We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,296)
Filter reviews
2,296 results
Traveller rating
1,148
781
230
103
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
781
230
103
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar normandie restaurant on site restaurant butterfly garden second floor pool side screened in porch gulf view room great pool an umbrella great shelling no see ums rent bikes beach front gulf of mexico king bed sea shells
Filter
Updating list...
1,183 - 1,188 of 2,296 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We had such a relaxing time, listening to the waves just off our balcony. Take a bike and explore everywhere! West Wind had clean, quiet rooms, and the pool was perfect every evening after our daily outings. We can't recommend a better place for a family to disconnect and reconnect.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jillcO90YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Overall, everything was really good. The restaurant there had a really good breakfast and was reasonably priced and Mike was great!

The place was kept up well. The rooms were a little small, especially the bathroom but we were there for the island not the room so not too bad. The kids had fun at the pool. Only issue we saw was when a little kid made a poo in the pool they only scooped it up. Think that they need to shock the pool to kill all the bacteria. Made us a little hesitant to get back in until the next day to let the chlorine do it's work.

The island was very buggy at night so if you go out, wear long sleaves / pants or you will get eaten alive. We got a lot of good shells and had fun.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rswills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Beautiful place to stay! Has a microwave and fridge. A huge closet. Our room was near the Koi pond, which was absolutely beautiful! Staff was very helpful. The room is up to date so it felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sanj104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

That lovely Caribbean blue water you are looking for does NOT exist anymore on Sanibel Island. Warning to all travelers. Due to the federal government releasing overflow from Lake Okeechobee into the Caloosahatchee River (which runs directly into the Gulf separating Sanibel and Captiva) the water is a dull muddy brown (is it safe?). This was quite disheartening to us as we had travelled from Boston area for the beautiful waters. Also an environmental disaster - affecting all sea life in the bay and gulf.

Room Tip: Great room right on the gulf (a little path separates you from the gulf). Look out from your screened porch. #102 (first floor). Very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

A small room but everything was quiet & in good condition. They changed the room to the1st floor cuz hotels.com didn't give em my "special request" beforehand. We liked the screened patio & EZ access to the pool & beach. For expensive Sanibel, twas a decent deal.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews