We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
207
18
8
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
18
8
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courses aresea islandbeach clubthe men's locker roomsister propertypersonal butlergeorgian roomtour of the propertyrose petal bathstar resortadirondack chairsgolf staffback porchputting greenkiawah islandgolf vacationpro shop
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Lodge is immediately a welcoming place when the staff open the big doors and welcome you by name. Having a butler 24/7 is a true luxury. The service was outstanding all the way around. I think we must have gone at a low occupancy time, because we barely saw anyone else there. The restaurants in the resort are fantastic as well. We also really enjoyed the views from the back porch. The golf courses are beautiful and well maintained. They do have a strict dress code. They send this to you at the time of your reservation. Our only complaint was poor phone reception. We couldn't seem to have a 5 minute conversation without losing the call multiple times. We have At&t and normally never have issues like that. I'm not sure what the interference was or if it was just too far from a tower. Aside from that, all was perfect. We also enjoyed ammenities at the sister resorts, The Cloister and the Beach Club. They offer a free shuttle to take you to these locations. Outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarisseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Visited in February 2012. It was a perfect vacation spot for those who want to relax. Despite the rain, it was one of the best vacations in a long time. The service is impeccable. The staff remembers you by name. Food is great.

There are approximately 40 well appointed rooms at the Lodge. Beautifully maintained. Golf is great, practice facilities terrific, visited the Cloister which has the pool, exercise facilities, classes, but preferred to quiet cozy Lodge. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramosFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hard to find a better accommodation in this resort area. Rooms are spacious and beds are very comfy. Great views of the ocean and wonderful golfing. Service is the best ever. Only negatives are the lighting can be quite poor in meeting rooms and temperatures inside are frequently kept at frigid levels

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Our first trip here from England fell over the Easter weekend. We had chosen this resort expecting to enjoy a few days relaxation, but found everything so crowded that it unfortunately didn't meet our expectations ! Such a shame as there were so many wonderful activities to enjoy. Wonderful that the resort is obviously doing a great job in attracting visitors, but maybe not to be recommended if you want some tranquility !
Difficult to get reservations in all of the restaurants, although we luckily did manage to enjoy a superb melt in your mouth steak meal in the Colt and Alison restaurant in the Golf Club. All of the staff throughout our stay were efficient and friendly, making us feel very special. Our room in the main building, was gorgeous. All in all it was our 'timing" that was at fault, so would think carefully next time before booking at this rather expensive resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ros N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The spa is expensive, but worth it. One of the best massages ever. We had a small plumbing issue with the beach cottage we rented and it was handled perfectly. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank volunteerstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews