We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,670)
Filter reviews
1,670 results
Traveller rating
638
572
269
105
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
572
269
105
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shula's steakhouse office building rooftop pool panera bread mall across the street parking garage floor to ceiling windows pf changs four star business hotel westshore plaza self park close to the airport front desk staff fitness center lobby area international plaza
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 1,670 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We had numerous problems at this hotel. You could hear every foot step, sound, and conversation that was taking place outside of the room. We had the presidential suite. It was anything but presidential. There was no fridge in the room, no alarm clock, the laundry bags were skimpy, the room was not ready at check in time of 3 p.m. (we were due to have an early check in and that did not work out), there were no amenities for platinum members, there was no offer of a water bottle as you were coming or going from the hotel, there was no coffee in the lobby, advertisements for food delivery services were slipped under the door each night. The rollaway bed and extra towels were not in the suite upon check in as requested and followed up on before our arrival. The front desk staff was non responsive and rude. There were no papers delivered outside the door in the morning and no local paper was any where to be found at the hotel. I called James Hellman, the Director of Rooms, twice and he never called me back. I called David Sheets the GM and he did call back but left a message and said he would try to get back in touch with me. I met David when we checked out and he did not seem that interested or that he cared. He followed up later that night and put 20,000 points in our account. That did not cover the suite, and two connecting rooms we had. The gesture was really not appreciated and I would have rather had three good nights of sleep. The points don't make up for that. The hotel is anything but Grand! The service is awful, they delivered rotten bananas and cold food from room service for breakfast. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We had never stayed there before but we made our reservations a little over two weeks before we arrived and every other hotel with a large suite was already sold out for those dates and now I see why The Westshore Grand still had rooms open at the last minute.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Keepontruckin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Keepontruckin123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We have high expectations for ourselves and are all sorry we missed the mark on your experience. You’re absolutely right to have expected much better service from our hotel, especially as an SPG Platinum member, and we apologize for the major inconveniences that you experienced while staying with us on your recent trip to Tampa. We really appreciate the constructive criticism and will constantly work towards meeting that expectation that we proudly set amongst all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

For someone that is looking for a nice hotel that is extremely clean this is the place for you. We stayed for one night and the staff was really friendly and there is a shopping center right across from it you can walk there. There is a movie theater and many restaurants there to eat. The hotel is great I couldn’t have picked a better place to stay

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adriana0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

The staff at this hotel was great. From the front desk, to the valet, to the bellhop, to the room service, to the restaurant. Top notch, friendly and helpful. Valet is $20 or self park is free. We stayed in the "presidential suite". While overall it was decent, definitely would not classify it as that. Would consider it more of a business suite for holding a meeting. Would be nice if it had some plates and more glasses. Called room services and they happily brought right up though. The room was comfortable but a little worn deep scratches in the wood floor, but really didn't effect our stay. The suite entertainment area attaches to a regular room. You would anticipate a presidential suite to have a really nice spacious bathroom. This is not the case. Just a regular bath and sleeping room. Like, I said, more of an executive suite.

If you want to sleep in, you may have a challenge with that as apparently hotel guest courtesy has gone out of the window and everyone just lets their doors slam shut now. You could hear this in your room. Not sure how you would fix this - maybe a shock on the door closers? Beds were comfortable with comfortable pillows - would like to have stayed in it longer but other guests were not letting this happen (not the hotels fault).

We didn't eat in Shula's, but had a drink at midnight for NYE. They were amazing and gave out a glass of champagne for the toast and tiaras for the ladies. And they even took the time to offer to take a picture of our group for us. Super nice. Next time we would like to try to eat at the restaurant.

Mall and movies right across the street with a ton of good restaurants in walking distance if you don't want to shell out the benjamins to eat at Shulas.

Overall the room was a little pricey but it was NYE and a Bowl game in town. We would definitely stay here again for a little better price.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GunsandHosesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

First time there. Treated so well. Free upgrade to suite for our first visit. Room was large and immaculate. Drinks and food were excellent. Actually splurged and got room service. Hope to return very soon

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank smithherlong06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

The good: The hotel building is nice, clean. Staff were all pleasant and professional. Our room was clean and furnishings were in good condition.

The not-so-good: The room deodorizer spray was overpowering. Opening the door was much like walking past a Macy’s perfume counter the week before Christmas.

They are very proud of their 22 inch pillow-top mattresses. Unfortunately they put them on top of a very thick box spring. Even at 6’ tall I had to climb up onto the bed.

The mattress was also VERY hard. Putting a three inch slate pillow on a 19 inch brick slab doesn’t make it soft.

They also never bothered to buy mattress pads and bottom sheets to fit the mattress. The pad was made for an eight inch mattress so the corners kept popping off, and the bottom sheet was a standard king-size flat sheet so it wasn’t long or wide enough to tuck in, but rather was draped over the mattress.

Breakfast food quality was very good, and the wait staff was doing their best to keep a smile on their faces and be pleasant. But they were woefully understaffed and glasses, cups, plates, and food were continually in short supply. We ended up using cereal bowls for our eggs, sausage, potatoes, etc. because there never were any plates available.

No cups for tea until we pointed out there weren’t any. They were eventually restocked, at which point we discovered there wasn’t any hot water either.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ron_A_VTX-1300R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Ron_A_VTX-1300r,

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review of your experience at the Westshore Grand. While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our cleanliness, our staff and your room in general, it is obvious by your comments that we dropped the ball on a couple of occasions while you were with us. We want to provide a perfect experience for all of our guests and we are sorry that we did not accomplish this during your stay. Your comments have been shared with our entire team as we continue to work to improve all areas of our operation. We hope to have the opportunity to better your experience the next time you are in Tampa Bay. Thank you again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews