We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
31
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstana riverindian oceanbird watchingdunes lodgemade us feellodge managerboat rideswahili stylewonderful placeunique locationbarefoot luxuryendless beachcrabdelicious foodnatural materialskenyasand
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Off the beaten track, north of Malindi, then a boat ride on the Tana River, then to a dock, up many stairs to the top of a sand dune and the Lodge. It is a stunning place on the confluence of the sea and the river. The lodge is beautiful and the rooms perfectly decorated.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms, although having a beautiful view, are on the top of a dune and therefore very, very windy.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PosieManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn H, Director of Sales at H12 Delta Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Hello PosieManila,

Thank you for your review. We would love to know what we could do to make the experience better. Please feel free to contact us on bookings@deltadunes.co.ke. We value your feedback.


Best wishes,
Delta Dunes Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

This is one of most unusual and beautiful beach properties in the world. Our room was on top of a sand dune and we had beautiful and unspoilt views of the beach on one side and the tana delta on the other. The staff are excellent, and a special thank you to Kazungu who made us feel so welcome.

The beach is endless and with beautiful rock formations on one side. We had a super successful fishing trip in the river and caught enough fish for all guests and staff to eat for dinner!

The chef's cinnamon rolls were delicious and he generously gave me the recipe too!

There are a lot of steps to climb to get to the camp and also an uphill walk from the beach - but you get used to it pretty quickly!

Thank you to all the staff and I hope to be back soon and hopefully we'll get to see the leopard that we missed!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NehaDatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

We went to Delta Dunes to enjoy a very relaxing, silent and wonderful holiday. The rooms are completely open with no walls. The food was superb and the service was one of the best thatwe have enjoyed in Kenya. It has a lot of steps because the hotel is located on the top of the dune. The beach is super long and there is nothing. Very isolated area.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Jimenairobito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We visited here in October, we were a party of 8. Beautiful views our hut was perched on top of a sanddune with views of the valley and the sea,room beautifully furnished, lovely views from the base camp and spectular views. Lawrence and all the staff looked us so well and Daniel the chef superb,and nice touch of a cake for our friends anniversary, no prompting from any of our party. Whole team waved us off and we were sad to leave. The only thing I would say is website needs to be updated and information in rooms needs to be updated. We will be back and recommend to others to visit this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennieb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

This is so idyllic every room is open so you have a real feeling of being at "one with nature"
Lawrence and Daniel (Chef) are amazing, all the staff are nothing is a problem and they are all there to help you and make your stay as special as possible.
There were 8 in our party celebrating our friends anniversary and this was mentioned in an e-mail and Daniel baked a cake especially to help us celebrate. I love the way everything is built from the surrounding land it is truly a stunning place you must visit if you can you will not be dissappointed.

Room Tip: Stunning location
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews