We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Real Food”
Review of Cafe Gabbiano

Cafe Gabbiano
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Gabbiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 1,179 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Canal
Description: Cafe Gabbiano is the best Italian fine dining experience on Siesta Key! We invite you to enjoy our carefully prepared authentic Italian cuisine and a world class selection of wine.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the specialty veal dish.Fabulous. Wife's dish was excellent also. Thought I was visiting relatives in NY.

Thank 320grege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ok so best veal saltimboca ever! Took advantage of the restaurant weeks special. An appetizer entree and dessert for 39 bucks. The table tried the pei mussels and the escargot which were both raved about. Entrees all great. We were all sharing each other’s dinners. Great tasting bread with seasoned butter and olive oil dipping. Killer key lime pie and tiramisu. Great wine option of a tasting flight of 3 wines for $10. Decent pours at that price. Mix and match what you want to try. A special mention about our server Tommy who was very helpful and courteous. He was quick to take care of our every need. Location is right smack in the village. Decent parking. Fair prices on some outstanding dishes. No more issues with red tide so come on down. We shall return!

Thank Averagejoe001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Owner at Cafe Gabbiano, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, we appreciate it! We're happy to see you enjoyed the Restaurant Week menu and everything turned out well. Also we're thrilled Tommy was a big part of your wonderful experience, we'll him know. It was our pleasure and we look forward to serving you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came after seeing a movie. Seated in the wine cellar area. Nice quiet place for a wife date night. Tommy, our server, was knowledgeable and attentive. Good recommendations for entrees and brought a wine carafe to aerate our red wine when we asked. Not a lot of “creamy” dishes like fettuccine Alfredo, but a wide variety of pasta dishes. We had ravioli Ossobucco and seafood linguine. Both were excellent. A great place among many great places on Siesta Key. For oenophiles there is an extensive wine list. We were happy with a reasonably priced California Cab.

Thank DutchDoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We celebrated a special birthday with our family who hail from across South and North America. We all assemble rarely. We were a group of 16 with 6 members 3 years and under. The service was outstanding - recognizing the the special concerns for the children. All aspects of the service were flawless. The appetizers, main dishes and other items were well prepared and presented. I selected this restaurant through Trip Advisor and all family members were most impressed with the choice. Highly recommended for all occasions!

Thank richardsS4544VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Owner at Cafe Gabbiano, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Richard, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are thrilled you and your family had a great time with us, especially for a birthday celebration. It was our pleasure and we hope to serve you again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We live in the area and were looking for a new place to try so decided to visit this restaurant and are very happy we did. It really hit on all the cylinders of excellent food, great ambiance and especially awesome service. My wife and I like to sit at the bar when we go out by ourselves and we were waited on by Luis who turned out to be the best bartender we have encountered in a very long time. He had all of the requisite basics down like drink selections and menu recommendations so was very helpful in that regard. However, what really set him apart was his passion for the restaurant and his job. He shared that he really felt blessed to be working there and his enthusiasm was contagious because it is seldom that we find a bartender or server that really loves their job and Luis easily convinced us that he truly does. As an example, we ended up purchasing a bottle of their house branded wine to take with us after Luis recommended I try it when I ordered a glass of "any good red" for dinner and I thought it was amazing. SO, we will definitely come back for the great food and ambiance but we will always ask for Luis.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Curious769508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Owner at Cafe Gabbiano, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled you gave us a shot and had wonderful time. We're also happy to see Luis helped in creating a great experience for you, we'll make sure to pass along your compliments to him, we know he'll appreciate it! It was our pleasure in serving you and we look forward to seeing you again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Gabbiano also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing