We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for lunch”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kobe Japanese Steak House
Ranked #65 of 276 Restaurants in Bloomington
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited recently for lunch with a group from work. This was my first Hibachi grill experience, and I really enjoyed the chef's entertainment and the meal. The fried rice and shrimp was delicious, the portions were very good, and everyone left full and happy. Some of my co-workers had the buffet, and said it had good choices as well.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reedma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

We had a poor (young) Hibachi Chef. He talked about his hangover. There was no presentation. He didn’t even clean the grill.
The food was decent. The server was great!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Who doesn’t like hibachi style food? Like other similar restaurants, this place has a chef that cooks in front of you and entertains kids and adults alike. The food is tasty and cheaper than the competition. Sushi was good as well. No extra charge for fried rice. And you get noodles with each meal too.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank flyingdoc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

The food was good but the service was lacking. Several issues...if a customer is interested in switching one item for another of the same price, why not? This is the first Japanese restaurant I have EVER been to that would not substitute one sashimi which I don’t like for another of the same price. We are talking two small pieces of sashimi on a meal of seven pieces that cost $18. No problem, you lost money. I selected something almost $10 less. You could have said it would cost a couple of extra dollars and I probably would have said ok. However. Your menu doesn’t say NO SUBSTITUTIONS. Also, the waiter didn’t even know for sure and had to double check. The fried rice came out before our appetizer. We had to remind the waiter of things we had asked for initially. We each ordered our own sushi roll but had them delivered on the same plate. Then when we asked for small plates. Sorry, we didn’t know that would be such an inconvenience. I guess they were ready to leave, even though they weren’t closed. The waiter was in a hurry to take care of the check and was more concerned with sweeping the floor than the customers. Be prepared to have food that has a great flavor and service that needs quite a bit of improvement.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank rev_angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Every so often we eat here and enjoy having food made right in front of us. The food is ample at a great price!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank xtreme7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kobe Japanese Steak House also viewed

Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
 
Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
 
Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
 

Been to Kobe Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing