We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
31
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstana riverindian oceanbird watchingdunes lodgemade us feellodge managerboat rideswahili stylewonderful placeunique locationbarefoot luxuryendless beachcrabdelicious foodnatural materialskenyasand
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Visited way back in 2010 hence this review is long overdue. It was a familiarization tour for me being a reservationist for Delta Dunes Lodge, Nairobi office. Accompanied by my then 2yr old daughter and a niece, we were picked from Malindi by the head guide Kazungu. The transfer by road took about 2.5hrs then another 20 minutes boat transfer.

Indeed Delta Dunes is the wild place by the sea. The lodge uniquely combining beach, river and bush to give you an unforgettable experience. There are many activities among them, boat cruises for sun-downers and bird and game spotting, kayaking, tubing, swimming, surfing & sand yachting.

I have no enough words for this great experience and am proud to be associated with the New African Territories team who make clients experiences memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 569Ruth569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The thought of a Swiss urban family staying in Bungalows without walls (just thatched roofs), 24/24h outdoors, in the middle of Kenya seemed strange to us, too. Or to say, we also had our doubts about it, especially as we are a Swiss urban family and it is not only the snakes that one thinks of as a threat before going to a trip to Africa... But, from the very first moment, we realised that our fears were in vain. We landed on a nearby air-strip and were welcomed by Ibrahim and Kombo who took us after 20 min boat drive to a place as close to paradise as it gets. Florian (the lodge manager) and his team were waiting for us and they all proved to be the most attentive hosts. We stayed 4 nights, waking up with the sun rising. Seeing the dawn without even having to lift your head from your bed is a wonderful way to start your day. So it turned out, that „no walls“ is something to recommend. The occasional visits by vervet monkeys were absolutely unproblematic and just added to the „out-door“ experience. Needles to say that one feels so protected by all the staff during the day and the askaris (watchmen) during the night, who are sure to leave you enough privacy. We would say that four days is an absolute minimum in the Tana Delta Dunes as there is so much to do, and so many great dishes to taste. Bird watching is an absolute highlight and the boat trips along the mangroves are a pleasure. We have been to several places in the world, but this place is unrivalled in number of species and distance to which you get to the birds. The knowledge of the guide was excellent, not only about the animals but also about the plants. Our two girls (10 and 13) enjoyed sand-yachting and fishing, while we were looking forward to the sun downers.
This is a place, which we can definitely recommend.
A very big thanks to all the team for the most wonderful time we had. We will never forget it and hope to come back!

Leila and Jean-Michel

Room Tip: They are all very special, so any choice is good!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What an amazing place - a boat ride or plane lands on the beach below the dunes, breezy accomodation with incredible views over swathes of the tana river delta and Africa. 5 star hotel standard food and service by lovely staff and the lodge manager florian. We've booked to go back, and want it all to ourselves! Ideal honeymoon, 50th and most wonderfully private and beautiful

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewAfriTerr, Guest Relations Manager at H12 Delta Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Fiona,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of Delta Dunes. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and the staff all look forward to hosting you again soon! Have a great 2014.
Kind regards, Kirsty and the team at Delta Dunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was our second visit. The location is unique with the the endless beach and ocean on one side and the quiet and still waters of the delta on the other. The rooms are located on the dunes and are of a high standard. Food is excellent - fresh seafood every day. And if you want a buzz he sand yachting on the beach is thrilling. Unlike any other beach property in Kenya.

Room Tip: All of the bandas are fine. The main thing is do you want to face the open sea or face the other way and look up the quiet creeks.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewAfriTerr, Guest Relations Manager at H12 Delta Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Graham,
Thank you so much for taking time to write your thoughts about your stay at Delta Dunes - it is very much appreciated! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and enjoyed the fresh seafood! Come back in September for our Jumbo Prawns fresh from the sea ;) Thanks again and we hope to see you at Delta Dunes again soon.
Warm regards from the Delta Dunes team and Kirsty, New African Territories

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We came here to escape from the world and it was perfect! We had miles and miles of beach to ourself and the manager Florian was fantastic! Literally i don't think we could have chosen a more romantic or relaxing place to escape from the world! i have been to most of the beaches in Kenya and i have to say that Delta Dunes is BY FAR my favorite! :) thanks to the team for making our three nights just magical - we will be back!

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon which was incredible! :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewAfriTerr, Guest Relations Manager at H12 Delta Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Wow Pippa! We are blown away by your lovely thoughts and review. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay at Delta Dunes, and especially the honeymoon room :) Everyone at Delta Dunes hopes you will return one day soon! Thank you again for taking time to share your experience. Have a happy 2014!
Kind regards from Kirsty and the team at Delta Dunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews