We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International French haute cuisine for foodies”
Review of Casa Roots

Casa Roots
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

Popped in for lunch after a bit of emergency Christmas shopping in St John’s.

Casa Roots is an oasis of charm and tranquility by comparison to the zoo that St John’s can be on market day.

Was greeted by the lovely Nadine and felt so very welcome.

Dealt with emergency tier 4 news from UK via the restaurants reliable WiFi. Was hard to concentrate on growing family crisis as the most beautiful aromas escaped the kitchen.
And then suddenly as if by magic all was resolved.

Menus were then salivated over and their excellent rosé St Andre de Figere was ordered which in my opinion is a far more balanced and delicious wine than the Minuty.

The kitchen is sublime and very ably commanded by the Gallic and very effable Sylvain.

We ate iterations of wahoo, tuna and mahi mahi. Stunning explosions of haute cuisine for the modern palate.

Go there but be prepared to leave a tiny, little, incey wincey piece of your heart there.

Bravo!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank MikeyCLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2020

We went as a group of 6 for sunday lunch, not you usual Sunday lunch mind, this is French cuisine. We walked from our house to Casa Roots, about a 10 minute stroll in the sun and the first thing I have to mention is signage. Not good enough guys get a better more noticeable one, ASAP. When we walk into the premises we were taken aback how lovely it was, right on the beach, nice grounds and the furniture and ambiance were perfect for a fine dining establishment. We were seated quickly and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We ordered drinks while we studied the menu and they arrived very quickly. The menu is very extensive, not too much though, and had something everyone could eat, vegetarians catered for as well as meat and fish lovers. We only had starters and main courses but we all agreed they were well prepared and well served and presented. The chef came to talk to us after and was very friendly. It was quite busy as it was a Sunday but we were served toot suite. It is a little pricey but worth it and nobody made us drink so much wine. I couldn't recommend it highly enough, if you are in Antigua give it a go but I would advise you to book a table first. And guys do something about the awful signage, it must be costing you money.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JonathanDWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

Amazing food, beautiful sunset views and fantastic hospitality. Highly recommend it to anyone in the area or even worth making the trip!

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HarrietG145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020

I went to Casa Roots Dec. 2019. My friend and I had the salad which was fantastic. The service was excellent. The restaurant itself is lovely. We enjoyed it so much that we went back the following week and had the same meal. During my next trip to Antigua I'll definitely visit them again.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 13Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

Had a wonderful dinner at Casa Roots. The new restaurant is both lovely and delicious! The ahi tuna appetizer was excellent as was the octopus. Another fantastic restaurant to enjoy in Antigua!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank soccerweezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Roots also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Casa Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.