We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The location is wonderful, walking distance to many great restaurants and public transportation. The staff is friendly and helpful, could not be more accommodating. the bar and restaurant on site are also gems.

Room Tip: the roof top has a bar so if you turn in early avoid the top few floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Dawn K,

Thank you for an amazing review! I am thrilled to hear that our prime location in the heart of downtown Chicago made it easy for you to walk to some of the finest Chicago restaurants in the River North neighborhood, and that our proximity to every major CTA line made it easy for you traverse the city via public transit. Our top notch staff is trained to go above and beyond for all of our guests, so I am very happy to hear that their service helped make your Wit experience a memorable one! I am also very glad to know you enjoyed our incredible food and beverage outlets, from our lobby restaurant State and Lake Chicago Tavern to our ROOF bar on the 27th floor! We’d love to welcome you back anytime for another outstanding stay at theWit!

Eric Loughlin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 114 of 2,637 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

I would stay here for the cookies but there was so much more but I loved how the staff were delighted to give extra cookies whenever requested! The hotel was in walking distance of many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 169kimberlyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear 169kimberlyy,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are a Hilton DoubleTree and offer fresh cookies to all of our guests so please come back and get some any time! Our top notch staff is trained to give all of our guests the best service available, so am I thrilled to hear they had such a memorable impact on your stay and were able to give you all the cookies you needed! Our hotel is smack dab in the middle of downtown Chicago which makes it easy for our guests to go dine in the fantastic River North scene or shop up and down the Magnificent Mile. Feel free to contact me directly if you are returning to theWit, we’d love to welcome you back for another great stay!

Eric Loughlin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic hotel to stay at while in the city. Great location, close to everything - restaurants and public transportation. Service was excellent and the room was superb. Excellent views as well. We will be staying here in the future!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Angela C,

Thank you for a wonderful review! Our prime location in the heart of downtown Chicago puts us just steps away from so many incredible places to see in the city including Millennium Park, the Chicago River Walk, The Magnificent Mile, The Chicago Theater, and the outstanding food and dining scene in River North! We are also indeed by every major CTA line making it easy for our guests to traverse the city via public transit. I am also happy to hear that our top notch staff provided you with world class service, and that your spacious sleeping room had a breathtaking view as well. Please come back and stay with us anytime, we would love to welcome you back for another memorable stay here at theWit!

Eric Loughlin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

From start to finish theWit made every detail of our wedding perfect. The customer service of all of the staff from bellhops to banquets to the Chef was stellar. Our family & friends are still raving about the mac n cheese bar, the cake, & all of the delicious food & creative desserts. The rooftop made for epic photos & a modern wedding atmosphere that I know cannot be beat. Brittney Epstein the Senior Social Catering Manager made us feel loved, welcome, & top priority throughout the entire planning process & event. She is always quick to respond & super easy to work with. We love theWIT & highly recommend it to anyone looking to plan the wedding truly of your dreams. Not one complaint from our entire (some of them hard to please) :) family.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mhussma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Mhussma,

Thank you for the incredible feedback! I am so happy that we were able to host you and your guests for your wedding weekend, it is always very special for us to be part of such a memorable experience! Our top notch staff is trained to go above and beyond for all of our guests, so I am happy to hear that so many departments were able to have such a memorable impact on your special day. Our executive chef comes from a Michelin starred background and our pastry chef is my personal favorite pastry chef in the city of Chicago so I will be sure to pass along your kind words the heads of our fantastic culinary programs here at the hotel! Our ROOF bar does indeed offer some amazing photo opportunities, so I am thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy a magical wedding experience 27 stories above it all! Brittney will be so happy to hear that her service made such an impact on your stay with us, she is a value asset to property and makes sure that all of our bride and grooms want for nothing during their stay with us. I am so happy that every single one of your guests was so impressed with their Wit experience! Please come back and visit us again in the future, it is always so lovely to welcome our wedding couples back to the hotel!

Eric Loughlin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Wife's B Day was spent downtown and we wanted a nice hotel which the wit total delivered from, the great price to the modern rooms and the awsome rooftop bar/ night club. The experience was so good we booked another night.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank ruless5524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear ruless5524,

Thank you for a great review! I am so happy we were able to host you for your wife’s birthday, we always love it when guests are coming in to celebrate special occasions! I am thrilled that our room rate was spot on, and that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms and fantastic ROOF bar/nightclub on our 27th floor. The fact that everything was so nice that you extended your stay is music to my ears! Please come back and see us again soon for another memorable stay at theWit!

Eric Loughlin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#17 of 192 in Chicago
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: €107 - €297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing