We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”

Review of The Toll House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hopetown, Northern Cape

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jacqui v
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My stay at the Toll House was a real treat. The tranquility coupled with the exquisite decor made the 3 day stay a memorable one. The hosts were friendly and helpful answering all our questions regarding the area and its surroundings. The photos and history books were fascinating to read, and sunset walks across the bridge very relaxing. Thanks for having us, we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to hosting you again and getting to know you better. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZHasie
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a great spot, tranquil and relaxing!! Margo our host was fantastic and very accommodating from the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was to much to ask!!

A beautifully restored national monument the Toll House was built circa 1878 and restored in 1998 to its hay day of Victorian Grandure.

Enjoy a spot of fishing in the Orange River, be sure to speak to Benny, Margo's husband and he'll direct you to the best spots.

We did find it a bit of a challenge to get to, but rang Margo who helped us find the Toll House.

Here are some directions, located at portion 85 of farm Vaalkoppies
From the N12 driving South turn right onto Wiid street towards Hopetown, follow the road down until you reach the sign that says "Old Bridge, Douglas" and turn right. Follow the road for approx 5km and turn right, this is not clearly marked but you will notice a T-Junction sign before the turn off, then follow the dirt road to the old bridge for 2.5km the Toll House will be on your left.

A fantastic little B&B will definitely be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope that the rest of your holiday was also great.
Thank you for bringing the direction signs problem to our attention.
We've noted it and will make some corrections. Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanne D
Noordwijkerhout, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Wat spijt het ons dat er een misverstand is gekomen over de reservatie.
Wy willen u graag een gratis wiekend aanbieden als u weer in de omgewing komt. Weer eens onze hartelijke apologie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hopetown hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing