We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveller rating
322
291
150
71
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
291
150
71
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel golf course sandpiper building hutchinson island ocean view resort fee main pool pool bar nice resort an umbrella beach access baja grill lounge chairs family vacation small fridge short drive king bed
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 876 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

We had the great opportunity to stay here last weekend. This is a landmark of the area so I was happy check it out. The front desk, particularly Thomas, delivered on a great room and a great view in the Sandpiper building. Other guests have found it “outdated,” I think that’s wrong, while it’s not contemporary, but it’s spacious and pleasant, definitely has a charm. Amazing to be on the beach and near a pool, hot tub, and bar. Everyone who works here is charming —the lawn people included. Well, come to think of it there was one idiotic “security” guard who misunderstood his job to be the traffic police (and by the way, he didn’t even know what he was talking about —I don’t think he’s employed by the hotel). Views were amazing, and the staff took care of us. Thanks again to the hotel.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank spectorpaultravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear spectorpaultravels,

Thank you for your stay at the Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina during your last weekend and for your very kind review. We are delighted that our service and facilities met your expectations and that you particularly loved your well-appointed room along with the view it provides. Your comments are a pleasure to read and we will be sure to share your it with our team, especially Thomas. Thanks again, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Brad Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Lobby is nice. Pool area is family friendly. There is a lot of space for kids to play. Rooms are average. We stayed at ones of the suites with pool view. Clean but I guess old. The bed was really uncomfortable. The fridge made a lot of noise as well as the AC. Parking is ok. We had one right in front of the room. It was not assigned but it was always available. Staff was very friendly. They have shuttle to the beach 24/7. Food is very expensive. Overall experience was OK

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Nomad779930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that you found the beds uncomfortable and for the noise from the AC and refrigerator, our front desk is available 24 hours a day, so we would have been happy to move you to another room at your request. We encourage you to try us again in the future as we are confident you will enjoy a much better experience.

Sincerely,
Brad Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

this hotel is operated by marriott as a elite member of this branch i feel disappointment, we arrive and the hotel look older than a real photos of web site, i said very old building, very bad first impression, the staff is very friendly and polite , it looks to cover the old infrastructure with the nice personal but this is not enough,
When we ant to use a beach THERE IS NO BEACH UNLESS YOU MAKE A RESERVATION IN OTHER HOTEL OR ROOM THAT IS NEVER APPEAR IN THE WEB PAGE, we try to change of room but no" availability", we have to cancel our book and go other hotel
the only good thing is the staff

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear kristielee4596,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take matters such as this very seriously. As a result, please allow us some time to look into this matter further and someone will be in touch.

Sincerely,
Brad Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

TLDR: they play country music. So many nopes.

It's belligerent that the review just before mine states that the property is run down and management's reply was "well, other people like it".

I can vouch this place is run down. My microwave didn't work, the bathroom fan didn't work, the ceiling fan didn't work and someone replaced a light switch with a white one when the faceplate and walls are beige. While using the toilet I noticed the bathroom door had been planed a few times and the paint was peeling from the bottom.

My gf thought the hallway carpets belonged to an old Vegas casino like the circus circus or Tropicana. Come to find out this hotel group is responsible for running the Tropicana into the ground. If you want to know what it takes to run a center strip hotel into bankruptcy, here you have it.

Does it bother anyone else that Baha grille is spelled wrong? Unless it's short for Bahamas, which it is not. Also, we were dissapointed that this is the only mariott in the country that doesn't supply Paul Mitchell shampoo but some off brand.

Management seems to disregard all complaints against "the property" as complaints about the sandpiper. The f-ing sandpiper is one rust pit away from imploding on itself. For f's sake don't go to the sandpiper.

Overall the staff is friendly, some too friendly. The guy that drove the shuttle wanted to hangout off property. Strange.

If you want a real mariott experience there's a courtyard down the street.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nospam06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear nospam06,

We would like to sincerely apologize that our wording in the review you read came off as rude or belligerent. That is never our intention, and we will be more careful about this going forward. In regards to your own review, we are truly sorry for the number of maintenance issues you encountered in your room and with the rest of our hotel. We strive to ensure our guests receive inspiring service in clean, comfortable, and well-maintained accommodations, so we were disappointed to read this was not the case for you. We are taking your feedback to our team for their immediate attention, and we do hope you will allow us a chance in the future to redeem ourselves.

Sincerely,

Brad Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We came for a 3 night getaway just for R and R. We enjoyed our stay, although the previous reviews are correct. The rooms are outdated and worn. They need some TLC. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The pool is nice, though it is small and got crowded with unattended children. There is an option to take a shuttle to their adjacent property, Sandpiper, for a smaller pool and beach access. We found this to be a great option. Plan your time wisely, however, as the shuttle wait times can be long. We did not eat at the Baja grill, but we did have a lunch at the main pool bar. It was tasty, but pricy. All in all, nice stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear KellyD,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback gives us the information we need to better serve our guests and is much appreciated. Even though our hotel receives high ratings for cleanliness and the overall condition of our rooms, we can appreciate that you were hoping for a more up-to-date experience. We hope the other aspects of your stay, such as our shuttle to Sandpiper and delicious pool bar, made up for this and that you will come back to see us again.

Sincerely,
Brad Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews