We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good. Oxtails even”

Jamaica Tropicale by Jerk Hut
Ranked #837 of 2,738 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

Wow, this place was interesting. Food is ready to order. Big portions and some interesting attitudes as well.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank dan665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

This was our first time visiting Jerk Hut in downtown Tampa. I’ve never been so disappointed with Jerk Chi ken and Ox Tails in my entire life. I believe the food would hold temperature a lot better if the food was kept in a oven so that the natural juices would be present in the food.

Jerk chicken was BLUH! OX Tails, terribly rough. All was not lost the OX Tail gravy was flavorful and went well with the rice and peas. The staff were friendly, the food TERRIBLE!

If you must visit this place, do so knowing your food will not be hot and it will be dry, SUPER DRY at that✌

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

I've eaten here before and will never go to Tampa without stopping in, they have amazing Jerk and Curry dishes and never disappoint. The food is amazing quality but doesn't cost a lot. The curry goat and the BBQ jerk pork are some of my faves that they offer....

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jackblack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Stopped here while bar hopping the day before our cruise.. .great food and super friendly people Step out of your comfort zone and check it out

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank EllizabethB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We went for the $10 buffet and reggae night and it was totally worth the money. You got a free alcoholic drink with this money also, a rum drink or beer. There was plenty of food for everyone and a good choice, with a few rice and curry options, some meat and veg options and plantain. The background reggae music added a nice touch without being too loud. People even brought their kids along. If you get chance this is worth the visit.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank tez56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jamaica Tropicale by Jerk Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing