We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,034)
Filter reviews
2,034 results
Traveller rating
1,197
529
196
70
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,197
529
196
70
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower room tennis courts beautiful hotel rocking chairs main building original building health club al fresco front porch old world charm self park lobby bar old florida fitness center museum of fine arts st pete valet parking
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 2,034 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017

First off - I too, read about the construction and knew we would have to walk a "little" to our tower room. It was no big deal. We did not use the pool, as there were too many kids yelling there and we did not plan on it anyway.
Food - Fantastic at Marchand's. Again, no idea how this can get anything but a positive review. We had breakfast every day, and dinner on our anniversary. The bone-in rib eye was one of the best I've ever had, and my wife's filet was superb. Service = excellent.
Breakfast - Verdan, our waiter was excellent! he should be commended for his all around help. On one day we did not have him, and it was not the same. Ask for him! On the breakfast buffet on Saturday, we sampled many of the offerings. Everything we had was top notch, and Bernadette, made terrific omelets and had the patience of a saint with all orders. Again, a true plus to have Verdan and Beradette there to help.
Front desk = excellent!
Valet = excellent!
Surrounding area of St. Pete is at your doorstep. It's a beautiful city with lots to see and do.
Room= excellent - except the cable TV. Channels severely limited .. No ESPN ?
All in all - would not hesitate t go back... oops,just mad reservations for March!! Awesome place to stay... friendly people...

Room Tip: Tower room, with bay
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Spent a couple nights at the Vinoy with the family before our Thanksgiving holiday. Beautiful spot with a wonderful history. Stayed on the historic side and highly recommend it. Relaxed atmosphere and good service. Only downside was the extensive construction around the pool. Once that is complete, would highly recommend it as a place for families or couples as a special place to relax and enjoy the beauty of St. Pete.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The service is impeccable, friendly staff, attentive and sophisticated. The rooms are ok and in good condition, but a little dated. The gym is quite nice - really large for a hotel and also has group exercise and spin classes - in addition to tennis courts and pool. The catering was very good in the ballroom. One issue is that the wifi kept dropping out throughout my stay. Another issue is that there is no coffee maker in the room so you have to get dressed and trek down to the lobby cafe to get a coffee at higher than Starbucks prices. Two easy to fix issues that would have made this a five star rating.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor rear (even numbers) - they face a roof and wall.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StalwartTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

The Hotel is very historic and is worthy of all of the positive reviews. We were there with a business group and really enjoyed all of the amenities.
The food was fantastic.
Room was spacious.
There was some construction between bldgs, making it a little difficult to move back and forth.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazelTov_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

I like visiting St Petersburg and, when I do, I enjoy staying at this historic hotel. Full of character, it is in a superb location on the waterfront, with the museum, restaurants and art galleries only a short walk away.

The entrance leads into a large long elegant lobby, which contains reception, seating areas and links to the bars, restaurants and other facilities. Checking in and out was easy and efficient. I had a large room on the 5th floor overlooking the garden, which was very quiet and I also tried the bar one night for drinks and for fish and chips, which was excellent and more intimate than the large dining room.

The décor is a mixture of contemporary furnishings set against the historic interiors, with modern art and glass celebrating the local glass industries. There is also a small exhibition on the history of the hotel, which is fascinating.

There is refurbishment work going on, but it is only noticeable if you are trying to reach some of the function rooms, the gym and tennis courts, the temporary route to which takes you into the service areas of the hotel. Otherwise, it is totally hidden and they do try to provide as much information as possible about the temporary route.

I was there for a conference and the arrangements were excellent as were the refreshments at breaks and lunches.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews