We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Reviewed 14 August 2017

From the get go, it was not as friendly as I am use to. i first thought it I felt that way because I was tired. I soon realized my feelings were right. Any time we had interaction with the staff there was short and some times aggressive answers. When we decided to end our stay short , when I let them know that the reason we were in the area ended soon then expected and I was told I would still have to pay for that night. I really didn't have a problem with that except for the rude tune. Matters got worse when I was charged for the 2 original nights AND additional charge for 1 night stay. When I called to clear it up, I was told it was my banks fault, IT WAS NOT my bank stated it was them that was trying to send both charges though. Thankfully the one charge did not go though.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Mrs. Ewing,
Per our conversation, and I have consulted with Corporate as well, I have explained as best I can to your situation. I am sorry you feel any inconvenience at all with your stay at our property.
However, you decided to check out early well after the check out period to receive a refund. As I have explained, you were only charged the 2 night fee. There was no other charge. The 3rd fee you are referring to is an authorization the card institution placed on your card and as I asked you, you did agree that it said "pending" in your account. We always charge at check in, not authorize. Therefore, I explained that authorization will should disappear within 1-3 business days. At that point, it is up to the Credit/Debit Card Institution to release your funds. I had also advised if you still did not see the release within a few days to call me back so I may work with your institution to release your funds.
Again, I apologize for any inconvenience you felt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank U2252IWnicolea
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Have stayed there numerous times over the years. Recently refurbished, bed very comfortable. Staff at desk very efficient and friendly. Will continue to stay at hojo whenever in Winter Haven.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us when you're in the area. We appreciate your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Older hotel. Room has older type under window A.C. Room smelled faintly of damp/mold. Room was clean except the dirty washcloth draped over the shower curtain the house keeper must have missed. Towel in bathroom had rust? stains on it. No water pressure in shower. Bed and pillows were super comfortable. Continental breakfast was good.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I will talk with housekeeping to make sure this does not happen again. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are making changes throughout our property. We hope you'll give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank vidst2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Haven
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
247 reviews
0.1 km away
Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
4.4 km away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
947 reviews
10.2 km away
Best Western Auburndale Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Address: 1300 3rd St SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880-3913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range: €64 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Winter Haven is an older property that has been renovated. We offer smoking or non-smoking standard rooms with a 1 King/Queen bed or 2 Queen beds with a mini-fridge, coffe maker, flat screen TV, and free WIFI. The property also has an outdoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast, and a family restaurant located off the lobby area. Howard Johnson is only 3.5 miles away from Legoland, and only a short walk or drive to many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Howard Johnson Winter Haven
Winter Haven Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing