We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bluestone Wales”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaston Wood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluestone National Park Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I took our 3 and 1 year olds. There was plenty to fill the week for them which meant we were relaxed too. The lodge accommodation was clean and spacious. All the extras I had ordered in advance were there waiting for us eg cot, stair gates, high chair etc. We went during school term time and Bluestone was at just over half capacity. This was great as the children's areas didn't feel manic and noisy. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,498)
There are newer reviews for Bluestone National Park Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,053 - 2,057 of 2,498 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed for three nights and while the base accommodation is good the overall experience falls well short of the five star experience claimed. On arrival you are not allowed into your accommodation until 16:30 but have to depart by 10:00 when your access key is automatically cancelled. There is a no car policy on site so apart from when you arrive and depart you are expected to leave your car in the long stay car park at the entrance to the "resort" some way from your lodge. If this were a flat site this might not be a problem but it isn't and alternative forms of transport to the car park are either provided at a high cost (buggies at circa £25 per day) or are infrequent (the hourly bus).
Although the accommodation is of a high standard the basic supplies you get on arrival are pathetic and were missing in our case. Three dishwasher tablets, bin bags, a scouring pad and a small phial of washing up liquid are almost all you receive. There is no toilet cleaner supplied or available from the shop neither is their a washing machine or laundry. As a result the toilet facilities in your accommodation are unsanitary. It would be difficult to stay for more than a few days unless you brought a week's worth of clothing with you. If you are thinking of coming bring absolutely everything that you might need.

We found that our shower head was broken and that rather than replacing it bluestone had repaired it with a wooden plug in the hole which fell out on use. While you are asked to report damage no forms are provided to do this leaving any feedback to be given by word of mouth. I'm not surprised therefore that staff seem to hold the impression that all is fine.

It seems clear to me that the operators haven't actually stayed at their resort because the guide maps supplied are woefully inadequate with no consistency in the plans provided and no street names on the roads which match up to the plans. We only found our accommodation by chance after three circuits of the site.

Because the "roads" on site are too narrow for traffic in both directions the site is basically one giant one way system but this isn't always obvious. To a visitor the signage is inadequate and far too small.. The whole site is very hilly so you need to be fit and active to come here.

Yes the Blue Lagoon leisure centre is good for a few hours inclusive activity but most other activities come at an additional price making any stay for more than a few days potentially very expensive. Blue Lagoon closes quite early at 19:00 too. Food quality at the Yard restaurant was adequate rather than great as was the food at the Adventure centre. We didn't eat elsewhere on site other than in our accommodation. Using the oven is difficult however with no oven gloves and no working handle to the grill pan. The dishwasher at half size is inadequate and crockery supplies don't take into account the fact that some will be in the dishwasher when the rest is in use.

All in all a real pity because bluestone has the potential to be great provided it can get over its ridiculous no car policy and lack of basic supplies and facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ninepine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My family and i have just come home from a fabulous stay in Bluestone pembrokeshire.
Our party consisted of 4 adults and 3 children (16 months 7 and 10).

i'll start with the accomodation - we were really happy as we had a gorgeous lodge, really light and spacious.The fittings are quality and the place feels as i'd expect for a 5*. it was so nice to go somewhere which was so child friendly as our little girl is very busy and we felt safe and happy to just let her play. the 4 bedrooms slept 8 and the living area had enough room for everybody without feeling at all cramped. I am wondering where i can get one from as i'd quite happily live in one!

The weather wasnt the best but we had so much to do, whether we decided to get wet and go to the blue lagoon or stay dry and go down to the 'wild wood' indoor activity centre. both are minutes away and brilliant for big and small kids alike!

when it stayed dry we walked the nature trails and watched crazy people on the steep ravine course, it looked awesome but way to high up for me! we laughed at the people on the coracles which looked brilliant fun, maybe next time we'll have a go.

The food was lovely , we ate in the yard, wildwood and camp smokey. We couldnt fault the staff who were polite and very helpful, which goes a long way when you have little children. nothing was a problem.

Ihad seen on a previous review that the lack of a laundrette was a down point but we found it! there is also a laundry service if you want to use it too - you are on holiday so why not!

we dont live too far from Bluestone (1hr away) but it still felt like a proper break, if you are coming from a far there are loads of attractions close by ( folly farm, oakwood, heatherton the list goes on...)

we would definately recommend it to anyone wanting a break - whether it be a family or couple, we are just working out dates to book to go back.

Next time maybe i'll have time to check out the 'Well spa'......

Room Tip: can recommend the Dinas lodge - beautiful,
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beca865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were four generations and we all had a wonderful time the accommodation was warm, clean, and fitted to a very high standard, with generous amounts of storage. Tha adventure centre and th blue lagoon were great for the children but the adults joined in as well. The Well spa is exceptional and is not to be missed. Eating in the resort is very good value. If there is anyone in the group who is not really active a golf buggy is a must, saying that my mother being 78 managed quite well without one (we were unable to get one as they had all been booked and we were a last minute booking).
All the staff were happy, and helpful and any extra requests were dealt with quickly.

The only drawbacks were the lack of available golf buggys and being unable to prebook anything due to the phones not being answered tried 3 times and waited in phone queue for over 30 mins on all occasion. The site is very hilly so a good level fitness is required as are sturdy walking shoes for all ages.

It has been the nicest short break I've taken in the uk, well done Bluestone, and thank you.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback and comments following your stay, we are delighted that you and the four generations enjoyed your break here at Bluestone National Park Resort. The Reservations office is now open between 10am and 6pm Monday to Friday but you can log into the "My Booking" section of www.bluestonewales.com 24 hours a day and book anything before you arrive. We hope to welcome you all back to Bluestone very soon. If you would like to contact us directly about your stay please do so by emailing us on guest-satisfaction@bluestonewales.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We visited Bluestone 2 years ago and really enjoyed our stay so decided to go back with our 21 month old. We stayed in the Ramsey lodge which was lovely and very well equipped, the only criticisms I have is that there is no washing machine, or a launderette on site (only a dry cleaning service) and the toaster is only a 2 slice when the lodge sleeps 4 (a minor issue but annoying when you're making breakfast for 4 and a child). The adventure centre is a new addition and fantastic for all ages, our toddler loved the bouncy castle and the numerous slides, we enjoyed the mini golf! We ate in the Wild Wood cafe twice, lovely food and a very nice setting but the staff ned to be more attentive, the food is fairly expensive so I expect to be offered condiments and not have to wait ten minutes for them to be brought out, by which time my husband had gone to the bar to ask for them. The addition of the bus service around the resort is a good idea as the hill up to the car park/pool/adventure centre is very steep, especially when pushing a pushchair, unfortunately on several occasions we missed the bus as it had obviously driven past the stop without waiting for the scheduled time. The cost of hiring a golf buggy is ridiculous £125 for a week!!! All in all a great resort but they need to pay more attention to the little things.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying the extra to select the location of your lodge, ours was really far from the...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobboujere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments about your break here at Bluestone National Park Resort, having been 2 years ago its always nice to welcome guest back, especially when we have made improvements such as the Wild Wood Cafe and the Adventure Centre - however, we do take your points on board and we are sorry to hear that certain aspects of your experience at Bluestone wasnt as you were expecting and we would be grateful if you could contact us on guest-satisfaction@bluestonewales.com so that we can look into your experiences further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaston Wood
2.5 km away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,204 reviews
10.7 km away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
296 reviews
3.8 km away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
414 reviews
10.9 km away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,160 reviews
4.3 km away
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone National Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone National Park Resort

Address: The Grange, Canaston Wood, Narberth SA67 8DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Canaston Wood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Canaston Wood
Price Range: €84 - €504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone National Park Resort offers fantastic free range holidays for families, couples and friends! The all-weather luxury short break destination in Pembrokeshire is like no other. Whether you want to relax and unwind or play and have fun during your break there is something for everyone! We offer breaks for generational families wanting to spend quality time together, romantic short breaks, and catch up getaways with friends. Guests can choose from a range of luxury lodges set around a private Welsh village where you will find the cottages and studio apartments, restaurants, shops, a pub and its very own holistic spa and thermal rooms. Choose from heart pumping activities in the Steep Ravine with its high ropes and zip wire around the old Camp Smokey; splashing fun in the Blue Lagoon water park and outdoor fun indoors at the Adventure Centre with its climbing walls, ball pits and Wild Wood Cafe. For those wanting to chill and unwind there’s The Well Spa with its holistic treatments and invigorating thermal rooms. Combine this with opportunities to visit the nearby coastal towns and countryside communities and you have a perfect short break destination, whatever the weather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluestone Hotel Narberth
Bluestone Resort Narberth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing