We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old Time Breakfast”

Rodney's Bar-B-Que and Catering
Ranked #2 of 75 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We went to Rodney's for breakfast and we really, really enjoyed our breakfast items. The biscuits were light and fluffy, the grits were very creamy with butter, and the pecan pancakes were great! One of our members thought she didn't like breakfast, but this meal changed her opinion. We will be going back again and will try the brisket for another meal!

Thank JonquilCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy D, Owner at Rodney's Bar-B-Que and Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

You can never go wrong with breakfast! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we're thrilled to know we delivered during your visit. We hope to see you again soon. We'll save some brisket for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2018

In an age of chain restaurants and fast food, Rodney's is a welcome oasis for the Southern foodie for numerous reasons.

1) The food is outstanding. Delicious, homemade food in generous portion sizes. We went for breakfast: the pancake griddle (a sandwich with pancakes instead of bread) was fantastic. My chicken portion was huge. The food was delicious; I also had tater tots and sampled both house and sweet barbecue sauce with it. Both sauces were fantastic; the house is a little spicier, slightly more vinegary, but both were great.

2) The atmosphere is quality. Don't expect anything super fancy: the napkins are paper towel rolls, the silverware is given to you in unsealed ziploc bags, the food is served on plastic plates, the chairs and booths are what you'd expect in a family restaurant (but they were totally comfortable), and the decor consists of half local business advertisements and half Cracker Barrel-style old tin signs. Country music was playing, and most of the customers in the restaurant were locals who knew one another. Many of those coming in were greeted by the servers by name.

3) Dessert. It deserves its own section. The cake selection at this place is amazing (they also do special order cakes); see the pictures. I had the peanut butter pie, which was great, and the holy cow cake; you can probably figure out why it has that name.

4) Great daily specials: everything from lasagna to spaghetti to fried catfish to bacon-wrapped steak. The prices are reasonable: not the cheapest place in town, but definitely on the cheaper side.

5) Service is satisfactory. It probably took a good four minutes of wait time between being seated a server coming to us, but Sissy did a fine job when she got to us. I drink a lot, so she gave me a big cup and was pretty on top of filling it. Rodney's has its own little time zone; don't come here in a hurry (or if you are, order your food to go, which you can do online via their website). Come here to sit and enjoy it for a spell.

Breakfast runs till noon everyday, just FYI.

6) The community. Rodney's was collecting goods for a pregnancy center in their lobby, and they had little paper sheets at each table advertising one or two upcoming community events. It's clear to see that the crew at Rodney's is interested in more than turning a profit: they are part of the New Hope/Dallas community, and want to contribute to it.

If you're looking for cavier, or a low-cal, or red wine, you might want to head elsewhere. If you want local flavor, remarkably delicious food from start to finish, and a little breathing room, Rodney's is is a welcome spot.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy D, Manager at Rodney's Bar-B-Que and Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Zack,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We strive to offer our guests a quality dining experience from our atmosphere, to the dishes we serve, and the level of customer service we provide. We're thrilled to have hit the mark during your time with us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Rodney’s NEVER disappoints anyone. They have great food and lots of it with great service no matter what meal you eat. We arrived from WA State on Easter Sunday so they were closed. Our next chance was Friday for the bacon wrapped steak special which was perfect. Of course Saturday night we had to go for catfish too. Smokey flavored meat with any sides you want. Can’t wait until next time!

Thank Kimmie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy D, Manager at Rodney's Bar-B-Que and Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hello Kimmie,

Thank you so much for the positive review and five-star rating! We're pleased to hear that you not only appreciate our food but our service as well! We thank you again and we look forward to serving you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
435
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Outstanding breakfast with many options, good quality, good price.
On only 3 trips, dinner has been okay. Service has been more 5s than 3s.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy D, Owner at Rodney's Bar-B-Que and Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We strive to offer our guests a quality dining experience from the dishes we serve to the level of customer service we provide. We're thrilled to have given you a taste of that during your time with us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

The first thing that you noticed when you walk through the door is the thick smell of smoke, that would be my only negative about this place.
Another noteworthy experience was the fact that their baked potatoes had a smoky flavor to them just not my cup of tea.
I had a filet mignon wrapped in bacon it was a good size it was cooked nicely and it had a good flavor although it was smoked. Our service was good and the overall experience was good.

Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rodney's Bar-B-Que and Catering also viewed

 

Been to Rodney's Bar-B-Que and Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing