We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch ”
Review of The Village Door

The Village Door
Ranked #19 of 27 Restaurants in Sandestin
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We stopped before checking in at our condo for lunch. I had the crabcake sliders which were not bad but nothing to jump around about, daughter had fried shrimp which were large shrimp but over priced at like $17. Other kids had mac-cheese which was just looked like Kraft instant mac....nobody was complaining but the bill was like 80 bucks... something different than our normal lunch. Service was adequate.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Mickey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

I really regret not checking trip advisor for
this place before entering. Walked right in for an early dinner. Service was slow, food was poor, restaurant was dirty. Read on if you must. No idea how this place has any positive reviews. Now, on to a few specifics that made this dining experience truly horrible. First, it took a long time for us to even see a server let alone get an order in. At first sight of the server he asked if we wanted water while we waited, or course, we said yes. He never asked us later if we wanted anything else to drink... Then we ordered, and the waiter did not write down anything. After a significant wait, the appetizers arrived with our meals. Some of the meals arrived with the wrong sides (thanks for not writing the order down ). Well, all of the food was borderline inedible. If you like mysterious fatty looking grey meat, you’ll love their brisket! Not your thing you say? Try their shrimp appetizer or basket, yum tastes like Gortons! I ate the pulled pork sandwich and immediately regretted it with a 24 hour stomach ache. The one thing that actually was decent here were their French fries and bbq sauces. The sauces were actually pretty good. In addition to the bad food, it began raining in the middle of the meal and people from outside poured inside with their food and surrounded us eating on all sides with no tables to provide them. The restaurant is grimy to be nice, and the rest rooms were dirtier than most full time bars. Maybe if you’ve never ate bbq you could handle some of the food, I really don’t understand how this place is in business other than they pull in a new set of tourists everyday.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank massivebuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Have had a blast here several times dancing the night away. Drinks are great, the people are very friendly and get together to do line dancing. I was with a lot of people and we just had the best time. Take some comfortable shoes and have a blast-stays open late!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank DebbieLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant on a Monday night. When we arrived, the The Village Door was not on a wait, so we were seated immediately. After getting drinks and ordering our appetizer and meal, it took 35 min for our chips and dip appetizer to come to the table and a total of 1 hour and 20 minutes for our food to come. Ridiculous wait for a burger and some fried shrimp! We only saw our waiter when he took our order, brought drinks, and brought food. We don't have drink refills the rest of the night, no checking in, o asking litterally threw food on the table and walked off. Terrible service, the worst we've ever had anywhere. We arrived at 6:30 and didnt leave until 8:30, and it should have been a quick, easy meal out. The restaurant should definitely be paying the live musician more because he was the only thing good about the place. Multiple tables were asking for the manager around us. The food was fine, nothing great, but the terrible service will keep us from ever going back.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Hardincb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We waited 40 minutes to be seated. After being seated we waited an hour and 1/2 to receive our food. Which was bad enough, but then 10 minutes before closing they came out and said they were out of most food that we ordered. We were over two hours in and didn’t have any food! I would suggest staying away from this business! Worst restaurant I’ve ever been to!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank MindyM475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Door also viewed

 

Been to The Village Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing