We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
31
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tana river indian ocean bird watching dunes lodge made us feel lodge manager boat ride swahili style wonderful place unique location barefoot luxury endless beach delicious food natural materials kenya sand team
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2015

My visite was back in Summer 2012. A groupe of four adults and four teen boys. Fishing at sunrise and sundowners on the fishing boat or up on the hill. Great Beach, with Place for Beach sailing or biking, great Food fresh and delicious,very friendly and helpfull stuff, who does everything for you with a smile and it seems like at every time of the day. Waking up with no sound other than birds, the sea and sometimes apes...
For me is this the best hideaway place, when you are looking for sports, peace and relaxation.
Will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bettina143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

We spent Two nights in this paradise with other families over New Years Eve.
What a fantastic spot, put together simply, elegantly and very comfortably.
The staff were friendly and attentive, but not too familiar.
Service was excellent.
Lots to do, and a perfect match of Beach and Bush.
We will definitely go back - well done!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, and have different views. Nice to get one with a breeze.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Visited way back in 2010 hence this review is long overdue. It was a familiarization tour for me being a reservationist for Delta Dunes Lodge, Nairobi office. Accompanied by my then 2yr old daughter and a niece, we were picked from Malindi by the head guide Kazungu. The transfer by road took about 2.5hrs then another 20 minutes boat transfer.

Indeed Delta Dunes is the wild place by the sea. The lodge uniquely combining beach, river and bush to give you an unforgettable experience. There are many activities among them, boat cruises for sun-downers and bird and game spotting, kayaking, tubing, swimming, surfing & sand yachting.

I have no enough words for this great experience and am proud to be associated with the New African Territories team who make clients experiences memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 569Ruth569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The thought of a Swiss urban family staying in Bungalows without walls (just thatched roofs), 24/24h outdoors, in the middle of Kenya seemed strange to us, too. Or to say, we also had our doubts about it, especially as we are a Swiss urban family and it is not only the snakes that one thinks of as a threat before going to a trip to Africa... But, from the very first moment, we realised that our fears were in vain. We landed on a nearby air-strip and were welcomed by Ibrahim and Kombo who took us after 20 min boat drive to a place as close to paradise as it gets. Florian (the lodge manager) and his team were waiting for us and they all proved to be the most attentive hosts. We stayed 4 nights, waking up with the sun rising. Seeing the dawn without even having to lift your head from your bed is a wonderful way to start your day. So it turned out, that „no walls“ is something to recommend. The occasional visits by vervet monkeys were absolutely unproblematic and just added to the „out-door“ experience. Needles to say that one feels so protected by all the staff during the day and the askaris (watchmen) during the night, who are sure to leave you enough privacy. We would say that four days is an absolute minimum in the Tana Delta Dunes as there is so much to do, and so many great dishes to taste. Bird watching is an absolute highlight and the boat trips along the mangroves are a pleasure. We have been to several places in the world, but this place is unrivalled in number of species and distance to which you get to the birds. The knowledge of the guide was excellent, not only about the animals but also about the plants. Our two girls (10 and 13) enjoyed sand-yachting and fishing, while we were looking forward to the sun downers.
This is a place, which we can definitely recommend.
A very big thanks to all the team for the most wonderful time we had. We will never forget it and hope to come back!

Leila and Jean-Michel

Room Tip: They are all very special, so any choice is good!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What an amazing place - a boat ride or plane lands on the beach below the dunes, breezy accomodation with incredible views over swathes of the tana river delta and Africa. 5 star hotel standard food and service by lovely staff and the lodge manager florian. We've booked to go back, and want it all to ourselves! Ideal honeymoon, 50th and most wonderfully private and beautiful

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewAfriTerr, Guest Relations Manager at H12 Delta Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Fiona,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of Delta Dunes. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and the staff all look forward to hosting you again soon! Have a great 2014.
Kind regards, Kirsty and the team at Delta Dunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews