We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back !!”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back !!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Loved it !! Perfect location ... Just steps from the beach. Complimentary bicycles that we rode all over the island and a great continental breakfast served in the courtyard - The rooms are very quaint (the screened in porches are a great touch) .... The staff was very friendly, as well. We will DEFINITELY be back !!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    222
    63
    27
    18
See reviews for
105
489
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I are on day six of an eight day stay at this lovely beach side inn. Small pool but well heated, nice jacuzzi, lovely manicured tropical foliage, lovely shell strewn beach, complimentary breakfast, NY Times, and free use of bikes. The room is spacious with full size fridge, coffee maker, and mini-range. Small but adequate bath but curiously there is no dresser or place for clothes except large closet with only 8 hangers. Large HD TV and screened lanai. I would recommend to anyone looking for quiet romantic accommodation. Probably be boring for kids (but that goes for all of Sanibel in regards to kids).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yannarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

As others have stated, the property has pros and cons. The rooms are a bit long in the tooth - our room looked nothing like the room pictured on their website. Possibly room on the website is one of the ocean front rooms. Ours was a ground floor room facing the pool. I would recommend requesting a second floor room. The rooms are very noisy. I could hear people walking upstairs and in the room next to us, I could even hear when the guest put change on the night stand. To drown out the noise, I kept the fan running during our entire stay.
There aren't any luxury linens on the beds. Ours were very worn. And yes, the bathroom is tiny but it's nbd because who spends a lot of time in the bathroom?
The hotel needs to provide small mats on the floor due to sand being tracked in from the beach. They also need to put a curtain on the entry door as the lights shine in from outside at night.
Pool area is nice. The chairs that are by the boardwalk to the beach need to be replaced. Most of them had ripped slats so you couldn't sit in them. The chairs and umbrellas on the beach also need to be replaced.
Every staff person we encountered was nice and very helpful.
Breakfast was nothing special. By the second or third day, we went out.
The bikes need to be replaced. They are really old. We rode them one day and then rented bikes during the rest of our stay.
The location is excellent and is probably the best part about the hotel. Close to everything you want to do on SI and the beach is right outside your door.
I looked at other properties while we were there and I don't think there's anything on the island that is comparable to a Ritz or a Four Seasons (there is South Seas at the end of Captiva but reviews for this property are not good so I wouldn't stay there). It's an island that at one time had motels and now these motels have been marketed as "luxury." They are in no way luxury properties but that is part of the charm. You just need to know this as a first time visitor.
And, it's not cheap!
Yes, we would return to SI. I don't know if we would stay at SOTS but we might stay at one of their other properties.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We recently stayed 7 days at this Inn (Sat to Sat) in a beachfront suite. This property could easily be a four star with some small improvements. The propety is older and could be so much nicer with a renovation, especially the room furniture.

The pool and pool deck was clean and nicely maintained with nice lounge chairs.
The continental breakfast was OK (similar to a Hampton Inn), the "fresh fruit" selections were minimal, somteims just slices of oranges and perhaps cut up melon. If you got there early you might snag a banana. The waffle maker was nice with cereals, breads and yogurt also offered. The New York Times is a nice touch as the daily paper.

Our beachfront suite bedroom was small and as previously commented, there is barely enough room to walk around the bed. While the linens on the king bed are nice, the mattress was too soft for my back. The bathroom was small but clean with beach towels (small) provided daily.

The living area had the most uncomfortable couch (sofabed). We even pulled the sofabed out but the mattress was old and worn and even worse. I feel sorry if anyone actually plans to sleep on it. The one chair in the living area was oversized and the small dining table had seen better days.

The outside lounge chairs under the tiki sttyle tables all had broken webbing (maybe one chair did not). This was annoying since this is an easy fix. While the property advertises beach front lounge chairs and umbrellas, there are only six umbrellas and 12 lounge chairs. Lucky for us the propety was not filled so it wasn't a problem otherwise there are nowhere near enough chairs to accommodate the guests. The charis needed to be cleaned now and then, again small stuff but an easy fix.

The bikes are decent which were a plus for us. the island has over 20 miles of bike paths so it was fun to explore using their bikes.

The beach is a short walk from the property and we had a nice view from the 2nd floor beachfront suite. Sanible Island is a great place if you want some R&R and with several good restaurants to choose from.

Make sure you drive to Capitval Island and catch the sunset before you leave.

I will return next year to Sanibel although can't see staying at the Song of the Sea unless the rooms are renovated.

Room Tip: If you choose the beachfront suite, pick a 2nd floor room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed in a newly renovated room with a perfect location. Everything was clean, we had our own kitchenette and a wonderful screened porch. The 2 queen beds were comfortable and the location on the gulf made it easy to get our beach walks in several times a day. The included breakfast selections were tasty and having breakfast outside (with fresh coffee) started each day off right. We made our reservations to return - before we even left! A wonderful place to stay on Sanibel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pupnpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.8 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,347 reviews
1.0 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
685 reviews
1.1 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
379 reviews
17.1 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
6.8 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Property: Song of the Sea
Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island
Song Of The Sea Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing