We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK , nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aura Soma Lava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aura Soma Lava
Wyoming
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK , nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

Check-in was fine. Room was clean enough, smallish, darkish, nothing special. And although the rooms are non-smoking, there are ashtrays outside every room (both front and back entrances) and a lot of people were hanging out smoking cigs which was yucky. Their private hot springs was overrun with about a zillion kids so no relaxation to be had there. the rest of Lava was a lot of fun. We loved going down the Portneuf River on the inner tubes we rented and the state swimming pool (those slides!) was fab, as were the state hot pools. Great breakfast restaurant across the street at The Chuckwagon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxypal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    71
    27
    13
    13
See reviews for
70
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

I do not understand where all these great reviews come from?

We stayed at the Cape Cod, and what a disappointment!

The yard was messy, cigarette butts in rain filled cans, grass clippings on the walks, the lawns have more weeds than grass. The two beds were fine, but the sofa sleeper should have been dropped in a dumpster years ago, and the small bed in the extra bedroom is undersized and awful.

You like bugs? You will love this place...

The house was clean, but old and and all the improvements are on the cheap side. The kitchen and bath rooms are ancient - 1950 all the way.

For almost $200 a night I really expected much nicer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panther_schwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

I've soaked in hot springs all over the world and the ones @ Aura Soma Lava are some of the best. I sleep so deeply after a good soak there and always look forward to returning as I rarely sleep that well. During a recent stay, my room was clean and quite which helped me relax even more-something I'm not used to during my road trips :). The staff were very kind and friendly and that was just as refreshing as a soak in a hot spring. I plan on returning there considering the high quality of the service and value as well.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonbodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubois, ID
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

We viewed other motels and hotels. This restored old hotel was superb. And very close to state operated CCC pools. Price was outstanding for the accommodations and the room was VERY nicely decorated. The bed was firm and the room very clean. Unexpectedly nice. Will stay there again if we return to hot springs!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duboisdeserttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JACKSON
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

After extensive reviews of accomodations in Lava Hot Springs, we chose Aura Soma Lava. What a wonderful choice. We were greated by Scott who made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Cottage which has a private hot springs mineral tub on the deck. The deck looks out over a beautiful meadow with the creek running by. We will definately be back to the Cottage time and time again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetontails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 km away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 km away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 km away
Lava Hot Springs Suites
Lava Hot Springs Suites
#5 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.8 km away
Lava Hot Springs KOA
Lava Hot Springs KOA
#2 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura Soma Lava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura Soma Lava

Property: Aura Soma Lava
Address: 196 E Main Street, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aura Soma Lava 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your comfort, our desire. Newly appointed rooms. Hot Spring Mineral Pool on Riverfront. Spa rooms. Five vacation rental homes, two with private hot spring soaking tubs. Central city location, private south facing deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aura Soma Lava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Soma Lava Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Aura Soma Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing