We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$265
US$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oaks Lagoons(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$209
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$208
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$131
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,572)
Filter reviews
1,572 results
Traveller rating
1,107
331
78
44
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,107
331
78
44
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachnature walkrock poolsindividual bungalowsgolf buggycoral seamain buildingwelcome drinkport douglasflora and faunaeco lodgeevery other daystinger seasonour honeymoonbird lifethe great barrier reefshuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 1,572 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2015

From the moment I arrived at Thala I received VIP treatment. It is obvious that the staff LOVE their work from an authentic place and went above, beyond and everywhere in between to ensure my stay was outstanding and memorable. I highly recommend a trip to Thala to truly spoil yourself with all the trimmings. Nature at her finest. Many thanks from Patricia Herreen

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

We visited Thala for our 1st wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. As locals to the Cairns Northern beaches we have stayed and dined in many locations in Port Douglas before but Thala is on a different level. The individual cabins situated in among the trees were stunning, extremely clean and well maintained, everything you could wish for from a place such as this.
The restaurant had a good varied menu and at a reasonable price. Presentation was exceptional, the best we have seen outside of Melbourne and Sydney. Service was very personal and attentive.

If you are after a hotel in Port Douglas this place is not for you (it is a 15min drive away), however we did notice there was a shuttle service to/from there at a reasonable price. If you were staying for a number of nights this would be a great option to explore the restaurants Port Douglas has.

Unfortunately we did not get to participate in any of the tours however definitely plan to next time we stay. There are numerous self-guided walks you can do that are accessible to all levels of fitness. The private beach is idyllic and a great place to relax.

We really appreciate that they look after locals and would recommend to our family and friends

Our one regret is that we didn’t stay there for longer, we will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: The Jungle walk bungalow was fantastic, with a deck among the forest. If you are after a sea view then go for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonTindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Thala for an eight night stay in Port Douglas after careful consideration and reading reviews on trip advisor.

Pros:
- lovely setting/beautiful grounds
- clean rooms
- friendly staff
- divine pool area with shade and sun
- spectacular views from restaurant area
- removed from town bustle

Cons:
- dated furnishings and worn bathrooms
- towels are 'rough' and a little thread-bare.
- rooms not serviced every day (which is fine for conservation - water and towel washing) but this means bed won't be made daily... and in our case we actually got forgotten!
- rooms not that secluded (at least the one we were in) you can see balconies of your neighbour.
- ask for eucalypt bungalow away from reception because you hear the functions on Friday and Saturday nights. They don't run late, but it's really annoying when you go there for tranquility and you are listening to clanking and drunk people yelling and music.
- restaurant way over priced for the quality of meals (the beef dish came with boiled cubes of potato and no seasoning and tinned beetroot slices - dessert brownie was lesser quality than Sara Lee. Restaurants in town far superior)
- very small, bad quality tele if you enjoy watching a movie on a rainy holiday day.
- we wanted snacks with drinks before dinner but they don't offer anything like this... (Just a little thing that makes a difference when you are so far from town).

It just lacks something 'special'. Yes the outlook and setting is beautiful... but it needs a bit of sprucing up and attention to detail to take it up to an outstanding experience.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank atripaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

I appreciate you and your husband (DavidF) both taking the time to write independent reviews regarding your 8-night stay, and am so pleased you enjoyed our grounds, cleanliness, friendly staff, pool areas, views and serenity. Per my response to your husband’s review - I would have loved you to have mentioned your concerns onsite so we could have rectified - perhaps we can welcome you back at another time. Best wishes, Johan, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

This is the first place I have stayed in Australia with world class service at an international level outside a major city. If your travelling to port Douglas forget the other hotels and stay here and spend an extra 15 mins travelling to port Douglas well worth the travel time.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank Travelbug98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

This place has so much potential to be the best place to stay in Nth Queensland but unfortunately the owners seem to be content cutting corners.
The location is as breath taking as the photos show and being surrounded by trees is what makes this place so special however its shortcomings are equally as strong. The fittings and furnishings are very dated though well maintained, it's like walking into a bad 80s movie scene. While this may sound cool to some it's actually fairly ugly and we found it hard to relax here for that reason.
The food and drinks are so expensive you would expect the quality to be outstanding but sadly it was not the case. We were told the restaurant was very busy and we had better book early on our first night to get a spot. A sneaky ploy that left us with a $200+ bill for tasteless food feeling like fools as we looked at all the other empty tables. The steak was good quality and cooked well, however the potatoes were tiny cubes and had zero flavour. I'm 99% sure we were served tinned sliced beetroot also. Dessert was worse. I wonder if any of the other five guests there when we ate, returned to osprey during their stay. We certainly didn't, Port Douglas has many other expensive restaurants with chefs that know how to cook and actually taste their own food before serving it to paying guests. Very disappointed.
The staff are all very friendly and we still enjoyed our stay, the pool is actually pretty amazing and luckily we got a big discount, but we left feeling sad that this place could be so much more than just scraping by. Hopefully someone renovates one day and hires a chef worth his or her salt to justify the steep prices to eat here.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

We thank you for your complimentary comments re our location, staff and pool area. We were disappointed however to read you were unhappy with your single dining experience, and wish you had mentioned it to management during your 8-day stay. Please be assured that the restaurant reservation advice given to you was not a ‘sneaky ploy’ – we catered for 110 very happy customers on the night you dined, you just happened to book for the end of the evening when everyone else had retired. We have passed your meal feedback onto our Executive Chef for review, however again wish you had mentioned this whilst onsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews