We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,865)
Filter reviews
2,866 results
Traveller rating
1,799
695
224
82
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,799
695
224
82
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate and lakerooftop barwit hotelbirds chirpingnature soundswarm cookiesspa roomthe theater districtthe riverthe loopcorner roomhotel guestsmillennium parkfloor to ceiling windowsthe beanupon checkblue line
Filter
Updating list...
878 - 883 of 2,866 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Upon check in you are given a warm chocolate cookie which was a nice touch. Staff is very friendly, room was clean (I'm pretty picky with hotels) bathroom was nice and updated, lobby was cool, workout room was decent. I got a ginormous umbrella from concierge since it rained 1 night and I prefer to explore on foot. The room was a lot quieter than the room I had at the hard rock hotel last month and way less sirens too! I didn't make it to the rooftop club yet but will definitely check it out since I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank SAS0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit Chicago - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Dear SAS0828,

Thank you for choosing theWit for your most recent visit to Chicago, and taking the time to share such a lovely review of your time with us. We are delighted that you were pleased with the quality of our property, and the service that our friendly staff provided you during your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy our award winning ROOF. We will be sure to have freshly baked cookies awaiting your arrival!

With Warm Regards,

theWit Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I stayed here for work. Much more personality than a typical DoubleTree. Felt more like a Kimpton hotel. Great location by lots of shopping. The room was very stylish. Wifi was free which I didn't expect. Check in was friendly. The only problem was it was easy to have water to spill/splash out of the bathroom sink.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andrealE9408GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit Chicago - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear andrealE9408GW,

Thank you for choosing theWit, and sharing such a terrific review of your time with us. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed the unique atmosphere and design of our property. Our staff is certainly one of our greatest assets, and we were thrilled to read that you had a nice arrival experience!

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding our bathroom sinks, and please accept our apologies if they caused you any inconvenience. We will certainly take your valuable feedback into consideration when exploring future enhancements to our guest rooms.

We hope to serve you again soon!

With Warm Regards,

theWit Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We spent a weekend at theWit and were pleasantly surprised at both the service and the quality of the room. We had a very large king on the 18th floor. Despite the fact that the el is right nearby and construction was taking place on it over the weekend, we heard nothing. Also, there were three weddings being held on Saturday and the only inconvenience we suffered was that there was a wait for the elevators. The bed was comfortable, the internet strong and the bathroom large and well furnished. The staff was incredibly accommodating, especially the concierge who had someone run out to get us a NY Times and did not charge for it. The location is dead center of downtown and within walking distance of both Millenium Park and the Miracle Mile.
Only negative for us was breakfast which was not particularly tasty. My oatmeal was awful and I stuck to a bagel the second day. The coffee was terrible but the juice was excellent.
I would say don't eat breakfast at the hotel and you will have a five star experience.

Room Tip: Room 1818 was exceptional
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Corn1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit Chicago - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear Corn1789,

Thank you for your recent stay at theWit, and for taking the time to share a review of your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the quality of our property, as well as the friendly service that our staff provided you during your visit!

We also appreciate your constructive feedback, and apologize for delay you experienced with our elevators during the busy weekend. Additionally we regret that your experience at our restaurant was not to your liking, and will be addressing the concerns you shared. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even more enjoyable future visit.

With Kind Regards,

theWit Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

The check-in process was very smooth and we enjoyed our chocolate chip cookies. Everyone was so helpful and friendly, the service was first rate. The bathrooms were large and well-designed, my only negative comment is that the large square sinks didn't drain that quickly (not a big deal). The location was first-rate, probably the among the best in the city, at least for our purposes. You can cross the street for Starbucks as well. Despite the location in a very active area, we had no complaints about noise and slept very well. I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: You want views of the river or the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Attea146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit Chicago - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear Attea146,

Thank you for choosing theWit for your visit to Chicago. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our friendly service and exciting location! We certainly understand the importance of a good night's sleep and were happy to learn that you slept so well during your time at theWit.

We also appreciate your constructive comments regarding the design of our bathroom basins, and will utilize your feedback when considering future renovations to our property.

We hope to see you at theWit again soon, and will be sure to have plenty of freshly baked cookies awaiting your return!

With Warm Regards,

theWit Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Let me start by saying that our room was terrific, very well decorated, very large, and had quite a big, well appointed bathroom. Everyone that worked at the hotel went above and beyond to be cordial, gracious and accommodating. The location was great, as well. This hotel really was excellent. That said, unless they change one particular thing, I will not stay there again. That is, when you walk into the lobby, you are bombarded and overwhelmed by some sort of scented product. They use yet another scented product when cleaning your room. My husband and I were hoarse after sleeping in the room the first night, as we are unused to breathing whatever perfumed product they used. I was told I could, in the future, request they clean the room with unscented products, but that won't help the lobby situation. In this day and age it is very unusual for a hotel to use odored products. Please consider going fragrance free, as we will be traveling to Chicago regularly and would love to stay at your hotel, which is otherwise outstanding!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lillianbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit Chicago - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Dear sophistocatedtravel,

Thank you for staying at theWit, and taking the time to share feedback about your time with us. We were happy to learn that you were pleased with the quality of service that our friendly staff provided, and the design of your well appointed guest room.

We also appreciate your constructive feedback, and apologize for the concerns you shared regarding the fragrance of our property. It is our wish that guests visiting theWit enjoy a multi sensory experience. While we often receive positive comments about the fragrance of our property, we certainly regret any inconvenience that it caused you, and will continue to explore ways of improving upon the great experience that we strive to offer.

With Kind Regards,

theWit Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews