We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,845)
Filter reviews
2,845 results
Traveller rating
1,388
852
371
162
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,388
852
371
162
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolmain buildingpaddle boardsping pongbedroom condofull kitchenfamily vacationspring breakpool bargulf viewgreat vacationgrocery storechairs and umbrellasocean frontan umbrellafree bikespools
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,845 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Perfect for families. Pricey, but a nice change from the regular rush days of everywhere else in Florida
When you enter over the big bridge, you go back in time. It’s beautiful & allows you time to recharge & reconnect with your family. Apparently many years ago the beach was crystal clear, now it’s got a lot of slugs on the shore. The locals blamed it on the increase in tourism to Sanibel

We stayed at Sundial. One thing I found strange was their lack of communication with residents with international numbers. Even with our lost property, they couldn’t call us back, we had to call them. Strange for such an exclusive property!

Food & Bar Service was friendly & efficient. Like I’ve said previously, Sundial is expensive, so you’re already aware that ordering anything on the island itself will cost a minimum of $100

Cleaning service was daily & really good. Balcony’s were spacious

The only major issue we had while at Sundial was we got eaten alive by mosquitoes, all 6 of us. So go prepared beforehand & get your skin prepared.

Stayed: August 2018
4  Thank donnajohn1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear donnajohn1978,
Thank you for reviewing our recent stay. We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed you stay with us! We hope to see you again during your next visit to our island!
Phillip Starling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

My first time to Sanibel! Sundial Resort was great! The staff was SO friendly... one woman saw us struggling to unload the car and happily offered to help (and would NOT accept a tip) The pools were nice, the breakfasts were AMAZING!
I am disappointed that we did not get to make use of the kayaks or paddle boards, and really upset that we could not spend time on the beach, in the water, or shelling in the "shelling capital of the world". Unfortunately the red tide prohibited all of that and actually made us inquire about leaving early and getting a partial refund (which we did).
But enough about the ACT OF NATURE that could not be controlled. I have to wonder if the negative "red tide" reviewers took the time to talk to the staff, or even ask about cancelling the rest of you reservation and moving north (like we did).
I will DEFINITELY go back to Sundial and hope the tide cooperates with me next time!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Jennifer H,
Thank you for the five star review! We are so happy to hear our team was so friendly and helpful throughout your stay! We certainly apologize and feel your disappointment regarding the red tide that is currently affecting our beaches. We greatly appreciate your understanding of the situation. We look forward to seeing you again for your next Sundial stay, fingers crossed you will get to experience our beautiful beach with its normal blue waters!
Phillip Starling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel just two weeks ago and what "they did not warn us about" was the seriously bad Red Tide that is plaquing Southwest Florida!!

The situation here is worse than anything we have ever encountered in Florida.

The smell is horrific from all the dead rotting sealife littering the beaches. The water is murkey as well.

We really think the hotels here should be required to advise in advance of booking about this situation.

Cannot go in the water and if you have a respiratory problem you must stay away!

They have front end loader scraping up all the dead sealife but that just makes the air quality worse. We looked at the county website for red tide updates and they list the severity of current conditions and list amount of dead sealife. By the lighthouse it shows 40 dead fish per foot of beach! Unbelievable!!

Once again there should and must be a mandatory warning given to prospective renters.

Finally the condo rental has bugs and not very clean. Bad job Sundial! We will not be back!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank 704John25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear 704John25,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We reviewed your reservation and at the time of booking, we had absolutely no signs or affects on our beaches from red tide. As soon as we experienced those signs, we immediately posted flyers at our Front Desk and an advisory at the Activities center. We wish you the best in your future travels.
Phillip Starling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Red Tide is rendering all beaches unusable, as they are loaded with dead fish, the smell is awful. We were also all frequently coughing whenever we went outside anywhere on the resort, due to Red Tide impact on the air quality. The Red Tide also worsens the health of anyone with respiratory issues, asthma, etc

Since the county had already issued a state of emergency before we checked in, I found it very deceptive and negligent that the resort made no mention of the health/medical issues that can occur.
Worse yet, they still were encouraging people to kayak and spend time on the beach in spite of known health/medical hazards.

The primary reason we booked a trip was to enjoy the beaches, go shell hunting, and borrow the kayaks provided by the resort. None of that was doable or safe because of the Red Tide ecological issue impacting this area of Florida. The county already issued a beach advisory and state of emergency.

It was even hard to enjoy the beautiful swimming pools, as the Red Tide was causing us to cough frequently. The beaches in front of the resort were covered in carcases of dead fish, dead eels, etc. We could also see a lot of dead fish floating near by.

Since this issue started months ago, and the county issues a state of emergency recently, the resort should have informed us before accepting our reservation and our money, instead they put our health at risk.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Sarah G,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We apologize for the impact red tide had on your experience, we certainly share your frustrations. Unfortunately we were not able to clear the beaches until the City allowed us to as their are strict regulations regarding this on our island. As soon as we were given permission, our team worked extremely hard to clean up our beaches and provide our guests with as best experience as possible during this heartbreaking event. As soon as we had signs of our beaches being affected, we immediately posted notices at our front desk and activities center. Again we apologize for the inconvenience this outbreak caused during your stay.
Phillip Starling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Nightmare!!! RED TIDE made this a miserable vacation and this property while not their fault, did nothing to manage frustrated vacationers. Restaurants were understaffed and those providing service had basically poor dispositions with a list of excuses. The front desk could not have cared less of the situation and spoke to no one of the conditions as we were checking in, but of course as we were checking out miraculously a memo showed up on the counter that 'Red Tide' was wreaking havoc currently on beaches in the area. The stench was overwhelming, death and carnage every where - fish, urchins, sea turtles and a whale shark a week prior. Beaches were not being cleaned and flies were horrific. Water was brown murky color and intolerable. The no-see-ums put us in the clinic Monday morning although I had to explain to again, the front desk, that no I did not have 897 mosquito bites, though he was dismissive and disregarded me - he wanted to make sure the new travelers checking in did not hear the conversation and quickly turned his attention elsewhere! Meals were pricey as were drinks, $8 - $12 for average at best. Our room was decent and the only other thing that was pleasant about this trip was leaving.

Room Tip: Just don't go here!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Sharon D,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We apologize for the impact red tide had on your experience, we certainly share your frustrations. Unfortunately we were not able to clear the beaches until the City allowed us to as their are strict regulations regarding this on our island. As soon as we were given permission, our team worked extremely hard to clean up our beaches and provide our guests with as best experience as possible during this heartbreaking event.
Phillip Starling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews