We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House of the Sun Condo Resort
Reviewed 30 March 2017

My family and I stayed at House of Sun in mid-March. This was our fifth year staying at House of Sun and it remains a fantastic place to stay. The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. And the only thing that can be said about the beach is AWESOME! Recently named the best beach in the U.S. by Tripadvisor, the beach at Siesta Key is simply world class.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Can_traveller60615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKroner, Owner at House of the Sun Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for this outstanding review. The House of the Sun loves it when our guests are happy and return year after year. We think it's a special place too. Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017

Our family has stayed at House of the Sun every summer for over 15 years. Each visit has been extremely enjoyable. Rooms are well maintained, spacious, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. Rooms nearest the beach offer the best view, but all are well worth the cost. And of course, you will enjoy the beach....pure white sand, fine as confectioners 10X sugar, 99.9% pure quartz crystals. Rated best beach in the USA for many years. Parking under the facility is somewhat limited, but not a real problem when we go there, normally out of season. Restaurants within easy walking distance are outstanding...best is Miguel's, for upscale French cuisine, just across the street. Best but not really expensive. Sea food restaurant on the corner across the street is also outstanding, and inexpensive. Drug Store/post office across the street is very handy along with the dept store selling beach needs, souvenirs.
Rates are very competitive for what you get, especially off season.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quieter, rooms near the beach offer best views. (higher numbered suites)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKroner, Owner at House of the Sun Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

The House of the Sun thanks you for these kind words. So many families return year after year to soak up a bit of Siesta Key paradise. It really is a special place and good people like you add to this experience, come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We have rented in Siesta Key for several years and love this location the best. It is a short walk to a fee places to eat, happy hour or the store. The beach seems a little quieter on the south side of Midnight Pass and less trafffic. Lots of room to go for walks. The view is beautiful with double sliding doors to balcony, shortest walk we've had to the beach, pool and the best views for sunsets. Ypu are right on the beach, couldn't be closer! Free rides to The Village if you dont want to drive and mess with parking. We Used the grills on thanksgivng they were vert good quality. Staff was super friendly and even was able to check in a day early. We couldn't be happier! We believe we found our annual condo!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKroner, Owner at House of the Sun Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for your great House of the Sun review. We are always happy when our guests enjoy themselves and come back year after year. It is a special in paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed a week at House of the Sun in late August - early September and were very satisfied. We had not been there for about five years but have stayed there maybe six times over the years. We noticed that the grounds and building were very well maintained and that nice improvements had been made since our last visit. During the three "hurricane" days of our visit the building, grounds, and sliding glass doors in our room held up very well with no accumulations of water on the grounds or in the parking garage. Beach and building access is well secured and the covered parking garage is a good feature. Management is very helpful. We stayed in room 510 which was well stocked with kitchen items and cooking utensils. The furnishings were fine. Our only disappointment was that the pillows in the master bedroom smelled badly of sweat and needed to be replaced. To be clear, that is the fault of the condo owner and not the building manager. For the quality of the maintenance of this facility and the helpful management I recommend House of the Sun for Siesta Key vacationing. ]

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We have stayed at a couple of places in this area but tried the House of the Sun for the first time this year. So far, we like it better than other places we have tried. Management was very friendly and helpful. The parking situation was very good (covered parking with ample guest spots) and of course it is right on the beach. Our unit was fresh and clean with no issues at all. Unit was well stocked with everything you need plus large flat screen TVs. We were in a unit on the "gulf view" side. Plenty of good amenities including; observation deck, game room, tennis court, gas grills and lots of lounge and beach chairs. I little more expensive than some other places but seemed to be worth it. We will go back.

Room Tip: best beach views are even numbered rooms, look at the pictures because decorations and contents vary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hydrorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
1.2 km away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.2 km away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,605 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Sun Condo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Sun Condo Resort

Address: 6518 Midnight Pass Rd, Sarasota, FL 34242-2507
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sarasota
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House of the Sun located on Siesta Key in Sarasota, Florida is the perfect place to enjoy a vacation get-away. The award-winning finest and whitest crystal sand of Crescent Beach extends from House of the Sun to the beautiful blue-colored water of the Gulf of Mexico. Lush tropical landscaping, heated pool, expansive sundecks, beach front tennis court and private beach area are just a few of the many amenities that you can enjoy during your stay at House of the Sun. Every condominium is fully furnished, completely equipped, and highlights the owner’s personal decorating touches. Each unit’s balcony has sliding glass doors with a view of Crescent Beach. A multitude of vacation activities along with shopping and dining opportunities are conveniently located on Siesta Key and also across the bridge in Sarasota. Whether you’re planning a Florida vacation or looking for a place to settle for a while in a tropical paradise, give us a call soon to reserve your spot at House of the Sun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Sun Condo Resort Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing