We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Private and Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
protected paradise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
protected paradise
Yellownose and Bluenose House, both for rent Bluenose House at max. high tide
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
protected paradise
Yellownose and Bluenose House, both for rent
Bluenose House at max. high tide
looking south east
almost 500 m private sandy beach up to Yellownose House
Bluenose facing south to River Inhabitants Basin
south to River Inhabitants Basin and Islands
cathedral ceiling provides lots of sun
our sailing catamaran in front of Bluenose House, available in 2015 as well
house front of Bluenose
view from patio to River Inhabitants Basin
patio and entrance
kitchen and living room 1st floor
left side the loft 2nd floor, right sight living room 1st fllor (panorama)
view from loft facing the ocean
maple wood kitchen
Yellownose House see at http://www.capebreton.vacations/Yellownose_House
private beach
view from loft 2nd floor
step to wharf
steps from house to shore
end of steps / wharf
deck at the shore
Sunset and Sunrise facing south
Indian Summer
winter romantic
our Catamaran LIZA with both houses in background
famous Cabot Trail
Highlands near by
view from patio
fun on the rocks
Bay of Fundy, 16 m tide
you find lobster traps almost everywhere here on the lobster island
our back yard animals ;-)
Cape North
bridge to Isle Madame
morning meditation
numerous islands in the sheltered River Inhabitants Basin
we guarantee that you will see Bald Eagles from the patio
sailing adventure, mussel digging in one of the sheltered coves nearby. Ask for embarking.
Sailor`s Rest House for rent on Isle Madame, see www.sailorsrest.capebreton.vacations
ask via email for availability
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cleveland, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Erik G
1 review
“Private and Beautiful”
Reviewed 15 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

This clean and stunning cottage is in a great location to enjoy nature and explore a beautiful part of Cape Breton. Staying here is a great way to end a road trip through the cabot trail.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaydee229
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet get away”
Reviewed 15 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
5
people found this review helpful

The house is beautiful, and we were really comfortable here. We were lucky to have beautiful weather, and spent our mornings drinking coffee and watching the eagles. There is no microwave or dish-washer, which wasn't a big deal for us, but good to know. Also you have to book ahead if you want internet. The house is higher up, and you have to take a series of dangerous steps down to get to the water. They are tied precariously to the trees, are slightly off kilter, and probably aren't to code. Not really beachfront. Just good to know if you have someone who has mobility issues or if you're with young children. Also we had to pay for an extra child 20 bucks per day, though no extra bed was provided. In the end, it was quite expensive, even for Nova Scotia. But we had a good time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2018
Hi (I am not allowed to say your name G.)
first of all I am wondering why you leave a review here since you booked with another platform and their high commission. Before you rented the house we told you that it sleeps 6 but you wanted to bring your 18 year old son in addition. You knew that we don't have 7 beds. Internet is and was included. You are right, the steps to the beach are not perfect for (your) young kids and seniors with mobility issues. They could use the next door driveway to get to the beach or rent our Yellownose house listed here, too. There is no doubt about a real beach as you can see on the aerial photos, but it depends on tidal schedule and yes sometimes you can jump into the water from our steps going down to the beach at the Bluenose House. We spend some efforts (including cleaning) to make it possible for your big crew saving money (instead of renting both houses) and it is disappointing to get only 3 of 5 stars but we learn not to accommodate 7 guests again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“100% perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just what we were hoping for an more! Bluenose house was bright, clean and had a stunning view of the water. Nothing beats an early morning cup of coffee and watching the fog roll out. We even saw a pair of dolphins cruising the river! Loved our time there, very peaceful. :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Place”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were in Yellownose, built the same way as bluenose, 100m away and out of sight.
We enjoyed the peace and quiet, the views over the river, the private beach (pebbles), swimming in the waters at the junction of river and sea. The house is very comfortable, good protected against insects, the terrace is beautiful.
Good starting point for trips on the mainland and on Cape Breton, but it has to be mentioned, that Cape Breton Highlands National Parc is quite a bit away (Cabot trail gives over400km from the house). Whatching sea eagles soaring by, fish eagles fishing, humming birds feeding, we would come again. Shopping in Port Hawkesbury is not too far away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Out in the nature
Liked least: Recycling policy of Nova Scotia; you can only make it wrong...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
The Cabot Trail roundtrip is 300 km plus 100 km (75 Min drive) to the trail entrance. POI see here: http://goo.gl/maps/k7JK
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf P
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Million Dollar View”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at the Bluenose and we felt at home from the first moment. The house is very clean, well-equipped and has an amazing view over the ocean. It's the perfect location for any watersports lover as the bay is protected by a couple of islands. We even saw whales while paddling in our kayak.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to the ocean.
Liked least: Cape Breton's restrictive recycling policy can be very annoying!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing