We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fabulous”

Opa! Opa! Authentic Greek Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 1,181 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to OPA! OPA!, Where we provide an authentic Greek dining experience and treat our guests like family! We are a family run Greek restaurant that opened its doors in 2013 and serves the Gulf Gate area of Sarasota, FL and beyond. When you walk in our restaurant, you will immediately feel the warmth and family atmosphere we have created. We pride ourselves on serving only high quality, homemade, and fresh food. We truly care about our guests and know them on a first name basis; many have become like family to us. Our cozy restaurant is run by a husband and wife team, along with a few trusted and valued employees. Michele oversees the front of the restaurant, while Yanni doubles as our Executive Chef and brings over 20 years of experience to our business. Many of our recipes are straight from his mother's village in Peloponnese, Greece. We offer a wide variety of traditional Greek cuisine and a collection of Greek wines you are sure to love! All of our meals are made-to-order by Yanni himself and will surely leave you feeling satisfied. Our goal is to serve our guests a meal "just like Yiyia used to make" and for you to leave here feeling like part of our family. You can dine in or carry out; let our family serve your family! Your Hosts, Michele and Yanni Haralampopoulos
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Once again a fabulous meal created by Yanni. The saganaki is tremendous. Lamb chops are melt in your mouth. Fish is fresh and prepared expertly. Service friendly and timely. Will return each time we visit the key.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Mary1055407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2018

5 Star customer service and 5 Star food. The tzatziki & pita, the grilled octopus, the
dolmathakia, the moussaka, the soups and of course, the gyros...all fabulous! Everything served hot and with a smile. Family-run business that makes you happy just to be there. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SKYITALY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Opa! Opa! Is the real deal. A wonderful, family run business created by a couple who care about their customer’s enjoyment and satisfaction. You must have a reservation as its a small place. We took our friends there last night and can’t wait to return. They were delighted by everything they were served. They asked for seconds of the pita bread and wildly enjoyed the lamb shank. I had the stuffed chicken breast with spinach and feta. I would definitely order it again. The one glitch was that a fourth entree came late to the table. Our waitress was very apologetic and offered a free dessert to again apologize. Our meal was delicious, the ambiance was fun, and the wait staff could not have been nicer.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank grame_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

We have visited Siesta Key for the last 8 years and discovered this gem 3 years ago. You will not find better Greek food anywhere, not even in Greece! Yanni , owner and chef is extremely accommodating and talented. We took two couples who were seasoned travelers, but new to this restaurant and they were extremely impressed . Branzino was fresh, filleted and well seasoned. One of the specials, chicken breast stuffed with spinach, feta and topped with saganaki cheese was just amazing. Yanni makes a very special soup called Village Soup that is not to be missed.The traditional dishes, spanakopita, moussaka and shish kabob were fantastic. We were too full for dessert because the servings are generous. But, we took home an order of Baklava, as it’s irresistible! We will be back very soon!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Lenatcheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The grilled octopus was excellent, as was the taramarsalata, and a very fresh and generous salad. Server very knowledgeable and hard working, and attention from possibly chef/owner. If I had one suggestion would be to throw away those measured glasses for wine and give us some wine please, way too small pour. But I will return, I enjoyed it.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank floridaman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opa! Opa! Authentic Greek Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Opa! Opa! Authentic Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing