We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
86
24
10
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
24
10
0
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The benefit-cost ratio in this hostel is really good. The rooms are clean, with a nice size and with TV and cable, but nothing fancy. It's a short walk from the center of San Andrés, like 10 minutes, and we found it quite safe.

It's true there is no reception and no-one there, but we knew this and got there with all the info we needed. Our plane got there around 22h and we had to ring the bell a few times before a lady upstairs came down, but there was no problem at all. She showed us the room and we did the check in the next morning. (Just be aware that there are more than one Sheylla's; we are talking about the Sheylla's Place).

Also note that if you are coming at night, the sign on the door is fading away and it was hard to read it, for a moment we thought we had the wrong address, you have to look carefully. We also tried to phone them the day before and tell them we would arrive late at night, but nobody contested. Despite that, we faced no problems at all.

It's no 5-stars hotel, obviously, but if you are looking for a clean place to stay for a fair price, that's the deal. I would come back.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Natalia131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

The location is nice. You can see the place from the main avenue and it is a 15 minute walk from the city center. Everything else is bad. The cleanliness is terrible: there was sand all over the bathroom day after day, dry pee on the toilet. The room we stayed had enough space for the 2 beds and that was all. You could barely put your luggage inside the room and still be able to walk. The bedrooms are separated from the main living room just for a very thin wooden wall that blocks no sound whatsoever. Whenever there were folks having a good time in the main room, we felt like they were almost inside our bedroom. If you want to close the windows to block some of the noise that comes also from the street, you will feel like inside a stove. Apart from that, the staff was very considerate in the beginning, but after we complained about a few things, they simply started ignoring us. Also, they are never around, which means you don't have a local to ask for directions, tips and this kind of stuff. Finally, some of the guests that we met there left the place and gave us some food that they have left, use their oil and salt, etc. We were baffled when most of these things, including some coffee, were gone after the owner visited the place to give the keys to new guests. For the price they charge, I am sure you can find something at least slightly better than this place. Ah, and if you depend on the internet to work, be aware that it keeps losing connection constantly. So yeah, wi-fi is also bad.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank PedroRSilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Fredy R, Owner at Sheylla's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015
Google Translation

Es injusto, q justo usted fue la persona mas desaseada esos dias, sea usted quien se queje de esto, los otros huéspedes se me quedaron por su desaseo, que irónica es la vida.

Gracias a Dios pocos como usted vienen a nuestros Hostels/Posadas, porque la gran mayoría son huéspedes decentes y aseados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

It's certainly a great place if you're looking for budget accommodation. Pretty close to the airport and about 20min. walk to the town centre. Rooms reflect the price you pay for, as well as the other parts of the property, simple, but quite clean and a very friendly atmosphere. The owners are very nice people and invited us to spend a day at Casona, which is another property of theirs.
We had to share the bathroom, but it worked well for the given circumstances. Sheylla's Place is good value for money and everything is welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FC-IDEAL-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at Sheyllas place. Beautiful room with sea view, a very nice comfortable lounge area and lovely staff! And all for a very reasonable price as accomadation in San Andres is not cheap. Johnfryer the owner and all the staff that worked there were really friendly and answered any questions we had. San Andres is beautiful and would not hesitate to stay there again if were lucky enough to go back.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room at the front!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

stayed here for 7nights. the location is good, just on the edge of town and nearer some of the best places to eat, or you can cook in the kitchen. nice lounge area and you can hear the sea at night. John is a great host, always going out of his way for you, he very kindly drove me to hospital and helped me to see a doctor. He makes you feel like you are part of a family environment, rather than just a tourist. He will also help you with anything you want to do/see on the island. This is one of those rare places where you feel truly welcome and it certainly makes your stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julietatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews