We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!”
Review of Surf Shack

Surf Shack
Reserve with OpenTable
Surf Shack is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 1,180 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Description: Casual Beach Themed restaurant downstairs and the Piano Bar setting upstairs with balcony seating overlooking St Armand's Circle. Famous for Gourmet Tacos such as Island Lobster, Filet Mignon, Jerk Chicken and 12 more! Local craft beers and a great top shelf spirits selection. Live music upstairs nightly!
Restaurant details
Description: Casual Beach Themed restaurant downstairs and the Piano Bar setting upstairs with balcony seating overlooking St Armand's Circle. Famous for Gourmet Tacos such as Island Lobster, Filet Mignon, Jerk Chicken and 12 more! Local craft beers and a great top shelf spirits selection. Live music upstairs nightly!
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Our server, Halston, was awesome, the hostess, Nicole, was so sweet, and the tacos were amazing (we tried five different kinds between the two of us!)! Fantastic dining experience, great atmosphere!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Excursion623434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018

The food was just ok, maybe good. But not great.
I'm not going to knock the service due to how busy the poor girl was after being triple seated with big tables while working a double! She hung in there though.

Our meals were good to OK. I had the grouper sandwich and it was nothing special.
I may give it another shot next time in town.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

The Surf Shack is a hit every year. My family and I discovered it 3 years ago and every time we vacation in Sarasota we make sure to dine at the Surf Shack. Usually, we eat down stairs, but this time we dicid a to try the upstairs. We loved it! They had live music and the ambiance was amazing. Eat what ever you want because everything tastes great. Family friendly :)

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Dayanara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We had a poki bowl, mahi Reuben sandwich and homemade guacamole. All the food was good but guc was great. Sat on the sidewalk seats which was super fun for people watching in this quaint little town. Nice surprise!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank annh0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Everyone at our table tried one of the various tacos on the menu and not a single person was disappointed. Very impressive to do such a variety so well.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Hogan5D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surf Shack also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Surf Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing