We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here several times”
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lido Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stayed here several times”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have stayed here with my husband on both business and leisure trips. There are many different room accommodations. If you stay in the older section (the 4 story) which I have only done once, it will be a basic hotel room. I would advise getting one on an upper floor. The original one we received on the first floor was very musty and they moved us without any issue.

We stayed one time with children and had the Jr Suite but the pullout sofa was broken. Late at night with kids wanting to sleep but they put us in the 2BR Suite for our entire stay at the same rate....that created some loyalty for us to return.

As stated, both times we had issues, the staff rectified the issue to our satisfaction or above.

We have had various other accommodations over the years and all but the two above have been acceptable. No issues with how the room was cleaned or housekeeping while we were there.

We have eaten in the first floor restaurant for breakfast. Food was fine, not memorable, service was slow.

Two pools. Adult only and the other. Both crowded but would be probably vary on the time of year for the family pool. We are more beach oriented so pool is just an hour or so of our day.

I would describe the resort as Florida chabby chic. Lots of pastels and white 'mature' furniture. Every time we go, I think why did I want to come back to this place but the rest of this describes why.

The front desk staff: Several years of the same people and they know how to take care of what you need.

The location: Armands....enough said. You can walk if you want, take the shuttle or drive. So much to do at night or even daytime shopping if weather does not cooperate.

Parking for the hotel is also easy. Some on the street, some in the parking lot and some in the structure. I do not know for sure but think all was free.

The Beach: That wonderful guy that takes care of your beach chairs and umbrella for only $15/day.

The poolside restaurant/bar. I think the same bartenders are there from the first time we ever went. You can also get poolside servers.

This is not a 5 star Ritz or a 4 star Hilton or Hyatt but a 3 on accommodations, 4+ on service and a 5 on location. It depends on what is important to you.

I think it is pricey if you equate if with other similar options but I love the place and just look for deals when I can find them. Happy Travels

Room Tip: many different types....call to clarify what you are booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for your very detailed review of your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort and thank you for continuing to return. We have many repeat guests and enjoy seeing the same faces year after year. We look forward to your next visit as well. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    464
    242
    119
    70
See reviews for
492
558
24
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Two of us stayed at the resort for the weekend. We were unable to book in the tower which would have been better from what I could observe.

Our room was clean but average at best. Very small bathroom - just for one. Bed was comfortable. Quiet at nights. Desk personnel very accomodating and welcoming.

The resort (old building) is a 60s motel looking place, four stories, terrace access, some get a view of the ocean. Lobby meager.

If you eat breakfast at the resort, eat outside, because the aroma from the cleaning fluid is dreadful. Food is OK and reasonable. Unless you go a distance you almost have no choice.

The beach is private and beautiful and crowded in season when we were there.

Room Tip: Stay in tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I appreciate your comments and will certainly use them to make improvements. I am hopeful you will enjoy our facility again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I went here with 3 of my girlfriends needing a budget friendly vacation, and this hotel did not disappoint. We were all able to share one room comfortably and had a kitchen in it, which was great. The staff was friendly, and it is directly on the beach with a beach bar and two pools (one for families and the other with no kids).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I stayed 2/14-2/16 in a king oceanfront suite. The view was absolutely gorgeous and the room was quite nice. Nothing really wrong with the room but $404 was way too much to pay for a room. We also stayed at the Pink Shell in Fort Myers and the Sandpearl in Clearwater Beach (both comparable hotels) for half the price. I guess when a hotel room is that pricey you expect absolute perfection. Not to really complain but our dishwasher was very old and started to smoke because it didn't come off the drying cycle. The bathroom shower was old with a handheld showerhead. The hallways leading to the room could also have been much cleaner. The tiki bar was great with 1/2 off bar specials for happy hour. We did have breakfast there and the food was great with prices comparable to other area restaurants. Parking was convenient and staff were friendly/helpful. I would stay there again if the price was more reasonable.

Room Tip: If you want to pay the price, ask for an oceanfront room in the south tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. I apologize not everything was to your liking. I would highly recommend checking our rates in the off season as our rates go down dramatically a week after Easter and in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice hotel with beautiful pool and beach. Loved everything except for the Lido Grille nachos (i think they used Cheewiz)!

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you did not enjoy the Nachos. I will be sure to discuss with our Chef and see if we cannot offer an alternative upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.7 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,398 reviews
7.7 km away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Property: Lido Beach Resort
Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing