)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #11 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel, but not as nice as competitors (Trump Chicago or Peninsula)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

1. When I got to the hotel the Doormen were assisting other people, not a problem, so I carried my bags inside myself. I waited behind two couples checking-in, and another person waited behind me. When an Agent was available he looked behind me to the gentleman who was probably in his 40s and asked him if he was checking-in. He completely overlooked me after I waited at least 10 minutes to check-in because I was young. Not okay to stereotype!

2. I got to my room (1 Bedroom Suite) and it was pretty. I love the decor. But that was all I loved. Our iPod dock in the bedroom wouldn't work, the sink drain was clogged, and the fireplace wouldn't turn on. So, they 'upgraded' us to a new room (upgrade = different floor level).

3. The new room seemed fine until we got back from dinner and realized the TV didn't work. All the channels were scratchy. The Engineer came up and couldn't fix it, so they moved us again. Finally in our third room everything was fine.

4. We ordered room service for a romantic dinner eating in on our 2nd night. The food took over an hour and was delivered cold. We were so fed up that we left to find somewhere to eat - definitely didn't feel like waiting around for new food. We asked the Concierge where we could walk or take a taxi to eat and he said we probably wouldn't get in anywhere. (Excuse me? No where?! Doubt that.) He said it's Saturday night, the good restaurants would have long waits. He didn't even offer to call places! We walked around the corner to the "triangle" and got seated right away at Gibsons. Thanks buddy for not helping.

5. When we went to check-out and they asked about our stay, I informed them of all the mishaps. I was understanding and nice to them about it, and I didn't ask for any compensation, however, they should have at least offered. It's ridiculous to pay $600 a night for that many mistakes/errors on their part.

I see that plenty other people have had great stays, which is proof they can be a good hotel, I just wouldn't spend my money there a 2nd time. I've received much better service at their competitors.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lux_Traveler770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our hotel from your stay with us. I am saddened that your stay was less than perfect due to our missed opportunities.
I would like the opportunity to apologize personally to you and to discuss what can be done to welcome you back to our hotel.
I look forward to the opportunity to speak to you.
Sincerely,
Kathryn Day
Director of Hotel Services
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Kathryn.M.Day@WaldorfAstoria.com
Tel: 312 646 1404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,817
    213
    104
    31
    20
See reviews for
512
901
111
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Like, until the next day. I have had the Elysian, now the Waldorf Astoria, on my short list since I first heard and read about it. It currently has the top spot for Chicago on Trip Advisor and was named number one hotel in the US, number seven in the world, by Conde Nast.

STAFF: everyone we came in contact with was very polite, helpful, and a pleasure to deal with. There were always a handful of staff at the front desk ready to assist with whatever was needed. I found that they were a joy to deal with but yet not overbearing; a nice blend. Also, a no tipping policy which I like.

ROOM: the room - a king bed suite #1410 - was impeccable. An understated but luxurious overall tone. Fireplace is a nice touch. Couch, although little used, was comfortable. Balcony would be great in the summer. The bed and linens were a dream. The iPod/Phone speaker was nice to have for music. The bathroom was elegant with beautiful tile work on the floor and in the spacious shower. The soaking tub was perfect and used for a late night bath. Toiletries high quality. And the robes, super comfortable!

AMENITIES: we never made it to the restaurant or bar, unfortunately. Room service breakfast was decent and arrived in less than 20 minutes from the time it was ordered. The coffee and croissants were the highlight. It was great to be able to get the Times on Sunday. The Spa was out of this world! We went for an early morning swim in the lap pool. A few minutes into our swim a gentleman brought in two cups of tea on a platter for us because he thought it would be a nice way for us to wake up. Completely unexpected and a nice touch. Afterwards, we spent some time in the relaxation area - separate women and mens - where the whirlpool, steam room and sauna are. I chilled in the steam room for a bit then headed into the whirlpool; it was so comfortable and elegant I could have spent all day there.

OVERALL: I would say my experience with the Waldorf Astoria was top notch. I stayed here for my birthday and I received a very delicious chocolate bar made by the pastry chef and a hand written note from Martin (one of the managers) wishing me a happy birthday. These are the little things I expect when I am paying for a hotel of this caliber. The Waldorf Astoria did not disappoint in any area; it exceeded all my expectations and I would be thrilled to stay here again.

Lastly, now I am curious to see how The Trump, The Peninsula, The Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, and Park Hyatt stack up. I have a feeling the Waldorf Astoria is on top for a reason.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank creining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My family travels quite a bit, and I am super-picky about where we stay. I can sum up the hotel, location, staff, and everything about our stay with one word- Awesome. The only negative I had was that the bed was a tad hard for my taste. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Go on and book your reservation with confidence.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is certainly a very nice hotel, however I probably would not visit again. Like others, I enjoyed the gas fireplace and balcony. However, I found the suite floor plan somewhat awkward. I could not get comfortable in the long, narrow sitting room. My husband didn't seem to mind at all. The bed was very comfortable and the towels and bath products first rate. The suite even had a powder room in addition to the full bath. Room service breakfast was good but not memorable -- we had hoped for a better in-room dining experience due to the excellent reputation of the restaurant. Service was very good, especially from room service staff. Front desk was very apologetic about not having our room ready at check in. While we were waiting, they offered us a drink at the bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alvalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

One of the most amazing hotels I have ever stayed in. Service is phenomenal, rooms are spotless, roomy and extraordinarily set up with a great layout. There is a no tipping policy that is strictly adhered to no matter how hard I tried!!

Room Tip: The suites are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankdiandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing