We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was there for lunch. The staff was warm and engaging and made the visit much more fun!”
Review of The Corner Cafe

The Corner Cafe
Ranked #1 of 251 Restaurants in Sanford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: S. Park Ave
Description: The Corner Cafe, rated one of the best restaurants in Sanford, FL, is located in Historic Downtown Sanford, Florida at the intersection of 1st & Park. This charming bistro specializes in unique and delicious, handmade fare at an affordable price. Known for their killer Cuban Sandwich, French Onion Soup in a toasted bread bowl and stunning Salads, The Corner Cafe serves a variety of Grilled Sandwiches, Fresh-Beautiful Salads & Scratch Made Soups (M-Sat) from 11:00 - 4:00. Delicious Smoothies, a full selection of Coffee Drinks, Freshly-Brewed Tea, Ice Cold Beer and California Wines are available as well. The Corner Cafe offers Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-free options as well. Sit at an outside table to enjoy the view of the Historic Downtown streets. You can even bring Fido!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was excellent and outstanding presentation. Their food is fresh, clean and prepared with flair! the flavors are different, interesting and delicious. A must stop when you are in Sanford!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Inspire03274501059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEFMICHAELOBRIEN, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank You Inspire, I am so glad that you included the "Presentation" of our food in your wonderful review! My Mentor (a super talented German man) told me once, "Michael, people don't just eat with their mouths...they also eat with their eyes!" That incredible bit of advice stuck with me and we employ it every single day on every single plate!! Please stop back in when you come our way...Chef Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A MUST!!! This place is not just a sit down, eat and leave place. It’s a friendly dining experience. The service was exceptionally good and the food is all homemade and fantastic! The French onion soup is to die for and the tomato soup is amazing! We will definitely come back. It’s so close to the airport that we will make thus our regular stop before and after flights! Check it out!! They’re amazingly good! Great job at the Corner Café guys!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Maurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEFMICHAELOBRIEN, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank You Maurie, We cherish our relationship to the Orlando - Sanford International Airport. It allows us to meet & serve folks from all over the Eastern United States and we could be happier you found us in Historic Downtown Sanford! We look forward to seeing you on the next go 'round!! With Warm Regards, Chef Michael & Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been coming here for years. They are still going strong. Still serious attention to detail. Still soups from scratch. Still great sandwiches. It’s casual. It’s easy. It’s friendly, and still super quality. I really look forward to visiting.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Journey54461612699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEFMICHAELOBRIEN, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank You so very much! We are delighted to say that January 5th of 2019 will mark our 10th Anniversary here in Historic Downtown Sanford and we could not be happier!! I tell my staff that you either get better or worse...there is no "Status Quo" and therefore we must continue to do as you say. To pay attention to detail, don't get lazy and stay connected to the folks that we adore...its the very reason we show up every day. Please Hurry Back When You Can & In The Mean Time, Be Well!! Your Chef, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Drove over to Sanford just to walk around downtown and then we found this place for a quick lunch. So glad we did! The Greek chicken salad was so fresh it was just unbelievable! Their loaded baked potato soup looked super yummy and next time I think I will try their signature french onion soup in a bread bowl. Plenty to choose from and everything I suspect would be excellent! Highly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 594SusanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEFMICHAELOBRIEN, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank You Susan, I am a 7th Generation Floridian and lifelong Volusia County Resident that grew up going to New Smyrna Beach every chance I got! I truly appreciate the drive over and am delighted that you enjoyed Historic Downtown Sanford!! I can't say enough about how pleased I am that you found us "Worth The Drive". Its the wonderful little communities that dot the countryside that make Central Florida such a great place to Work, Live & Play!! Please hurry Back When You Can, Chef Michael & The Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

My husband Al and I were famished after a long walk along Lake Monroe in Sanford, Florida. We went downtown and looked at several restaurant menus. After several “almost” stops, we decided to look further until Al spotted The Corner Cafe. In we went. The affable owner/chef Michael greeted us and gave us a tour of the menu. Immediately I spotted my choice, a Cuban sandwich or French onion soup. Now I consider my self an expert on French onion soup. I make it, and always order it if it is on the menu. Cuban sandwiches are my favorite. What to do? Michael suggested 1/2 sandwich and soup. Al has a soft spot for mushroom soup and he paired it with a ham and Swiss. The food was beyond delicious, the ambience warm and friendly, and we chatted with others who were eating. It is that kind of place. We can’t wait to go back and eat our way through the menu.

The only problem with The Corner Cafe is that it is 35 miles from our house, but it is well worth the drive.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEFMICHAELOBRIEN, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank You Pat, I am delighted that you chose to dine with us on your day out in Historic Downtown Sanford! It was a great pleasure to speak with you both and I agree with your recommendations for spots to try in DeLand!! While I know the drive from Leesburg is a long one, I hope you will stop in the next time you're in town! We'll keep up the quality of service and cuisine and you hurry back!! With Gratitude, Chef Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Corner Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing