We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lido Beach Resort(Sarasota)
US$245
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota - I75(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$133
US$122
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
123
78
41
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
78
41
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold floridalido keyfull kitchenlido beachplenty of beach chairsdressing areaarmand's circlenice kitchenlounge chairssand dollarsbeachfront hotelprivate beachwe loved our stayroom was largepool areabit datedlocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

A very cozy and old-fashioned resort wedged into a row of high rise hotels right on the beach on St Armand's Key (in some of the ads it’s not clear that Coquina actually is on the beach -- it is!). There’s a real personal touch from the staff. The rooms have kitchens, so a great place for longer stays. Each room has a little patio. And the wifi works! But don’t expect anything fancy (for that go to the more expensive high-rises!). There’s a nice pool but no hot tub full of drunks. As an added bonus, its right on the bus stop for those who don’t want to mess with parking and the world of bad lane-changing Florida drivers. There’s also a rather posh grill just a few doors down if you arrive late and need something to eat. If you like stepping back in time and a very relaxing visit to boot, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the beach might have a bit more privacy
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for the great review! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We constantly strive to provide the absolute best guest experience at our "old Florida" slice of paradise. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

My BFF and I stayed at the Coquina on the Beach during our annual gals getaway weekend. It's very convenient to the glitzy and busy St. Armand's Circle. We enjoyed the 15 minute walk to the shops and restaurants.

The property seems more like an older motel but the owners have put some money into it. Our room was spacious and the two double beds seemed new. There are still some things that could be updated but we were very comfortable and every thing was very clean.

Getting to the beach was convenient. It's just a short walk through the pool area. I liked that they had lots of lounge chairs out on the beach for guests and they even have a little pavilion in the sand for those who want shade.

Parking is free but we did find the spaces to be extremely tight and there are only enough spots for one car per room. My friend had to park on the street but fortunately, there was plenty of parking spots there. In fact, I parked my car there the second night because the only space available was too tight.

The girls who worked in the office were pleasant but didn't seem very knowledgeable about the area or overly eager to help. We asked for restaurant recommendations and they couldn't mention any by name. We were able to get a late checkout which was helpful.

I hope the owners will continue to work on updating some of the aesthetics. While certainly not modern and new, the hotel was very comfortable, quiet and convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NAPSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you! We are constantly striving for perfection and continually working to upgrade the rooms and property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your gals getaway and look forward to having you back for your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay at Coquina On The Beach. This rather small beachfront property provides a quiet, clean, relaxing stay away from the crowds of other area keys. Private beach for guests but plenty of room on either side to walk up and down the key to enjoy the sandy beaches and beautiful waters off Lido Key. This isn't an upscale property, but does provide suites right on the beach, with full kitchens, grills in the courtyard and a decent pool. You can tell the rooms have been renovated and are actually quite nice even if they are a bit dated. We stayed in two different units during our stay due to availability. The poolside suite was ok, all tile floor, with two doors, one facing the pool. Only drawback to that was that we were given no key to lock the poolside door, nor were we told the key wouldn't work in both doors. (Yes, this place still has KEYS, not cards.) We subsequently locked ourselves out, but the front desk bailed us out with a master key, which we couldn't keep, so if you wanted to lock your door(s), you always had to go out the outside corridor door. Not a big deal, just a fact. The other nights we were in an ocean view room, on the second floor, which we thought was nicer than the poolside suite, very roomy and it was partially carpeted. There was a slight increase in price for the ocean view room, but totally worth it. Every suite appeared to have a balcony or sitting area outside with lounge chairs. We enjoyed sitting out on our balcony, but enjoyed the sunsets on lounge chairs right on the beach. We both walked and drove to St. Armand's circle during our stay to eat and shop a bit. The walk isn't bad, but we found plenty of parking near the circle too. We did not find a grocery or drug store on Lido Key, but that's part of its charm. (You'll find a grocery a short drive away in Sarasota, where you will also find traffic! We recommend you bring all your food with you so you can enjoy that much more beach time on laid back Lido Key.) St. Armand's circle is busy, but while you are at the Coquina, you'll be amazed at how peaceful and quiet it is. There really aren't many places to stay on Lido Key, and I'm betting the Coquina is the most economical. I would highly recommend this hotel for its location right on the beach, cleanliness, helpful staff and old Florida vibe. We stayed as a couple, but the suites would be great for extended stays with families.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jaimee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Coquina on the Beach, we take pride in our little slice of "old Florida" paradise and look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Our family of 6 spent part of an afternoon on the beach - the sand was wonderful and the water was warm. We had a great time looking for shells and just relaxing! It wasn't very crowded which made it all the more enjoyable.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Wyocowgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Excellent location first of all. Everything other is pretty good. Beach is superb, you can enjoy swimming or walking for an hour or two. Rooms have kitchen, you can make superb dishes from the fish market like Walt's. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Petlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn M, DORM at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us! Walt's is a favorite of mine as well and we hope you come back again soon. Have an amazing day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews