We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT TOO BAD”
Review of Sheylla's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheylla's Place
Ranked #14 of 101 San Andres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2017

we stay in three different 'posadas' while in san andrés and this was the one we found to be not so good. First of all we made our reservation through booking.com where you get all hostel details and information like phone numbers, address and so on, however, no one picked up any of the numbers and as we decided to walk all the way down to the place we found it isn't that easy to find the address on your own. as soon as we got there we realised there's no staff there (you have to call and ask for someone to go there in case you want to check in or check out) lucky us a couple of ladies were leaving that day and they got to talk to someone at the head office earlier that day so we finally check in then we were noticed that we have to go to the head office if we wanted to pay by card (we took a cab and it was 10.000 pesos). we stayed in the room right next to the kitchen and that has a share bathroom which was a bit dirty by the time we arrived but it's ok it was like 4pm the really bad thing about the bathroom is the shower it will let out just a tiny amount of water.

kitchen was fully furnished in case you wanna cook any meal, fan worked fine too, but I found that place gets really hot during the day and keeps the house even hotter at night. so if wanna go there after a day at the beach to have a shower and feel fresher you better stay anywhere else. our mattress was broken-down and the linen looked stained. after all these we have to acknowledge this is a budget hostel but the other 2 were too and found them a bit better.

convient location (15 minute walk to restaurants shops and bars)
cheap accommodation
fully furnished kitchen
you have a safe to leave all your valuable belongings
ba aware you will have to take care of 4 different keys
they do have wifi but it goes in and out the whole time (internet isn't that good in san andres)
*room key
*fence key
*main door key
*safe's key

Room Tip: I didn't see any other room but the one next to the kitchen is a nightmare you'll hear noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016

The benefit-cost ratio in this hostel is really good. The rooms are clean, with a nice size and with TV and cable, but nothing fancy. It's a short walk from the center of San Andrés, like 10 minutes, and we found it quite safe.

It's true there is no reception and no-one there, but we knew this and got there with all the info we needed. Our plane got there around 22h and we had to ring the bell a few times before a lady upstairs came down, but there was no problem at all. She showed us the room and we did the check in the next morning. (Just be aware that there are more than one Sheylla's; we are talking about the Sheylla's Place).

Also note that if you are coming at night, the sign on the door is fading away and it was hard to read it, for a moment we thought we had the wrong address, you have to look carefully. We also tried to phone them the day before and tell them we would arrive late at night, but nobody contested. Despite that, we faced no problems at all.

It's no 5-stars hotel, obviously, but if you are looking for a clean place to stay for a fair price, that's the deal. I would come back.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Natalia131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

The location is nice. You can see the place from the main avenue and it is a 15 minute walk from the city center. Everything else is bad. The cleanliness is terrible: there was sand all over the bathroom day after day, dry pee on the toilet. The room we stayed had enough space for the 2 beds and that was all. You could barely put your luggage inside the room and still be able to walk. The bedrooms are separated from the main living room just for a very thin wooden wall that blocks no sound whatsoever. Whenever there were folks having a good time in the main room, we felt like they were almost inside our bedroom. If you want to close the windows to block some of the noise that comes also from the street, you will feel like inside a stove. Apart from that, the staff was very considerate in the beginning, but after we complained about a few things, they simply started ignoring us. Also, they are never around, which means you don't have a local to ask for directions, tips and this kind of stuff. Finally, some of the guests that we met there left the place and gave us some food that they have left, use their oil and salt, etc. We were baffled when most of these things, including some coffee, were gone after the owner visited the place to give the keys to new guests. For the price they charge, I am sure you can find something at least slightly better than this place. Ah, and if you depend on the internet to work, be aware that it keeps losing connection constantly. So yeah, wi-fi is also bad.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank PedroRSilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Fredy R, Owner at Sheylla's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015
Google Translation

Es injusto, q justo usted fue la persona mas desaseada esos dias, sea usted quien se queje de esto, los otros huéspedes se me quedaron por su desaseo, que irónica es la vida.

Gracias a Dios pocos como usted vienen a nuestros Hostels/Posadas, porque la gran mayoría son huéspedes decentes y aseados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

It's certainly a great place if you're looking for budget accommodation. Pretty close to the airport and about 20min. walk to the town centre. Rooms reflect the price you pay for, as well as the other parts of the property, simple, but quite clean and a very friendly atmosphere. The owners are very nice people and invited us to spend a day at Casona, which is another property of theirs.
We had to share the bathroom, but it worked well for the given circumstances. Sheylla's Place is good value for money and everything is welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FC-IDEAL-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at Sheyllas place. Beautiful room with sea view, a very nice comfortable lounge area and lovely staff! And all for a very reasonable price as accomadation in San Andres is not cheap. Johnfryer the owner and all the staff that worked there were really friendly and answered any questions we had. San Andres is beautiful and would not hesitate to stay there again if were lucky enough to go back.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room at the front!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Andres
10.2 km away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 43 in San Andres Island
461 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 29 in San Andres
244 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites
1 km away
Posada Lizard House
Posada Lizard House
#47 of 101 in San Andres
61 reviews
0.1 km away
Posada Turistica Colors Of The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheylla's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheylla's Place

Address: Barrio Los Almendros Manzana 4 Casa 10, San Andres, San Andres Island 005780, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island > San Andres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in San Andres
Price Range: €27 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sheylla's Place 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheylla's Place is a warm and friendly guesthouse that welcomes travelers from all over the world. Located 5 minutes from the International Airport Gustavo Rojas Pinilla, Sheylla's Place is a Tourist Inn with spacious rooms. We offer some additional services, as:- Transfer service from Airport to our House and vice versa.- Motorcycle Scooter Rent Service.- All around the Island trip Service.- Kayak Adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Sheylla's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing