We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and delicious!”
Review of The Matador

The Matador
Ranked #56 of 882 Restaurants in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Our Boise location offers the first all-ages Matador dining room, with families welcome before 9pm. Situated behind the tree-lined sidewalks of N. 8th Street, Matador’s floor-to-ceiling windows and spacious outdoor patio offer the perfect summer spot to enjoy the city’s widest selection of tequila and popular Mexican cuisine.
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This restaurant is a local chain, but do not let that deter you from experiencing the delishious offerings on the menu. We started with their guacamole, which was tasty and fresh. Chips are served warm and paired with the house-made salsa you will have to restrain yourself not to get to the bottom of the bowl. The menu is varied enough to offer something for everyone. I chose the carnita burrito with roja sauce and did not for a second regret my choice: tender pork, well spiced, but not overwhelming, wrapped in a tender tortialla and topped with a smoky, mildly spicy sauce. I was unable to stop myself from eating the entire burrito! Also not to be missed are the variety of intersting margaritas and the flights of tequila that range from the well-known to the exotic.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank cathyk39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at The Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We truly appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed our food and beverage options. Take care and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

This place was an exciting surprise. My family is from Washington and we wanted Mexican. I ordered the chorizo taco, yummy and spicy! My four year old ordered the corn on the cob with butter only and my husband ordered the shredded chicken burrito with spicy sauce. He was pleasantly surprised that his mouth was burning! We highly recommend this place. The atmosphere is wonderful also.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank carmenkandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at The Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you so much for the great review! We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

had just arrived in town and wanted to grab a bite. this place is open late. is in the vibrant 8th st. area. pretty decent mexican food. can sit inside or outside. very helpful and friendly service, food was tasty

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, General Manager at The Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Jon!

Thank you so much for the kind words and the great review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

The service this Friday was great. Got there before the crowd hit, but waitress was very friendly, food arrived hot and drinks arrived cold.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rkscsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at The Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Yes! Hot food, cold drinks, and great service; all the things we try to provide our guests. Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Adequate margaritas. Tasty food. Americanized Mexican. Fancy Mexican names on the menu do not make for authentic food. Neither does making everything hot via jalapeño. Ample but not large servings. A nice variety. Salsa was disappointing. Dined here with a large group in a separate upstairs room. Service was adequate but not amazing. It was a nice relaxing evening. The atmosphere was original and a little different. They were busy on a week night so they must be a popular local spot. Located at the end of a mall. No parking at all due to Tuesday night specials in the Mall area. The restaurant was on one end of the mall and we parked passed the far end of the mall. Worth the walk.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mavis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing