We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I usually stay at the Renaissance across the street but on the recommendation of my daughter who lives nearby I booked the Witt for a recent 5 night stay. The hotel is convenient to everything in downtown Chicago , on State Street just a short distance from the iconic Chicago theater. The loop and CTA trains run right outside but the hotel is remarkably quiet once the door closes behind you. My room was large and very comfortable. I thought the room was well maintained and very clean as well.
There is piped in bird singing in the hallway so as you get off the elevator on your floor you hear subtle but soothing bird sounds.
The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. There is a great rooftop bar and a bar off the lobby too.
Overall I had a really pleasant stay and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear bccrab,

Thank you for an excellent review! I am happy to hear we were able to welcome you from across the street, and that our prime location in the heart of downtown Chicago made it easy for you to walk across the street to the Chicago Theater! We are indeed by every major CTA line, and while the trains do run outside the building we do everything we can to keep the inclement noise from the city to a minimum. I am also thrilled to hear you enjoyed your large, comfortable, clean room and that the soundscapes on our sleeping floors added a nice touch to help you enjoy your stay! Thank you as well for the comments about our staff, we do train our top notch staff to go above and beyond for every guest and I am overjoyed to know that you experienced this from every staff member from the lobby to our ROOF bar on the 27th floor! Please feel free to contact me if you are returning to theWit, I would love to welcome you back for another outstanding stay!

Eric Loughlin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the Wit for a weekend get a way after having vacationed in Las Vegas for a week. We had a suite (room 2506) and it was fantastic. From the moment we got there we felt welcomed starting with the valet, the bell man and the wonderful young lady at the check in desk. Everyone was very nice and accommodating and we were even allowed to check in early after a long 4 hour drive to get there (a big plus) The King Jr. suite had a nice living room, dining area, kitchen with a cooking area, refrigerator, coffee pot, glasses, etc. The bedroom was very comfortable, the suite was nice and clean and the view was excellent. Housekeeping personnel was very nice and accommodating also. The view was wonderful and being located on Lakeshore it placed us near everything we wanted to do, dining, shopping, The Magnificent Mile, the Navy Pier, just strolling around, etc. There is a very nice Roof Top Bar but reservations were recommended. We were told that we could go to the bar and have a drink but we opted out because we felt we might be under-dressed. Overall our stay was excellent and I would definitely recommend it! By the way valet is $65.00 per night (expensive)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhall521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear dhall512,

Thank you for a wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your suite, and that our entire staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Our staff is trained to go above and beyond for all of our guests to ensure they are getting the best service available! We are happy to accommodate an early check in, provided we have a room available. Our King Spa suites do all come standard with a living room, kitchenette, refrigerator, and I am so glad to hear that you found the room to be clean and the views to be breathtaking. One of my favorite aspects of the property is also our fantastic location, right in the heart of downtown Chicago, and located just steps away from shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Theater District, and the fantastic food and dining scene in River North. I am happy to hear you enjoyed ROOF as well, we do always recommend our guests make a reservation if they know they’ll be going to the 27th floor. We do have a dress code that is strictly enforced after 9pm on Fridays and Saturdays, but we are casual dress every other time that ROOF is open so feel free to come as you are when it isn’t the weekend nights! Our valet charge is $65 for overnight parking but we do have in and out privileges while you are here, so it is only one flat rate to take the car as many times as you like. Please come back anytime, we would love to welcome you back for another memorable stay at theWit!

Eric Loughlin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Wit. From the moment we arrived the service was great. Thank you to their very knowledgeable concierge, Kit for helping us with reservations and directions. Loved the sound of chirping birds in the hallways. The location was perfect for site seeing and dining!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Nancy C,

Thank you for a lovely review, I am overjoyed to hear you loved your stay! Our top notch staff goes above and beyond to ensure that all of our guests are getting the highest quality of service, so I am thrilled to hear you were no exception! I will pass your kind words along to Kit who will be so happy to know that she made such a memorable impact on your stay. Our world class concierge team is always ready to assist our guests with the finest dining and entertainment possibilities available across our beautiful city! I’m glad to hear our environment soundscapes on our sleeping floors played a small part in helping you thoroughly enjoy your time with us! Our location in the heart of downtown Chicago just south of the river is a perfect spot for guests to sightsee around Millennium Park, the Theater District, or the Magnificent Mile, as well as enjoy the amazing food and dining scene in both River North and West Loop! Please come back anytime for another outstanding stay at theWit!

Eric Loughlin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The Wit is conveniently located somewhere in the Loop of the L, right next to the Chicago theatre. It is a little loud because of the L, but the bed is soft and the staff is warm and friendly. I'd be a little cautious before ordering food from the room service--although quick & on point, the food wasn't the greatest. It was good enough to keep one from starving, but little else. The rooms were beautiful, and contained lovely furniture and artwork that kept you guessing. The armoire was fabulously gorgeous & huge--way better than just a closet. The downstairs staff was quite helpful with getting a guest comfortable with the L, and she saved me a ton of $ on a cab trip back to the airport! it's a $3 ride to Midway --don't let those taxi's fool you! I'd definitely stay again if I had the opportunity. Just beware of the food...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank T9909ANjulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear T9909ANjulies,

Thank you for some wonderful feedback! I am so happy to hear our location right in the heart of downtown Chicago made it easy for you to access every major CTA line, and walk right across the street to the Chicago Theater! We do have rooms available that are away from the train for those guests who want to have the least amount of city noise, but I am glad to know that you found the beds soft and that our top notch staff went above and beyond to help you fully enjoy your stay! I apologize to hear about your experience with in room dining, I will be sure to pass your feedback along to our culinary team so that we may better accommodate our guests in the future. However, I am thrilled to hear your comments about the rooms! We have some lovely rooms with modern décor, and have sizeable armoire or closet space so that our guests can keep their garments neat and organized. We certainly do encourage our guests to take public transit whenever possible, as our proximity to the Orange and Blue Line simply can’t be beat, and are always happy to help guests with any directions required! Please contact me directly when you return to theWit, I would love to welcome you back for another memorable stay!

Eric Loughlin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Being a platinum Marriott member; I decided to stay at theWit based on location, room accommodations/package for a quick getaway this week. I had reached out to Eric L for some guidance on what was best suited; room, places to eat and local activities within downtown.
Eric had taken my uncertainty of staying at a Hilton to a whole new level bypassing the Marriott status.
Eric and his entire staff; Kit, Andrew and Alma went above and beyond my exceptions and I would definitely recommend and come back again.
The hotel restaurant was very good for breakfast, as well as, "a late night not too sure what you want to eat"; Burgers and fries.
The Wit was centrally located in walking distance to the Buckingham Fountains, the RiverWalk and Michigan Ave for shopping.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank COhayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear COhayre,

Thank you for an excellent review! I am so happy that my service had such an incredible impact on your stay, it is always a treat to know that I had a role to play in making your Wit experience even more memorable! I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of downtown Chicago, near such places as Millennium Park, the Chicago River Walk, and shopping on the Magnificent Mile! I’m also glad to know that our in-room amenities were exactly what you were looking for! Our top notch staff goes above and beyond to ensure our guests know the best places to eat, more interesting sightseeing locations to visit, and are aware of all of the wonderful activities Chicago has to offer! I will pass your kind words along to Kit, Andrew, and Alma and let them know that you thoroughly enjoyed their service as well, they will be overjoyed to hear it! We are all excited to welcome you in to the Hilton family! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our lobby restaurant State and Lake Chicago Tavern was enjoyable all throughout the day, whether it’s our fantastic breakfast menu or late night dining! Please contact me directly if you are ever returning to theWit, I would love to see you again for another amazing stay at theWit!

Eric Loughlin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,936 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#18 of 192 in Chicago
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: €109 - €304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing