We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Sonny's”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #1,378 of 2,461 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our meal which was a rib & pulled pork special. Plenty of food. Hadn't been here for awhile but as I remembered it. Walking distance from our hotel. Good service.

Thank omawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manger at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for your great review, omawhite! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your ribs and pulled pork, and we can’t wait to see you again for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We stopped at a Sonny's BBQ again and weren't disappointed. We hadn't been to this one before but we look for them when we are in Florida. The ribs and sandwiches are good, and they don't use MSG in their rubs or sauce. You get plenty of food for the money. The only downside to this one is that we were passed the entrance before we saw it, and turning around since there is a median in the roadway, was a pain. The entrance should be better marked. Another possibly is making the exit double as an entrance.

Thank Llamma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manger at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thanks for takin' the time to leave your feedback, Llamma2. We're glad to hear you enjoyed and look forward to seein' you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We arrived as the restaurant opened at 11. We had eaten here a couple of weeks before and really enjoyed our meal. I would have written a different review then.

After rather a long wait (at a place that is usually nearly instantaneous), our server came and apologized. They had no sliced pork. We had an appointment and did not want to figure out somewhere else to eat so when we were told they had pulled pork, we agreed to substitute that. Bad decision! It came out barely lukewarm and mushy. It was truly the worst meal we have ever had at a Sonny's anywhere. Our server convinced them to charge us only for one meal but even that was really too much to pay for what we were served.

Needless to say, my husband has not added this to his work week lunchtime rotation as he'd been planning to do.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I went there for Labor Day because my husband and I wanted BBQ without having to cook this year. I thought it would be crowded but surprizingly it was not. We were sat at a table in the very back and left alone for about 10 minutes before anyone even took a drink order. There was 5 of us at a table barely wide enough for 4. It took forever for the server to come back with our drinks and take our order. When she finally did we were told she would bring us plates for the salad bar before bringing our entrees. We waited another 10 minutes or longer.....no salad plates. My daughter actually had to go ask someone else for them. When our food finally came it was really disappointing. We got all the ribs you can eat and they brought us 5 ribs that were cold and very tough. Needless to say we didn't ask for more. Our bill was $92.00 and I did tip our server well because that's just how I was raised. I don't know what the problem was that day but for LABOR DAY it sucked!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit, Debi! Can you please email the details , location, and your phone number to Social@SonnysBBQ.com so our team can make things right?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I've been eating at various Sonny's for 35 years and this location used to be good, food consistent and service better than average. That was then... this is now... Eat with friends last Sunday and was busy but not so people were waiting. The white meat chicken was very much overdone but the dark meat was just right. The french fries were inconsistent as some almost raw and others very good... how do you mess up fries? The price has also increased to where is used to be inexpensive to moderate, a chicken dinner is almost $12 plus drink. I am a big "Okra" lover... okra used to be a regular side dish, then slight up-charge, then special order $3.99 and they had difficulty getting that fried right, underdone or burned. Not far away is another BBQ place with better quality and the okra is a regular side and they also include "dipping sauce" for it. Management needs to take this place in hand! Their reputation is better than the food and service they are dishing out today.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Uncle1time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing