We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down old hotel”
Review of Metro Hotel Couva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metro Hotel Couva
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couva
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed in this hotel with our swim team. First impressions from the road are not good and they don't get any better once inside. The rooms are large and together with the fridge and microwave are the only positives I can find with the room. Beds are lumpy, no mattress cover is provided, so sheets just slip off the bed and are actually too small for the beds. Our sheets were only changed once during a week long stay. The net curtains were torn and every night is water torture. The AC units are so loud and have no drainage. Water therefore drips from the top AC to the next and so on. I wear wax ear plugs and even with these it was hard to sleep. The bathrooms have no natural ventilation or extractor fan so air is stale smelling and mould is prevalent. Beware the tiles are very slippery (one of our swimmers ended up in hospital with 6 stitches after slipping and missed the whole competition). The breakfast is horrible and for the most part inedible. Cereal choices - fruit loops or frosted flakes. Hot food - greasy hot dog sausages and anemic looking scrambled eggs. Breakfast is not provided until 7am, so if you are staying for a sports event and need to leave early you are out of luck. The hotel is not flexible about providing an earlier breakfast. There is no bar or area to socialise in the evenings.

We have already found an alternative hotel for next year as no one from our swim team of nearly 30 persons wants to stay here again.

Finally Couva itself has nothing to offer. Apart from Subway, Mario's Pizza and KFC there is no where to eat.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mili033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2017

Big room, 2 comfortable king size beds, complimentary hot breakfast (cooked to order, in my case), TV, and hot shower with plenty of jets. Anyone should be able to get a good deal through online booking sites. It was a value deal for me. Desk/check in staff can use some improvement. If you ask for a wake up call, tell them 30 minutes earlier than what you really want.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PurposeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

A surprising discovery whilst on vacation from London. Rooms were well kept, spacious and beautifully decorated to a high standard. Staff were friendly and welcoming. I would definitely return on my next visit.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sherry-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Room was a good size for an individual, clean and tidy environment, improvement to the breakfast should be done, access to transportation and a little night life was easily assessable. Overall great, would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreaalleyne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was very welcoming and always willing to help if necessary. The hotel was clean and well kept. I would definitely go back again and recommend to others.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Takiyah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Couva
49.7 km away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
3.2 km away
Cara Suites
Cara Suites
#1 of 1 in Claxton Bay
186 reviews
52.2 km away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Fernando
110 reviews
38 km away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,306 reviews
40.1 km away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Couva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Couva

Address: Noel Street, Couva, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Couva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couva
Price Range: €26 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metro Hotel Couva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are designed for the comfort and relaxation, whether on business or pleasure. They are the largest rooms in Trinidad & Tobago and equipped with more amenities than any other in the Caribbean. We can cater for the lone traveler or groups and strive to deliver personalized service to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Metro Hotel Couva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing