We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
8
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate covered strawberries trail mix sitting area delilah wineries dahlonega linens
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

I can’t say enough about The Ava House! What a wonderful stay we had this Labor Day weekend! Delilah and Mike were such warm hosts, their hospitality was amazing. They were kind enough to accommodate us for an early, early check out, and Delilah prepared such a delicious breakfast❤️we truly can not wait to return to this beautiful B&B.....and by the way, the decor is just gorgeous the cleanliness is top notch!!! Thank you again to Delilah and Mike!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We are parents of 2 UNG students and had a busy weekend planned for college drop offs. We decided to try AVA House after less than stellar hotel options in Dahlonega during previous stays and a recommendation from another UNG parent we met along the way. To say we were pleased would not even begin to describe our experience.

We arrived and were immediately greeted by Mike and Delilah. We were given a tour of the beautiful home and offered wine, beer, and a snack. We had to quickly change and head back out for obligations and really appreciated the meat and cheese tray and drink to wind down. I even took the time to take a bath with a bath bomb that completely changed my day! When we got back from dinner we had chocolate covered strawberries waiting in our room to welcome us. The room was extremely comfortable with each and every need addressed. Absolutely beautiful and comfortable place to stay and sleep!

The next morning we had an early start with obligations at the college. Delilah fixed us breakfast to go which was far better than anything we'd get driving through fast food. We didn't expect breakfast due to our early schedule, but again the service was above and beyond. Our children were even invited back to spend time with us at the B&B and Delilah fixed breakfast for one of our daughters on our last day. This was certainly beyond anything that we would have asked for or expected.

Overall, the attention to detail in the decorating, service, and accommodation is not like anything I've ever experienced. The owners are delightful and we felt like friends, chatting on the front porch, after only a few hours. Having to drop our 2 daughters off at college was certainly an emotional experience, but being able to stay in such a wonderful place made it feel like a bit of a getaway as well. I can't say enough about our stay here and would certainly recommend and even urge you to make this your go-to accommodations when visiting anywhere in the vicinity. You will not be disappointed!! I can't wait to go back and make sure I have more time to spend at the B&B and less rushing around!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

My wife and I traveled from Charleston, SC for a wedding in Dahlonega over the weekend. We arrived late and Mike & Delilah welcomed us like we were arriving in the middle of the afternoon. We were given a brief tour, greeted with wine, cheese and candles. Quite the way to unwind after a long trip. Before we turned in, Delilah took our breakfast order (I say that loosely, she was interested if we had an allergies).

Our room was fantastic for the evening, comfortable bed, great temperature and the bed was phenomenal. The next morning we awoke to french press, a yogurt parfait with lavender honey, lemon ricotta pancakes and scrambled eggs with spinach. Uh, yum. Delilah was such a fantastic cook, we expected her to be a retired chef. However, she just "loves breakfast". The second evening was the same as the first, greeted with wine, cheese and music (great playlist). As you guessed it, our breakfast the second morning was just as good as the first. Eggs Benedict and a mango puree topped with granola.

The conversation from Delilah and Mike (as well as the service) throughout the weekend was fantastic. The accommodations are also amazing but, the attention they pay to their guests (and our furry child) were top notch. The house is also located next to several falls and wineries as well as Dahlonega which makes it a fantastic choice. We feel like we made new friends and were "home" for the weekend. We are so in love with this B&B-We'll definitely be visiting AVA again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We enjoyed every bit of our stay at this hidden gem. My husband and I are frequent travelers. However, this was our first bed and breakfast stay, and let's just say we may be ruined for all others after this. This was a last minute getaway for some much needed relaxation. Delilah and Mike were more than helpful with suggestions about what to do in the area and where to eat. Their attention to quality, service, and presentation felt four-star with everything, from the stylish instagram worthy decor to the complimentary afternoon wine and cheese cocktail hours.

We love nature so we got to admired the morning birds while eating breakfast on the porch. Breakfast was always fresh and yummy [ we had stuffed french toast, bacon, peaches and cream parfait, eggs with a spinach scramble, juice, mimosas, and coffee]. With regards to our room [the Azalea room] it was very spacious even with a king size bed, and looked like something out of a magazine. We looked around at the hotels in the area, but they seemed dated and basic for the romantic weekend we wanted. Snacks, drinks, and linens were refreshed daily in our rooms, as well.

One of the biggest features... here is you get the full royal treatment. On one of our hiking days Delilah surprised us by making us trail mix [spicy mix for my hubby and normal for me] and packing water. We even came back after from the long day of hiking in the Georgia heat to chocolate covered strawberries, beer [for my husband], and white wine [for me] waiting for us.

Within the home.... are two sitting rooms in the front and one in the back where the kitchen is. There is a nice sized dining area for those who like breakfast inside. Also there is an upstairs sitting area with coffee/ tea maker, snacks, and ice maker for your general use. Things overall were spotless, and the grounds were nicely manicured (You can even see fireflies in the evening over the garden).

The location..... is very near to Dahlonega, Gainesville, Atlanta, and Helen. We came for the state parks and views, but there are many wineries also in the area.

We were nervous before we came about booking so last minute, and especially since this place seemed to be new and had few reviews. However, we left feeling quite pampered, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

As for any cons....for us there were none. We would say this place is ideal for travelers looking for a quiet retreat like a couple's getaway, an anniversary, quality time with girlfriends, or even wedding parties (as it's very photogenic). That said, If you're a family worried about entertaining many young kids while you're traveling in the area you might prefer one of the nearby hotels with a pool or something more little more kid focused.

Room Tip: The Azalea room only offers a shower with a built in seat great for elderly
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Stayed the weekend to celebrate a birthday and Delilah and Mike could not have made the experience any better. Breakfast was excellent. The house is decorated beautifully with calm and soothing colors. The bed and linens were first rate. Snacks, water and coffee were always available. Enjoyed sitting in swing on front porch with a glass of wine just to unwind from city life. Will definitely recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebrewer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews