We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Just back from a long weekend in St Pete and stayed again at the Vinoy. We have stayed here a number of times over the years and I must say that many things just keep getting better and some do not.
The hotel s currently undergoing some major construction to add a new restaurant and other improvements which made staying in the more expensive Tower Rooms a real pain. we had to tunnel our way through the hotel basement to get to our room.Then to access the pool you must go out to the street work through dirt and then climb a stair, all to say this was annoying but I believe the end result will be an improvement.

I wish they had told us about the construction when we made the reservation and we would have stayed in the mains building.

Next, I want to express my concern over the Interior Design changes in the tower the paintings on the hall and room ceilings are amateurish and an insult to the architecture the designer should of paid more attention to the client profiles.

Finally, the food is uninspired

Please do not get me wrong I love this property and there is nothing that better food and a more seasoned Design Team could not fix.

Room Tip: Tower Rooms with balcony are my favorite
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank parcvue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

First off - I too, read about the construction and knew we would have to walk a "little" to our tower room. It was no big deal. We did not use the pool, as there were too many kids yelling there and we did not plan on it anyway.
Food - Fantastic at Marchand's. Again, no idea how this can get anything but a positive review. We had breakfast every day, and dinner on our anniversary. The bone-in rib eye was one of the best I've ever had, and my wife's filet was superb. Service = excellent.
Breakfast - Verdan, our waiter was excellent! he should be commended for his all around help. On one day we did not have him, and it was not the same. Ask for him! On the breakfast buffet on Saturday, we sampled many of the offerings. Everything we had was top notch, and Bernadette, made terrific omelets and had the patience of a saint with all orders. Again, a true plus to have Verdan and Beradette there to help.
Front desk = excellent!
Valet = excellent!
Surrounding area of St. Pete is at your doorstep. It's a beautiful city with lots to see and do.
Room= excellent - except the cable TV. Channels severely limited .. No ESPN ?
All in all - would not hesitate t go back... oops,just mad reservations for March!! Awesome place to stay... friendly people...

Room Tip: Tower room, with bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Spent a couple nights at the Vinoy with the family before our Thanksgiving holiday. Beautiful spot with a wonderful history. Stayed on the historic side and highly recommend it. Relaxed atmosphere and good service. Only downside was the extensive construction around the pool. Once that is complete, would highly recommend it as a place for families or couples as a special place to relax and enjoy the beauty of St. Pete.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The service is impeccable, friendly staff, attentive and sophisticated. The rooms are ok and in good condition, but a little dated. The gym is quite nice - really large for a hotel and also has group exercise and spin classes - in addition to tennis courts and pool. The catering was very good in the ballroom. One issue is that the wifi kept dropping out throughout my stay. Another issue is that there is no coffee maker in the room so you have to get dressed and trek down to the lobby cafe to get a coffee at higher than Starbucks prices. Two easy to fix issues that would have made this a five star rating.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor rear (even numbers) - they face a roof and wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StalwartTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

The Hotel is very historic and is worthy of all of the positive reviews. We were there with a business group and really enjoyed all of the amenities.
The food was fantastic.
Room was spacious.
There was some construction between bldgs, making it a little difficult to move back and forth.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazelTov_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
13 km away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.9 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
239 reviews
0.9 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
13.1 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,933 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#12 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Address: 501 5th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: €211 - €443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing