We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better experience at Ritz-Carlton Reynolds Plantation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #41 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better experience at Ritz-Carlton Reynolds Plantation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This just didn't live up to my last Ritz stay. The service was not friendly or out-going. My last stay involved the hotel employees anticipating what I may need and responding with "it would be my pleasure" to any request I made. This Ritz just didn't seem to have the customer at heart. Too bad as I was looking forward to the care. The accommodations however were perfect as usual.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apieissweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm very sorry to hear your stay did not live up to expectations. I apologize the service you experienced was not as welcoming as you should have received. Please be assured I have followed up with the appropriate employees regarding your concerns.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback, as it helps us learn where we can improve. We would be happy to welcome you back to our hotel. Please contact me directly for any future reservations at thomas.segesta@fourseasons.com.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    360
    153
    56
    32
See reviews for
528
574
73
753
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Probably our 7th visit to the Ritz at Water Tower Place.... seeing the same faces at the door and desk year after year is a rare and comforting thing in these days. For any travel reason-business, honeymoon, family vacation, group needs... this should be THE place. Attachment to Water Tower complex is a real plus and its location places it within convenient distance to almost everything Chicago.

Room Tip: Lake view is still our favorite. Have never experienced any noise problems on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 610Joyce610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I had the most incredible stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago, A Four Seasons Hotel. The service is unrivaled and the hotel itself is gorgeous. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Lakeview executive suite has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
375 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was my first time staying at the Ritz owned by Four Seasons. I had booked a dinner meeting here for our customers who were in town for a convention. The food and service was excellent. Every course was delivered perfectly for 56 people. The Sea Bass was cooked just right. Amazing when serving 56 people. So if you have to have a meeting, this hotel was fantastic. I order their standard king room and I stayed 7 days. They gave me a room that face The Lake with huge windows. The room was extremely comfortable with large double sinks, plenty of counter space and a large tub.

The king bed was very comfortable with very soft linens and a feather Duvet. I ordered room service every morning and they told me the exact time they would deliver and they never missed. I like a double expresso with steamed milk on the side which is hard for most hotels to deliver correctly and still hot. They never missed a beat. Loved it.

Got a massage and accidently dropped my new iPhone in the toilet. They immediately got rice for me to put my phone in to try to dry it out. This happened just before my massage and I was a but tense to begin my massage but I relaxed as the therapist was great. Will allows stay at the hotel when in Chicago! A bonus- shopping is connect to the hotel. The Apple store and AT&T store just a couple of blocks away. Mathis hotel is quiet but a block from Michigan Ave.

Room Tip: All floors were above the 12th floor. I do not think there is a noisy room at all. Very quiet hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This place was fantastic. The staff was incredible. Would recommend a stay for anyone wanting to share in the Chicago experience. Within walking distance of everything !!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieStoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing