We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating and helpful couple.”
Review of Kilshanny House

Kilshanny House
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Kilshanny
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Friendly, family run business offering delicious home cooked food, a great pint and surprising creative events! Get off the beaten track to a family run rustic village Inn. Sample the flavour of our local village hospitality, warmly welcomed by Ban An Ti, Guiness, home baking, Caint agus craic!
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We were in the area and doing some geneology work to find my husband's ancestoral home. Aidan drew us a map of exactly where we needed to go and we had the most delicious meal of our trip to Ireland. Very special people!

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhonjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2015

I visited Kilshanny House with relatives and friends some time in September.
Some ordered tea, while most ordered coffee The tea and coffee was being paid for by a person who invited the group in who had come a long distance for a special occasion to Kilshanny

One elderly lady was tired, and asked me to order the coffee for her
The lady proprietor said in a very loud voice who is paying for that.
I mentioned the person who had asked the group in was paying for all the tea & Coffee.

The proprietor had a copy book and pen writing down every cup of coffee that was taken from the counter giving the impression right away that she trusted no body.

To me it was not a very professional way to do business, surely to God there must be some other way of doing business, especial the occasion that these people were in her premises, and to which she was very much aware of.

The impression she gave to most of these people was that she was having a very bad day, which was not of there making.
When all they wanted was tea & coffee which definitely was going to be paid for, and some of these people even ordered a drink so it is not that they were siting in the premises taking up seats and spending nothing.

The coffee cups were extremely small, and asking for assistance as to where the sugar and milk was, Was a complete compliment.
Then the lady proprietor took off into her private residence, leaving us having to ask the bar man what we would do with the ware, to which we had already cleared all tables and stacked them on the counter.

Some of these people in the group had a good knowledge of Kilshanny House,
and had the history of Kilshanny far more than the proprietors ever had.
Some of these people knew the locals, and they in return were known by them. .

Kilshanny is a rural area where every one knows every one. It is an extremely friendly area with very friendly people

But when one enters Kilshanny House one would get the impression that they were in a different part of the world, especially if there is no local person in the bar.

As the proprietors lack friendless and hospitality that fits in with that lovely rural area.
The lady proprietor would want to do a course on how to have more hospitality and get rid of her copy book and pen and offer a better cead mile failte if she wants people to re-visit her premises.

Because it is a true and an old saying, it is locals that keeps a business going, as Tourists just come and go.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank bhog2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

One of my favorite meals during our 2 weeks in Ireland. Mary and her husband make everything homemade and the best brown bread of all! They are lovely people and great cooks!

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank momitchell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

After visiting the cliffs of Moher, we were looking for a place to have lunch and we chose this one because of tripadvisor reviews. It was a great choice ! The food is tasty, refined, nicely presented and comes from organic/local sources. The people running the place are very nice and we had a good chat with them. Also: free wifi and good espresso coffee ! Couldn't recommend more.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank OlivierLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We read the excellent reviews and as we were visiting the region, we decided to check it out and we weren't disappointed! The food was delicious (Aidan's bread is just amazing), Mary's dessert was heavenly, and we appreciated the fact that they used local, organic products, with an Irish touch to it. The staff was very friendly, too, great people who most certainly love what they do! I would recommend this place without a doubt.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RomanticBohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilshanny House also viewed

 
Lahinch, County Clare
Lisdoonvarna, The Burren
 

Been to Kilshanny House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing