We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #101 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Slightly Disapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I booked this hotel through that "name your own price" website. I had wanted a 4 star hotel and this is more like a 3 1/2 star. Not the luxury I expected. I'm sure because of the way we booked our room we were not given one of the best rooms intentionally. Those are probably reserved for Hilton Rewards members and those paying top dollar, which I guess I can understand on a night the hotel is booked, but I don't believe it was the 2 nights we were there. Our room on the 12th floor had a glorious view of a brick wall. But at least we didn't have any street noise or noise from the train other reviewers have complained about. Although the room was a reasonable size, had a flat screen TV, updated decor and had a walk in closest (never had I seen this before in a hotel), the bathroom was so tiny. Like uncomfortably tiny where you are bumping into the toilet while trying to brush your teeth, etc. Not to mention, since this hotel is old there were issues with the water pressure and the hot water remaining a consistent temperature while you were in the shower. These are not issues I would have expected to have to deal with from a 4 star hotel. There was no minibar in our room or coffee maker, but since there was a Starbucks downstairs I would have gone down there anyway. Although I appreciate the close and convenient proximity of the self-park, it was some of the most expensive parking I found in all of Chicago; $44 self-park and $62 to valet per night. They were not that forthcoming at check-in about the location of the self-park garage (even though it ended up being right across the street) because they were pushing you to valet. I would strongly suggest to anyone that they bite the bullet and just self-park to save yourself some money, because it was not a hassle at all. There was really nothing outstanding about this hotel that would bring me back. Yes, the lobby is beautiful and I would recommend to anyone going and checking it out, even if you do not end up staying at this hotel. We had several drinks in the lobby bar and rather enjoyed the ambiance the lobby provided. But this alone would not be enough reason for me to recommend this hotel. To someone that is not used to staying in nicer hotels, this would probably be fine. But like I said, I just expected more. Better customer service, better amenities, a better room and just a better overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogreenspartans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,264
    2,916
    1,343
    651
    318
See reviews for
1,520
2,159
472
2,996
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,712)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

no qualms about recommending this hotel, but a little chaotic.

it was a very busy hotel with people coming and going all the time, first nights sleep was a little disturbed from the neighbours but that was not the fault of the hotel.

great hotel and good central location, so would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismcgmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We adored our experience at the Palmer House. It's central, the staff are lovely and the beds so comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennypenny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

From the lobby when we walked in I was overwhelmed by the beauty of this hotel. Stunning, jaw dropping beautiful. we had an executive level room. 2 bed & 2 bath with everything we could ask for. the beds were full, fluffy like a pillow bed should be. Slept great! the sound of the train was low and actually worked as a white noise, enough to let my 7yr old sleep all night & morning. The food was amazing, the staff accommidating, & pleasant, The pool was warm, the hot tub even hotter. We rarely left the large room except for walks around this grand hotel. Breakfast & hor d"ourves for us every day for free. The negatives: Our view was lacking, next time I'll request the corner room. Our only disappointment was housekeeping. Hard to catch them & took 2 days to turn our sheets, had to ask for towels, & they forgot to clean the 2nd bathroom. Otherwise, I'll never go anywhere else. Wish you had a book so I could just look at the pictures and remember my wonderful time. Thank you

Room Tip: executive floors have bigger rooms and the free breakfast & hor d'ouvers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Palmer House Employee at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay at the Palmer House. We certainly appreciate your TripAdvisor review. I apologize for the inconvenience with Housekeeping and which the issue will be addressed with our team members. Overall, we are glad you stayed with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The location is great, many other things were not. Topping the list is the loud banging pipes (steam?) that really prevented us from getting a good night's sleep, and isn't that the main goal in a hotel?
It took days for them, and several requests, to get the feather pillows and comforters out of the room. We received down-free pillows the first night, but the feather ones weren't removed and the maids kept putting them back on the bed. We would have to go through them ever day to find the down-free ones.
The room safe never worked. We complained the first day, it was not fixed and we heard nothing. Their comment that we could go to the front desk and use theirs would not have been convenient because there was almost always a line of 4-8 people, and the time it would have taken to drop off and pick up our items would have taken 20-30 each day.
After paying for internet, having read the agreement, we found out that it is per device, not room. It is not stated anywhere that we could find, even after speaking to internet customer service . As we were here for business, several devices were needed, very deceptive!
The only place to sit was one desk chair. There seemed to be room for a more comfortable chair, it would have been nice.
Definitely not worth our time or money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Palmer House Hilton at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry for the trouble you experienced during your stay here at the Palmer House. We strongly agree that our guests should receive a good night’s sleep and we apologize for the noise that disrupted your sleep. Also we apologize for the trouble you experienced with your pillows and safe. Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and bringing it to our attention.

Sincerely,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,380 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing