We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
7
11
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
11
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfacilitiesbodymudbathsrainforest
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We chose this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I booked 1 night some days in advance and informed the hotel that we would arrive before lunchtime. I booked lunch, dinner and breakfast for the following day as well. When we arrived we were told that lunch would be a bit later as the manager Dave had to go to town to get us some freh fish. We had lunch at 15.30 hours! Sandwiches.... Dave would make it up to us by promising us he would prepare an excellent fish dinner for the evening. We had to be present at 19.00 hours! Dave served us pasta with vegetables and frozen shrimps, followed by icecream.
The next morning we had instant coffee and an omelette. The price we had to pay for the food was much too high: per person 40$ for dinner, 20$ for lunch and 10$ for breakfast.
Although the location is like a dream, the resort looked run down. For our cabin we were promised an hamac, it never came. The bed did not have sheets, just a duvet which was not very clean. Dave talked about feeling in balance, we felt cheated!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank debraakfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I stayed at the Rainforest Shangri-La for two nights with my fiance and I will begin by saying that it was an exceptionally beautiful experience. Nature completely surrounds these well-crafted cabins. We loved the complementary yoga and the ability to roam the valley and bathe in the sulfur tubs. We were given the tip to go for a guided hike (3hours round trip) up a river to a hidden water fall. The scenery on the hike was absolutely breathtaking, the hike itself was challenging but rewarding, and our guide was excellent. It beat the pants off the Emerald Pool - even before the hundreds of cruise-shippers showed up.

The owners made us feel very at home and we typically ate our meals together, like a large family. I thought the rest of the service was great too. The staff is Genuinely friendly and anxious to help. Example : the woman who prepared our room (Pauly) introduced herself within an hour and pointed us in the direction of her cabin where she could be found if we needed anything. The other guest and the two resident guests were also very friendly and provided some stimulating conversation.

Staying here does mean that you need to rough it a bit more than in a conventional hotel. It is true that the "windows" are not enclosed which allows you to fall asleep to all the jungle critters making their music. It also makes any attempt to lock the door futile which wasn't an issue for me. In fact I believe that that layer of trust benefited the interactions I had with the owners and staff. However I could see how this could be an issue for some people and perhaps having a safe or two on the resort would make some sense. Walking back from the cabin after dinner was a little scary the first night even with our flashlight but we pushed on and were rewarded by seeing the brightest stars I've ever seen from land. I wasn't bit by a single bug while I was there, mosquito or otherwise. Fred, one of the owners, told us that the sulfur keeps them away. Maybe I have a strange sense of smell, but I didn't find the sulfur offensive. It wasn't the kind of rotting-egg smell you typically associate with sulfur. I thought it was much more of an earthy, almost incense oder. Now of course the sulfur-rich air corrodes most of the exposed metal in the facilities which can be somewhat unsightly but they function fine and aren't unpleasant to the touch. Most importantly, the structures on the property are well built and sustainably conceived so I wasn't brought down by that constant nagging feeling of contributing to something detrimental to the world. Example: It seems to me that the primary method for supplying running water to the cabins is gravity. No big pumps and plumbing risers here. However this rather primitive system required some attention when we first checked in. Which brings me back to how good the service was: "I will not sleep until you have running water" reassured me and we had enough for a shower that night and by the next day was at full strength.

Staying here was truly a memorable experience I would not trade.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newnnewn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

This rustic resort is food for the mind, body, and soul. Here you can let your worries and stress from the humdrum of every day melt away. The relaxing hot spring tubs, yoga classes, peaceful surroundings of nature, and the great food make this place a wonderful get away.

I stayed for a week and being American it was at first hard for me to let go of the fast pace world I come from. But after a few days I felt like a new person. The resort literally pulses with energy both from nature and the staff. Every meal was catered to my liking and served in an open air dining room.

The accommodations were adequate. Dont expect TVs, air-conditioning, or other such luxuries. Frankly you don't need them. The cabins are there for purposes of sleeping and bathing. They each have a hammock, table, fans, lighting, closets, and beds with mosquito netting. It is cool at night and breezy during the day, so you will need a cover at night and will be comfortable during the day.

The surrounding area is full of eco-tourism, spa's, rivers, hot springs, and there is even a nearby chiropractor.

Overall this is a wonderful and relaxing place, that will leave you feeling purified from all the stress in your life.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prismatic_Wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Our stay at Shangri-La was memorable in every way. The staff is helpful, friendly, sincere, and charming. They always went out of there way to help us in every way. The food was "fine dinning" and catered to our preferences, for us, we had vegetarian meals. The landscape was breathtaking with beautiful walking trails, gorgeous scenery, hot springs, a beautiful river, complete calmness, and the list goes on. The 17 acre property has much to offer including a challenging hike, beautiful trees, nature sounds, yoga every morning, Qi Gong, crystal bowl healing, massage therapist on staff... If you want to stay in a comfortable cabin to relax, connect with nature, connect with yourself, heal your body, or go on a personal journey it is the place to be. We highly recommend staying at Shangri-La. If you are like us, you will know you will return for a second visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taly2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

I happened across this place while traveling in the Caribbean and it is the highlight of my entire trip.
Individual cabins seem to grow straight from the earth and are strewn throughout a maze of Roseau Cane that disperses the suns ray’s into a dance of light. This is a unique and wonderful place. You cannot help but be transported to another level of consciousness while here. The sounds, the secluded-openness, hot springs and the most amazing river! Stay for at least a week if you can. It takes a couple of nights to adjust to sleeping in such intimacy with nature. Once comfortable with the sounds you slip deeper into connection with natural rhythms, your body remembers that it belongs on this earth. This place is sound/ energy/ vibration healing: chi-gong, watsu, yoga, massage and the land itself. I can’t wait to return to refuel on the joy and ease I found there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thur0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews