We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Unprofessional and Way Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Where to start, how about with the staff folding laundry on the dining tables. Gross. Our room was a pets allowed room and only had a child's table and chairs (chair height 14", see photo of my husband looking like a giant) and I was given a really hard time when I requested 2 adult sized chairs from the conference room - which they first denied having, until I walked down the hall and pulled them out of the room - the conference room door was shut and locked the next day. Never did get any type of adult height desk or table. The bed height was 6" higher than standard (to discourage pets from jumping on the bed?) You don't realize how used to a standard bed height you are until it's different.
I can't believe we stayed the whole week. This part of Florida is pretty bad, there really aren't many choices when you are traveling with a dog. Many of the hotels have low income families living in them. A mental health facility and probation offices are right nearby so. . .
I am giving 2 stars - one for the very clean, refreshing and uncrowded pool and the for the brand new WaWa right next door.

The attached bar/restaurant was closed and being renovated when we were here, it appears open now. We did not stay at this hotel this year, but we drove by.

I am really surprised that Howard Johnson's lets a property operate like this with their name on it. I always thought HoJo's were fairly nice for the money, but this one was really lacking. A light blinked eerily on and off all night, every night, even after bringing it to the attention of the desk.

An old indian woman with a cane pounded angrily on the glass door (with her cane) for me to let her in from the pool area and was mad that I wouldn't. Um, if you have your family living in your hotel maybe you should make sure they have keys. I don't know this person, I'm not letting them in, cane or not. I did let the desk know she was there.

Litter, including soiled disposable diapers, remained in the parking lot for days.

And last but not least, the tap water really smelled of rotten eggs/sewerage. I don't know if this is just the usual for this area, as I only stayed here. We had to buy a case of bottled water to brush our teeth and for drinking and dreaded the smell of the shower water. The pool water didn't smell though, so that was nice.

All in all, a very depressing place to stay. Would not recommend.


j

Room Tip: Look at the room you'll be staying in first to see if it
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winnifred n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are located in the business/medical district that is close in walking distance or a short drive to any medical facility, restaurant, or shopping. Our restaurant is always open except for Mondays. Our property is undergoing renovations throughout the year. We do not "house" any families and we do not discriminate against anyone who would like to stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Staff very friendly. Clean rooms nice size.. they were doing so renovations but nothing to bad.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank rebeccamA1427GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are still undergoing renovations throughout our property. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I had booked this hotel for three nights in April. When I made good time traveling from New Hampshire to Florida, I called to add-on two nights earlier.After being in the room for a couple of hours, I laid down on the bed. I immediately had bugs itching my arms and saw a bug on the bed. I brought it to the front desk and was told by the woman working that it was a roach. She said that she would have to call Orkin. I told her that I would like to get my debit card refunded for the two first days that I paid her and called Bookings.com to cancel my reservation for the following days. I received a cancellation notice from them. It says cancelled without charge. The followinf morning I called the hotel to speak with management which I was told to do by the desk person, to get my credit. I was told that I was causing trouble and that they were going to call the police on me if I showed up for the refund. . I still don't know if I ever got the monies because it takes some time to show up on my card. The worst experience that I have ever had at a hotel. I wound up paying much more at another hotel, but it didn't have any bugs.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

I'm sorry to hear you were not satisfied during your stay. We did have Orkin out to run an inspection and found no bugs. I'll speak with the staff to make sure they are conducting themselves in a professional manner and giving out correct information. If you would like to discuss this further, please call me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Decent room with 'free' wifi. The staff is mostly good, especially Heidi. But the management is horrible. Their billing practices are questionable at best. My CC was, in my opinion, charged inappropriately, and they won't admit it. I'd never go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 846jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Mr. Petrie,
Thank you for staying with us the past several weeks. As I have gone over your credit card statements with you, the charges for your stays are accurate and complete. The holds to your account have been expired before your checkout date on 4/17. That was up to your credit card company as I've explained. I'm sorry you're not happy with this process, but it is the same process many other hotels use.
I will pass on your comment to Heidi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

I called here after turning around from the other place I had my reservation at, nice clean rooms, bathrooms are up to date, new carpet, nice breakfast and they even have a restaurant. I will definitely stay again. Great customer service.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lupercio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for your response to our property. We are still making many changes throughout the property. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Haven
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
244 reviews
0.1 km away
Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
4.4 km away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
895 reviews
10.5 km away
Best Western Auburndale Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Address: 1300 3rd St SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880-3913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range: €59 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Winter Haven is an older property that has been renovated. We offer smoking or non-smoking standard rooms with a 1 King/Queen bed or 2 Queen beds with a mini-fridge, coffe maker, flat screen TV, and free WIFI. The property also has an outdoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast, and a family restaurant located off the lobby area. Howard Johnson is only 3.5 miles away from Legoland, and only a short walk or drive to many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Howard Johnson Winter Haven
Winter Haven Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing