We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aura Soma Lava
Nearby Hotels
US$121
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs(Lava Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park(Lava Hot Springs)
US$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cobblestone Inn & Suites - Soda Springs(Soda Springs)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribou Lodge(Soda Springs)
US$54
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$76
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpaca Inn(Lava Hot Springs)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
129
76
29
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
76
29
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate hot poolthe rivercourtyard roomfull kitchenget awayin towngirls weekendhoneymoon suitewithin walking distanceblue moonwe loved our staysmall towncottagelavadeckofficespring
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I do not understand where all these great reviews come from?

We stayed at the Cape Cod, and what a disappointment!

The yard was messy, cigarette butts in rain filled cans, grass clippings on the walks, the lawns have more weeds than grass. The two beds were fine, but the sofa sleeper should have been dropped in a dumpster years ago, and the small bed in the extra bedroom is undersized and awful.

You like bugs? You will love this place...

The house was clean, but old and and all the improvements are on the cheap side. The kitchen and bath rooms are ancient - 1950 all the way.

For almost $200 a night I really expected much nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panther_schwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I've soaked in hot springs all over the world and the ones @ Aura Soma Lava are some of the best. I sleep so deeply after a good soak there and always look forward to returning as I rarely sleep that well. During a recent stay, my room was clean and quite which helped me relax even more-something I'm not used to during my road trips :). The staff were very kind and friendly and that was just as refreshing as a soak in a hot spring. I plan on returning there considering the high quality of the service and value as well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonbodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We viewed other motels and hotels. This restored old hotel was superb. And very close to state operated CCC pools. Price was outstanding for the accommodations and the room was VERY nicely decorated. The bed was firm and the room very clean. Unexpectedly nice. Will stay there again if we return to hot springs!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duboisdeserttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

After extensive reviews of accomodations in Lava Hot Springs, we chose Aura Soma Lava. What a wonderful choice. We were greated by Scott who made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Cottage which has a private hot springs mineral tub on the deck. The deck looks out over a beautiful meadow with the creek running by. We will definately be back to the Cottage time and time again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tetontails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

After extensively researching the hotels available in Lava Hot Springs my partner and I chose to stay at Aura Soma Lava. The main reason that we chose this hotel is the fact that the Cottage has a private hot tub on its deck. This trip was our first to Lava Hot Springs and after our stay we will definitely return!

We arrived 2 hours before check-in time expecting to have to wait a few hours to get in to our room but to our delight we were given our room key by a very helpful and pleasant woman at the front desk, which is located in a cute little coffee shop on main street. Check out the souvenir coffee mugs as they are handmade. We found all employees to be extremely friendly at the coffee shop.

After checking out the Cottage we headed over to the Aura Soma swimming pool and took a dip. It's close enough to the Cottage to walk over and yet just far enough away not to be bothered by noise. We were the only people in it and were able to relax and float around in the hot water while listening to the birds chirp in the mature trees that surround the pool and Cottage. All the grounds at Aura Soma are nicely landscaped with mature plants and trees. Cherry trees surround the Cottage and hang over the deck.

After our swim we walked the town. Every one in this town is helpful and friendly. We toured the local museum. It is evident that the residents are very proud of their town and its history. The ice cream parlor is the perfect place to grab a sweet snack while touring town. We noticed some hotels have their own private hot pools in addition to the public pools. We appreciated staying at Aura Soma as we had access to their pool and had more privacy. We took a peak at the public pools and they are very nice, just a bit crowded. I recommend walking the paved path by the river. It is a lovely little walk by the water where one can listen to the birds and watch the squirrels play.

One thing to know is that the highway runs close to town as does the railroad. There was some noise from both but wasn't enough to bother us.

As far as the Cottage goes, it was nicely decorated and set up for an extended stay. It needs a little TLC in some areas, such as a bit of pealing paint and a closet door that needs some work, and the Cottage in general could use a "spring cleaning" such as cleaning the tapestries and closets. The private hot tub on the deck does not have jets, but is the perfect temperature and is lovely for a late night soak under the stars. Very romantic! The Cottage has hard wood floors and who ever decorated it really took pride in their job. The windows in the Cottage are numerous, huge and let in so much light, and believe it or not, there's still a lot of privacy. There are two beds, a full kitchen, and bathroom, not to mention the deck and hot tub. They even provide a bbq on the deck. Aura Soma really has it set up for the guest's comfort in mind. If we were staying longer we would have cooked our meals in the Cottage. The kitchen has everything but the food for preparing meals like one would at home. Microwave, blender, pots, pans, you name it, it's there.


If you want good food, try the Thai restaurant at the end of town. The service is great and so is the food. The Thai iced tea is some of the best I've had!

DO NOT go to the Chuck Wagon. We thought it looked good for a hearty breakfast. Not so. Horrible service and 40 minutes AFTER placing our order we managed to get no refills on our drinks and absolutely no food or service. At one point we saw our server sitting down across the room and she ignored all our gestures to try and get service. The table next to us had the same problem. We eventually got up and paid for our drinks and told the server who took our money that we were very upset and to cancel our food order. The server did not apologize, nor did she even ask why we were canceling order or why we were upset. We walked out of the restaurant starving.

The Chuck Wagon was our only unhappy experience in Lava Hot Springs. We loved our stay, loved Aura Soma, and loved the people. It's a great small town getaway for couples or families any time of year. It's an open minded community that is slow paced and down to earth. Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hypnosisforwellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews