We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“noy what it should be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #67 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“noy what it should be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Moved to the Affinia on Saturday night after staying Friday at the Intercontinental on Michigan Ave. Probably would have been better going the other way. Valet parking is $52 but it is offsight at the Affinity. Very little space to loan and unload. Retrieving your car takes longer. The lobby is not up to standard and is cold with limited seating. We had multiple rooms reserved and ended up in different towers that required travel to the lobby and moving to a different elevator to go to someone elses room. First our room, which the front desk said was completely renovated. It was larger than the room at the IC but was much cheaper in amenites. The dresser looked very cheap and more traditional in style. The tables were modern. Nothing seems to match and it looked like they shopped at Target. The bathroom was much larger than at the IC but the counter was at a level that was for a very short person. The shower was fine and would accomadate a 7 foot person. The painted walls in the bathroom looked like a 60 year old rental home in a marginal neighborhood (very low quality). Our room had 3 steps down from the entry/bath area to the actual bed.The steps were not standard code and in the night I kept smashing my big toe on the second step. The only chair in the room was a desk chair. There were no ice machines on any of the floors. You had to call room service for delivery. The room had a fridge that was cool not cold and had many items for purchase in it. Water was $6.50. They tout numerous types of pillows but you had to call housekeeping to have one delivered. The regular pillows were not comfortable. The bed was much harder than at the IC hotel. Check in and check out was not difficult. Room on the 15th floor had a view of an office building. Location did not seem as convenient as the IC hotel. Our son's room was smaller with a street view. It had a reclining chair in the room and a walk-in shower. He said the room was ok but did not like the bed as it sloped to the middial and wasn't comfortable. We has stayed at the Holiday Inn Mechandise Mart, the Hyatt, and the IC Hotel. The Affinity would be our last choice for comfort and location. The noise outside the window was quite loud. The noise in the hallway was also very loud. Not sure if the walls had insulation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlGS455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InteractiveMarketing, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear bigCS, I'm so sorry to hear your stay was not up to your standards. We pride ourselves on comfort & convenience and it doesn't sound like you experienced that. Since we take all customer feedback so seriously to constantly improve among the marketplace, I apologize and would like to discuss more specifics offline. If you can please reach out to me at the hotel at your conveneince that'd be great, Klaus Peters, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,682
    1,030
    327
    125
    71
See reviews for
696
1,128
222
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights in March (24, 25). Had a room on the 17th floor. Really enjoyed my stay at this smaller, boutique type establishment. The hotel staff were very accomodating and things ran smoothly from check in to check out. The location cannot be beat if you are interested in shopping or seeing some of the sights on Michigan Avenue. It is around the corner from all the most exclusive shops and right next to a popular pizza parlour called Ginos (didn't eat there but there were some long lines waiting to get in). The hotel is clean and up to date. I had breakfast in the restaurant attached and wouldn't recommend. Service was slow and the food was not a good value. There is a delightful rooftop bar but beware, it was closed the majority of the time I was at the hotel and seems to only be open Thur-Sunday. There is a great open roof top area but it's only accessible when the bar is open. I was disappointed that guests could not take advantage of this great area to chill out and relax. The only other common area is the small lobby so having this space would have been a plus (especially in light of the beautiful weather Chicago was having). If not for this, the hotel would have rated excellent in my opinion.

Room Tip: Would suggest higher floor. There is obviously traffic noise as it's in a city but also more fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joxxxxxjoxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InteractiveMarketing, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear joxxxxxjoxxxx, Thanks for taking the time to share about your experience. I'm glad to hear you had a great stay. Thanks for the compliments on our location and helpful associates. I agree that C-View is a great area to relax, the views are quite unique! You're right that during the winter/spring months we are open Wednesday-Saturday evenings, but with the warmer weather that changes! Great images you took of your room, Klaus Peters, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our room was plenty big for 3 ladies, 6 suitcases and lots of shopping! The rooftop bar was a great way to end a day of shopping and get ready for a night of fun! I cannot fault this hotel - it was always clean, modern, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, we will be back!

Room Tip: busy but fun hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expatGretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just one short block off Michigan Avenue and 2 blocks from Water Tower this hotel is worth the price (which is reasonable). Decor is modern - not my taste, but room was clean and roomy. Food and parking was pricey, but then again it's Chicago. Close to hospitals and fire station - room was noisey with sirens during the night. Elevators were slow.

Room Tip: Higher up mybe less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The best part of the room is the recliner. It was a great added touch to a guestroom and made for a great workstation. The room was very spacious. I highly recommend going to the roof top bar for a drink as it offers a fantastic view of Chicago. There was nothing disappointing about this property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BossHog0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InteractiveMarketing, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear DraperyDude, Thanks so much for the highly complimentary review. I am pleased to hear you appreciated the generous size of our guestrooms and recliner. I agree that C-View is a must - aren't those views amazing? I appreciate the time you took to share with others about the overall value you experienced at Affinia Chicago, Klaus Peters, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The James Chicago
#39 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
dana hotel and spa
#45 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 166 E Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing