We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #34 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The overall experience was good but nothing great. We had two rooms book for a business trip however we did not realize that one of the rooms was book a day early. The hotel charges us a nights room which is understandable and listed in their cancellation policy... However they also cancelled the rest of the reservation and gave the room away.

I would just expect a hotel listed in the top 50 on trip advisor to go the extra mile and contact the one who made the reservation prior to cancelling the entire stay. For that reason alone i can only give this hotel an average rating. More effort and consideration could have been shown.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg_and_Rachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,537 - 1,541 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Big, comfortable rooms, well-appointed, good service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingwriter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My spouse and I spent one night at the Blake from Saturday into Sunday. The hotel is located in the loop. I found it to be a great location to everything. The room itself was very nice. High ceilings made the room feel huge. They have new flat screen tvs if you care about that. The bathroom is large enough for two people to get ready in the morning. The bathtub in our room was worn and had seen better days as it had a large crack/chipped area that had been plastered in. Aside from the bathtub being worn, the hotel and our room was very clean and had a modern feel to it.

There was quite a bit of street construction going on, but it will only serve to enhance and improve the loop. I personally didn't hear any construction going on as it may have been halted over the weekend/Sunday. As someone else posted previously, we did hear a number of sirens, but that didn't impede my comfort or sleep at all. Speaking of which, the mattress in our room was king size and by far one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on.

We arrived at the hotel shortly before noon and the hotel was very accommodating and allowed us to check in as soon as we got there. Another great asset to the hotel is a certain individual whose real name is Greg, but everyone calls him "Showtime." I can say enough good things about this man. Great sense of humor and makes you feel right at home. We wanted to dine somewhere close to the hotel and he recommended a small Italian place called Trattoria Caterina. I would definitely recommend it. Prices were very good and the service was second to none. The food itself was really good as well. After we returned to the hotel Showtime asked us if we wanted to go check out a local jazz club. He escorted us around the corner and got us in for free and even a vip table right at the front. And the music was fantastic!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. If you go, make sure you seek out Showtime.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ironmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Wyndham Blake is an older hotel in the south loop area of Chicago. The location is very convenient, within walking distance to most of the downtown area, and only a couple blocks from public transportation. The worst thing is the street noise, which starts out early in the morning with traffic and construction noises. There must be a firehouse nearby, because we were constantly hearing fire trucks go by, sirens blaring. Our first night we were in a room facing Dearborn street, and had to move to the other side of the building because of the early morning noise on the street. The other side was a bit better, but the noise level was still such that we couldn't sleep in. The staff was very helpful in getting us moved to the other room.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Housekeeping was very accommodating to our needs, as were the rest of the staff. The furnishings are starting so show the years, but the beds were among the most comfortable I have found in a hotel anywhere. I'm not too crazy about the rainfall shower, as I like a shower with a bit more pressure behind it, but there was plenty of hot water very quickly.

I would suggest parking your car yourself; don't pay the extra for "valet" parking. Valet parking involves paying $44 a day (with in and out privileges) for them to put your car in the same garage you can park in yourself for $25 a day. It's just around the corner from the hotel, and you don't have to wait for the valet to get your car for you.

The exercise room is nice and well equipped, and has a good view of the surrounding city. We did not try the hotel restaurant, as the prices seemed rather high. All in all, it was not a bad place to stay, but the amount of noise from the street would make me look seriously into finding another place near the loop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWCJHP25419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We loved the stay at this hotel, the rooms are very cozy and comfortable. Oh, how can i forget the bed in our room, i miss it every night now. I have never had such a wonderful sleep in a hotel bed, i enjoyed my room. After a long day of site seeing, we used to be excited to come back to our room, coz it was very relaxing and comfy. The hotel is on S Dearborn St which is the right place to stay if you are planning for site seeing and shopping in Chicago.

Room Tip: I believe the new wifi rooms have cozier beds and much spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your Wyndham Blake Experience with us! We are always excited when we know that we made your stay in Chicago a comfortable and memorable one. We look forward to having you stay with us again! Keep an eye out and take advantage of some of our great rates and new packages!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,341 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Address: 500 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605-1502 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: €98 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing