We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
35
23
19
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
23
19
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gibson beach great condo master bedroom view from the balcony easy beach access property management condo unit great view of the gulf first floor beach chairs spent a week baytowne wharf nice pool golf resort destin beaches app
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Third floor with beach view. Nice location. A bit dated, but it is a vacation home. Spacious for a one bedroom. Staff at Gibson Beach Rentals is great. Resort overall is nice. Shuttle service is convenient. A little on the pricey side.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

A great condo with great access and views! When you can lie in bed, or sit in the newly renovated accommodations and look out the floor to ceiling windows and see nothing by ocean, you know it's a treat! Everything was in working order. We stayed in early October, and it was very quiet. Sometimes there were almost more golf carts in the parking lot than cars... The bed was super comfy! There were table & chairs on the balcony, and 2 chairs were the high/bar type, that accentuated the view of the magnificent Gulf and the sugary white sands of the best beach in USA! You can see over the balcony railing in the high chairs. The balcony railing was actually clear plexiglass, so you didn't have to look through the "spindles" if you sat in the regular chairs. Security personnel were evident, but not overbearing throughout our weeklong stay. I had a temporary handicap and there was a ramp that enabled me to get to the beach without steps. Very convenient. The staff at the Sandestin Welcome Center was prompt and ready, even though we arrived at 2am. Will definitely stay in unit 4311 on our next visit!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank soccerdad1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We booked our trip through Ocean Reef. Really liked their app, had no problems with the codes. Very convenient. Wish we would have used more of the perks. Would definitely use again. The pictures in the listing are accurate.

The unit had a great view of the gulf. It could use some updating but it was totally decent. Everything worked. Nice big tv in the main room, good wifi speed.

The beach was a very short walk from the elevator. Chair service is available for $50/day for a set, so we brought our own. The pool is kind of small, but looked clean. We never used the tram service but it is available. Only went to Baytown one night and rode with friends.

Honestly it was pretty dead this week. Hurricane Harvey probably scared people off and cancelled many trips. There were only 5-10 cars in the parking lot. Pretty much had the beach to ourselves.

The beach was closed for swimming 3 days due to conditions, double red flag. Lifeguards did not play either. You could get your toes wet but that was it. If we had bought the insurance might have gotten a refund.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank majdr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Condo 4071 needs serious repair. Condo did not meet requirements of agreement and management stated "the person you spoke with regarding your contract has been let go" - like it was my fault and they were not responsible for meeting the contract agreement. Broken mirrors, interior doors do not lock and are difficult to close, bathroom cabinets are peeling, couch has no padding and you sit on the frame....not worth the money or up to the standards of other units. Building is kept clean and staff are nice. Beach staff attentive.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Beachside II unit 4360 was a nice unit with good view and amenities. Only drawbacks were the inconsistent maid service and the elevators were inadequate for the time of year. Otherwise the unit and building were good.

Beach was another story. VERY crowded and poorly managed. This building shares the beach with the entire Baytown Wharf beach access. There was a large trench about 30 feet inland from the shore where water from high tide collected every night and lasted throughout each day. To enter the Gulf we had to walk through the standing water which was not very pleasant.

The beach staff was ONLY interested in setting out at least three rows of beach chairs and umbrellas. No interest in tending to the beach itself to make sure it was pleasant and clean. Looking both directions up and down the beach appeared as though we had the worst beach conditions of all the Sandestin resorts.

This was likely or last stay at Sandestin. We'll go back to 30A.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VestaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews