We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and amenities right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Bilmar is a very welcoming hotel and has everything you could want -- poolside cafe (with delicious mahi tacos!), Sloppy Joe's Bar & Grill (the ideal place to watch the gorgeous Gulf coast sunsets), and the provision of beach chairs, beach towels (in the rooms -- in addition to a generous supply of bath towels), kayaks, etc. My only complaint was that our room (#228) was right next to the ice machine and it was constantly dumping ice out in the block hallway so the sound echoed very loudly. It was also a gathering spot for guests, so there was a lot of loud talk and laughing. Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience, and all of the staff were extremely gracious. We love how Treasure Island beach has been kept less commercial than so many beach areas; for example, none of the hotels are taller than five or six stories, so it doesn't look all crowded by huge buildings like Myrtle Beach. And the older mom and pop hotels along Gulf Boulevard are all very well kept up. We look forward to going back -- we will just make sure of our room location first!

Room Tip: NOT beside the ice machine
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bcshealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,146)
There are newer reviews for Bilmar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

We arrived a day late, nevertheless check in was a breeze. Erik was pleasant and friendly with the check in process. Our kids got little gifts (bag and ball) which they were delighted for. We also got $5 voucher to the café. We were in the Palms building overlooking the beach. Room was adequate, clean with a balcony – gorgeous for sunrise and sunset views overlooking one of the 2 pools. St. Pete’s was a bit hot and the ac did not cool as much as we’d like, in fact it did not spread throughout the room; only being there 2 nights we didn’t make an issue of it. We rode the bikes and strolled along the beach. The kids loved the slide on the beach and enjoyed the pool. Room is equipped with a fridge, stove and sink as well as cupboards. Location is good within walking distance of convenience stores and restaurants. Resort has daily resort fees. Streets are a bit busy and you can hear from your rooms. Parking can be an issue if you return late. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveller79Turks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Friendly staff, great location, nice amenities (pool, chairs, bikes, games). The room was clean, which is #1 for us. It's not a 5 star resort, but we didn't pay a 5 star price either. Certainly worth the price we paid, we would do it again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MWG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, Front Office Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MWG81,
We are delighted you enjoyed your vacation here at the Bilmar Beach Resort. We take great pride in guest service and clean facility. We hope you will return soon to experience the new changes here at the Bilmar beach resort. Sincerely, Michael Flowers – Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

The Bilmar definitely has that "Old Florida Charm" and I really wanted to like it more than I did. From the reviews we read prior to visiting we were excited about what this resort could offer. However, I was not overly impressed which is why I rated it average at best. Maybe it was because of our bad experience during arrival and checkin that set a bad first impression which diminished the quality of our stay, or it may have been the "resort fees" that just seem to be an added expense of what should already be included in your stay that turned me off. Either way, I was disappointed overall.

First, the positives. The hotel is convenient and has terrific beach front access. It's within walking distance of many great restaurants and things to do. Full size beach towels are great, as are the beach chairs and fun games like corn hole. The cafe onsite has great food and kids under 12 get free breakfast with an adult order if they choose something from the kids menu. The renovations being done are nice, but there still a lot of room for improvements.

Now for the negatives. Checkin was really disappointing. We had requested early arrival and sadly were not allowed in our room until after 6:30pm in the evening! Remember checkin is supposed to be 3pm normally. The desk clerk did offer us another room, but it was on the third floor directly above Sloppy Joes & the pool with little to no view and definitely not what we pre-paid in advance for. So, we were forced to wait until after 6:30pm for our request room to be ready. They did allow us a delayed checkout of 1 hour, but that didn't really equal the time we should have been given. Also, the resort fees were supposed to include "paddle boards, kayaks and umbrella usage" but none of those services were available during our stay. The guy that runs those things on the beach, didn't bother to open his business the entire time we were there. Now, tropical storm Emily did make an appearance during our visit, but it only caused rain in the morning - total sunshine by noonish. So, why that guy didn't open was beyond my understanding. Also, the fine print on your resort card states 1 hr free services which discounted rates for additional people and time. So don't be surprised that it's not totally free.

The pools were so cold that you could not swim in the mornings and it was chilly in the evening. There were also a lot of bugs and mosquitos in/around the pool area. So don't forget your bug spray. The hot tub was small and filled with drunk fishermen so we didn't have a chance to use it during our stay. However, on the morning we left it was being drained and refilled because those same fishermen had "gotten sick" in it.

As for the rooms, they were clean and comfortable for the most part. However, there was a roach in the kitchenette cabinet and if you opened the sliding glass doors, the termites from Roof of Sloppy Joes bar and mosquitos would bombard you in the evening.

So, I guess you could say, in my opinion I would advise you not to believe all the hype about this "resort." It is an average old Florida hotel that seems to be making average efforts to improve itself. Hopefully they'll be able to do so, but it's going to take time and more efforts.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank TravelGuide05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Travelguide05,
Thank you for staying at the Bilmar and for taking the time to write your review and thank you for the positive and constructive comments. I sincerely apologize for the late check in experience. I am unsure what the circumstance was as our check in time of 4pm or earlier is almost always adhered to. Our housekeeping team leaves by 4:30 so we must have made an error in not contacting you when the room became available. I regret some the use of paddle boards and kayaks were not available due to the tropical storm. Although the sun was shining there were still strong surf and rip current advisories that prevented the beach vendor from allowing water activities. The many other amenities included in the daily fee were available including the $5 Café credit, free breakfast for youth that you noted, bicycles, beach chairs (not umbrellas due to safety of flying objects), free wi-fi and parking, movies on the sundeck, morning coffee station and fruit infused water, afternoon cookies and more. I apologize the spa had to be maintained after an incident but be assured we will always put safety first for our guests. We are excited about the upcoming room and exterior renovation. It will ensure the continued improvement of the Bilmar for enjoyment of all our valued guests. I hope you will return in the future to give us the opportunity to meet or hopefully exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

I booked this room as a last minute decision when I learned out of town friends were visiting the area. Having grown up in this area and visited the Bilmar before, I suggested we stay here. In addition to the great location and amenities, the room rates were $100+ less than neighboring hotels.

The rooms were very clean and nicely setup. Furniture was nice and in good condition. My room said it was a "pool view", but the view was actually about 3 doors down and would have had to be viewed by standing in the hall outside the front door, but I didn't mind as we were not in the room much anyway. We enjoyed the rooftop game area where the hotel had corn hole, ping-pong, tables and chairs and other games setup and ready to use. Nice touch! The hotel provided us with $5.00 off a meal at their cafe, where we had breakfast and mimosas in the morning. They also gave us free 1 hour use of things like bikes, paddle boards and other recreational items plus covered beach chairs ocean front. It was unfortunate we were not there long enough to use these but will at our next visit for sure.

The staff was pleasant everywhere we went.

My only complaint might be the parking. When they run out of spaces on the property, you have to park across the street behind a Walgreens and walk across busy Gulf Blvd.

This is a great family or friends get away location and hotel with lots or nearby (walking distance) bars and restaurants. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FloridaCaribbeanSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.3 km away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,781 reviews
0.2 km away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
215 reviews
0.7 km away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
533 reviews
1.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.9 km away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: €125 - €307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing