We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible breakfast provided”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #54 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Good hotel in a great location for shopping, restaurants and bars. The breakfast that was provided with your stay was incredible. Very convenient location to use the subway - Red line - to get down to the theatre district, Art Institute, etc. The only reason I did not give it a five was because we found a dirty tube sock from a previous guest on the floor of our room and the hotel was next to one of the Chicago Fire Stations, thus, sirens throughout the night. Glad I had may earplugs! Despite, I would stay here again when visiting Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room to muffle the siren noise to some degree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freefromwisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2011

Dear gfreeswisco,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

Glad that you enjoyed the breafast with make you own waffles & hot oatmeal!

I am sorry regarding the cleanliness issue with your room. We will be addressing this with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again in the future.

As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something to be expected: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.



Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,942 - 1,946 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

What an awesome hotel! Everything was perfect, from the location to the accommodations. The hotel staff, particularly Janita Walton, was very helpful with suggestions of things to do in Chicago and getting us there! The location is within walking distance to many wonderful restaurants, shows, and shopping. Two restaurants are connected to the hotel...Ruth Chris and Rosebud Trattoria...both were excellent!
Superior guest service and cleanliness of the rooms/hotel - A+. A definite return trip to the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown is in order!
Ask for Janita...she was awesome!!

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms, one of them being a suite, which was great! The suite had a large living ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I meant to write this after our three nights in Chicago and am finally getting to it. We had such a great stay at the Hampton Suites downtown, due in part to the lovely people behind the front counter. They were delightful and friendly, always asking about our day and what we were seeing and doing. Made us feel so welcome. The same goes for the polite and smiling folks who parked our car and other staff we saw throughout the building. I can't say enough about them. They were responsive when we needed something and happy to help us. I would certainly return here...and recommend it to others who want a nice, clean and comfortable place with great staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel is ideally situated a couple of blocks off the Magnificent (or is it Miracle) Mile! There are countless restaurants within easy walking distance and it is about 5 short blocks to the L Station. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. The decor was simple and modern. While this is not the Ritz or Waldorf, the price is very reasonable for the quality of this property. The front desk staff is awesome and so helpful. The gym was small but had decent and well-maintained equipment. If you are looking for a clean, nice hotel in a great location-this is it! I would definitely stay here again. A special thanks to Kristin and Ronnie at the front desk, as they were so friendly and helpful throughout my stay.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you are on an extended stay. The suites had a great little kitchen with a microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dom4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This Hampton Inn was very centrally located so that we were able to see all the sites without too much trouble. With that said... location isn't everything. The rooms were nothing spectacular, in dire need of updating(ie; peeling wallpaper and icky grout) and very very dry! If looking to stay here bring your humidifier! Not only did we have trouble sleeping with sore throats due to the arrid conditions but the constant serenade of fire sirens from across the street kept us on edge all night... even with earplugs! Our mistake...we should have investigated the location better. Had we known upon reserving our room what we know now, we would have made a better choice. On the plus side, the staff was friendly the complimentary breakfast was as good as always.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0Christie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2011

Dear 0Christie0,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something to be expected: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.

The hotel was completely renovated in Fall 2010 with all guestrooms receiving new furniture, wall vinyl, carpet, & tile & granite in the bathrooms. I will look into the issues that you mentioned regarding the wall vinyl & tile from your stay



Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: €81 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing